We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty nice”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Every hotel on the island was packed and so was this one. Other than having issues with a packed hotel, it was great! The rooms were large, clean and nice. They had a fridge, microwave and coffee pot i the room. We booked the standard room and it still had a couch and dining table. The staff was very freindly and helpful. The pool and breakfast area were always packed except first thing in the morning. It wasn't very relaxing in the common areas, just due to the number of people, but it was that way everywhere. The front area had an adverstisement for breakaway cruises which offer an array of entertainment while you are here. We chose to shop around and didn't choose them based off reviews. Overall the hotel is what you woud expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolestnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    104
    46
    12
    10
See reviews for
127
99
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel was an amazing choice. It is clean, the staff is extremely friendly and the pool was awesome! The breakfast choices are really good and I particularly liked the pancakes since they tasted freshly made. I would defiantly recommend this stay to others that are planning a visit to SPI.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtown, MD
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We only stayed in the Holiday Inn Express - South Padre Island for one night, but as other reviewers indicated, it was nice and clean. The staff provided excellent service. The location is not right on the beach, but it is on ocean block, so you don't have to cross the highway to get to the beach. The rooms were well-appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The pool was nice. We had kids with us, but there was plenty of room for everyone in the pool. It has a nice waterfall feature that the kids enjoyed. There's also a tiki-bar style structure next to the pool that another large family used. They borrowed/rented a grill from the hotel and had a merry gathering. The breakfast was provided - they had a neat pancake machine as well as eggs, bacon, bagels, cereal etc. The lobby appointments were very nice. All in all, a very solid hotel. Nothing negative occurred whatsoever. We would recommend it highly to anyone coming to South Padre Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuntingtownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My family (2 adults and 2 kids--ages 5 and 7) stayed here June 4th to the 7th. I booked the room through Expedia and was expecting a balcony with an ocean view. Ha! There are no balconies and the ocean view is blocked by the condominiums next door. We did have a greasy, streaked view of the pool, though. Our check-in was rushed since there were people swarming around us, and the desk clerk didn't know much about anything we asked him. He just wanted us to go away. There were no carts to unload our car into, so we struggled to get all of our stuff up to the room in the tiny elevators. We were already weary from driving for 5 and 1/2 hours and then sitting in bumper to bumper traffic for ANOTHER HOUR waiting to cross the bridge to Padre Island (they are scraping barnacles off the bridge, so they had it down to one lane). The room was extremely musty and smelled like feet--not exactly the relaxing environment we were hoping for (the window is sealed, so we could not even open it for ventilation). Overall, it was adequate-- somewhat shabby and stained--but adequate. The pool is small. I did see men cleaning it every morning, which was reassuring since it DEFINITELY got used all day long. It was always crowded with large families and lots of kids. And then we discovered, as we sat there watching them come and go, that NONE OF THESE PEOPLE WERE ACTUALLY STAYING AT THE HOTEL. They drove up in minivans packed to the gills, got out and swam for hours, then packed up all their stuff in their van and drove off. Either that, or we watched them walk over from the surrounding condos and houses, swim, and then walk back home. NO ONE from the hotel supervised the pool or asked if people swimming there were hotel guests. It was really irritating too, since it was always so crowded and loud. We also went to the beach--which we had to drive to and pay $7 for admission. Yes, you can walk a couple blocks down from the hotel to the beach there, but it is FAR from convenient. We were not impressed with the beaches there. They are no different from the beaches at Corpus Christi, North Padre Island, which is much closer and easier for us to get to. Anyway, the main obstacle to enjoying the beaches in South Padre is the constant flow of cars on the beach. Our kids almost got run over several times, and it is just not safe. Not safe and not fun. Also, we had parked our car close to the bathrooms thinking that would be convenient. Little did we know that the last hurricane (many, many months ago) "knocked out all the plumbing." My suggestion is to use that $7 we just paid to get in (us and the hundreds of other cars) to pay to fix the darn facilities! The port-a-potties they had for us to use were nightmarish and something I am still hoping to forget. Anyway, we did have two bright points to our stay in South Padre-- the first was the Turtle Rescue Center, located right across the street, which we all enjoyed. It is small, so it only takes about 20 min. to see it all. We spent some $ in the souvenir shop and felt good about helping the program with that money, plus some additional in donations. We also REALLY enjoyed the Black Dragon Pirate Cruise in Port Isabel. It was first class entertainment--not just for the kids either--we all LOVED it. We had a great evening starting with the pre-cruise magic show (my husband was called up as a "volunteer"). On board, our son was serenading with a "Happy BATHday" song since pirates only take baths on their birthdays, and our son was turning 5. Anyway-- it was all really well done and fun. And I believe it is the only reason anyone should bother going to South Padre. I wish they would relocate to Rockport or Corpus Christi, so we could go back. As for returning to South Padre and the Holiday Inn? NEVER. Not when there's so much that's better and closer to us. We left this hotel on Tues. the 7th, and drove up to the Holiday Inn in Corpus on North Padre Island, and had a nice stay there thru Sat. the 11th. What an improvement!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BoerneTXMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Was forced to stay here for business. Fitness room not much and if you want to swim laps in the full size pool get in there early before the kiddos do. That said the staff was great and the rooms were good.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagwire858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stopped at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel for a night and had no problems. The room was more than large enough for the three of us, two adults and a ten year old. Nice clean bathroom and a decent breakfast. It had a great location near to the beach and was really close to some good restaurants. Clean, tidy and staff were helpful, I would recommend it for a good B&B.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is the cleanest hotel on the Island. The GM is the best!!!!! Everyone is so friendly and it is truly a family atmosphere. We have stayed at this hotel in the past and it is always neat and clean. The help is always so friendly and very helpful. This location is only a half a block from the Gulf so very convenient. They have the best GM of any hotel we have ever stayed at. She is very particular to see that all rooms are neat and clean and provides excellent customer service. This hotel has a "no pet" policy which is great.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiroadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,248 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing