We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, poor service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louie’s Backyard

Louie’s Backyard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Louie's Backyard in South Padre Island, there is no such thing as a boring night. Whether you want to sit and chat with your friends, cheer on your favorite team or cut a rug till the wee hours, we've got you covered!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

For all seafood lovers, delicious seafood buffet! We (group of four girls) pigged out! However the service was terrible, we had to ask twice for our water to be refilled and our waiter even gave our friend (our friend gave him $100 bill) the wrong amount of change in return.
To Louie's backyard, delicious food and awesome fireworks. However I believe you should hire individuals that actually enjoy what they do and that are attentive. Instead of staff, that make excuses for their lack of effort.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cvw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I'm happy you all loved the buffet so much, but it's disappointing to hear that our staff wasn't able to impress you. Sometimes during our peak hours, things can get pretty hectic around here. Still, your server should always be checking in with you during your meal and graciously answering any questions you have. It sounds like we missed the mark on that while you were here, and I apologize. I'll be touching base with the team about this -- in the meantime, I hope you'll stop by soon to give us another shot at really wowing you with both our food and our service.

All the best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    465
    228
    122
    122
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
1 review
“Average Buffet, Roaches on the Deck!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The views from the deck are beautiful, minus the fish smell. Everything on the menu is $20 +, their buffet is $23 and was supposed to be wonderful. Meh, the buffet was average at best. There were several different shrimp options that were tasty, prime rib was very good, but other than that everything else was on the level of Long John Silvers. The buffet was not worth the price.

Roaches on the deck!! I am not a squeamish person but there were countless roaches running in and out and all around! Gross!

The service was good. Our waiter was friendly.

I wish we would have read the reviews prior to going, we probably would have chose another restaurant

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elyse d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Dan, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Sorry to hear you were unimpressed with your visit, Elyse, beautiful views aside. "Average" is the last thing we'd want to read about our food, simply given how much care we put into each and every dish. If you have any feedback as to how the buffet could be better, don't hesitate to let us know.

A fish smell and cockroaches sounds far from appetizing, so I appreciate you letting me know about this as well. As you can probably understand, bugs are part of the territory that comes with being outdoors on a deck. Still, cleanliness is something we take very seriously and I'll make a point of looking into this further. Did you let a manager know at the time?

Hopefully you'll give us a second chance to start fresh. Would love to prove to you the five-star experience we're capable of!

Take care,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location but sadly mediocre food and service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The atmosphere on the deck is amazing! Unfortunately, the food is mediocre and service from wait staff is slow. Also, they hold their outdoor seating hostage. You have to order from the small overpriced menu in the evening-$20 min a person. It would be ok if food was good. Since we didn't care for the food, we didn't go back again and as a result we can't recommend it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flatwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I'm glad you enjoyed the great view and fun atmosphere we have here, but it's disappointing that you weren't impressed by our food. We use only the freshest ingredients and put a lot of care into each dish, so everything should come to you delicious. The buffet is really popular here, though, so I'd love for you to stop by and give that a shot sometime. I think you'll really like it.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We go to Louies every year, and it is usually great. This year we wear a little disappointed. The buffet is usually fantastic but was smaller and kinda wilted! Service was mediocre. Not sure if we will go back next year.

Helpful?
Thank Aliciarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I'm disappointed that we let you down after all these years. We still use the freshest ingredients for everything and put a lot of care into each dish. That's why I'm surprised to read your feedback. It's possible that you caught us during an off-day, unfortunately. I hope next time you're around you'll give us another shot. I know we can show you that same delicious food you came to know and love.

Sincerely,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

There buffet that starts at 5p is really good, best time to go at sunset because if you go before and you sit outside the sun hits you on the face and it gets hot.

Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S, Owner at Louie’s Backyard, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Is there anything better than dining during a beautiful sunset, Fernando? I think you've picked the perfect time to enjoy our food here -- thanks for passing along the suggestion. Can't wait to have you back.

Best,
Dan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Louie’s Backyard also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Louie’s Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing