We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was great...except for the Jellyfish larvae in the Gulf!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything was great...except for the Jellyfish larvae in the Gulf!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My family and I had a wonderful time at the Holiday Inn. Just so happened that the same fellow that I booked my room with, David, was at the desk upon check-in.
What a nice guy. Just real pleasant and very customer oriented. The hotel was nice and clean. Our first room smelled as if the carpet was still drying, so we asked to switch. David took care of the request with no problems. Second room was great. Nice and clean.
Mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Ice machine on the floor as well. Free Wi-Fi was nice. Only one negative about the hotel- both dryers were broken. Hotel immediately refunded our change, but we had to hang wet clothes in the bathroom. Small inconvenience for a great stay. Other problem was that there was millions-literally-- of jellyfish larvae in the Gulf over the Labor Day Weekend. Weird, icky and scary. Guess tropical storm blew them inland.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoomToMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    103
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
123
97
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I can't say enough about Alma(GM), Jaime (Asst Mgr), and the entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express. We have been coming to SPi for 6 years and they are my first and only place to hold our annual Radiology Seminars. Ivan (Maintenance), assists us each year and without him we would not have had a successfull 2011 seminar. I have been to the other hotels on the Island and cannot imagine going to them for my business and plaesure trips. I come to Island 3 or more times each year and they have my jacuzzi suite reserved each time. I appreciate all the staff and recommend everyone give this hotel a try. ALMA McElroy, You ROCK! Thanks, Mi amoure'.

Room Tip: Extablish a relationship with Alma the (GM)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and I went to a wedding this past weekend and stayed, once again, at this hotel. We are suckers for excellent customer service! Check-in is extremely fast/efficient. The staff is very friendly, efficient and helpful.

I love how clean this hotel is! Housekeeping is the star of this hotel. The star! The room/bathroom was fantastically clean.

The hotel is modern, classy, elegant, and clean. The fixtures throughout the room are high end with granite counters and contemporary furniture. The beds are very, very, comfortable. The linens and towels were plentiful and clean.

Breakfast is exceptional. Great variety of hot food and the pancakes are THE BEST!

I love, love, this hotel and recommend it to everyone planning a vacation or going for business. Great attractions and restaurants close by. You will be impressed with the terrific service, friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Very nice hotel near the beach. Not directly on the beach but only a 2-3 minute walk at the most. We enjoyed the slight walk as it gave us time to dry off. Head to the pool area where they have an outside shower to get the sand off your feet. The rooms were a nice size and very clean. We had a standard room with 2 queen beds. Our room faced the bay, which was a nice view. The pool is also nice and warm which was great to relax in after a hot, sandy day at the beach! The breakfast was a treat as most hotels have continental breakfast. Although this is not IHOP, the did have sausage, bacon and gravy for biscuits. Items rotate, but while we were there, they always had eggs, biscuits, cinnamon rolls, yogurt and muffins. With a family of 4, that counts into the savings instead of spending $ at a restaurant each morning. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank llawma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, NM
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Every hotel on the island was packed and so was this one. Other than having issues with a packed hotel, it was great! The rooms were large, clean and nice. They had a fridge, microwave and coffee pot i the room. We booked the standard room and it still had a couch and dining table. The staff was very freindly and helpful. The pool and breakfast area were always packed except first thing in the morning. It wasn't very relaxing in the common areas, just due to the number of people, but it was that way everywhere. The front area had an adverstisement for breakaway cruises which offer an array of entertainment while you are here. We chose to shop around and didn't choose them based off reviews. Overall the hotel is what you woud expect from a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolestnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel was an amazing choice. It is clean, the staff is extremely friendly and the pool was awesome! The breakfast choices are really good and I particularly liked the pancakes since they tasted freshly made. I would defiantly recommend this stay to others that are planning a visit to SPI.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtown, MD
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We only stayed in the Holiday Inn Express - South Padre Island for one night, but as other reviewers indicated, it was nice and clean. The staff provided excellent service. The location is not right on the beach, but it is on ocean block, so you don't have to cross the highway to get to the beach. The rooms were well-appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The pool was nice. We had kids with us, but there was plenty of room for everyone in the pool. It has a nice waterfall feature that the kids enjoyed. There's also a tiki-bar style structure next to the pool that another large family used. They borrowed/rented a grill from the hotel and had a merry gathering. The breakfast was provided - they had a neat pancake machine as well as eggs, bacon, bagels, cereal etc. The lobby appointments were very nice. All in all, a very solid hotel. Nothing negative occurred whatsoever. We would recommend it highly to anyone coming to South Padre Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuntingtownTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
3.8 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing