We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We just got back from 5 days at South Padre. We had 2 double queen adjoining rooms for 3 adults and 5 kids. There was plenty of room and the room was very comfortable. Room and entire hotel very clean, and that is saying something considering how much sand just our 5 kids alone were tracking in. I was the most impressed with the staff. There wasn't one staff member, from front desk to housekeeping, that wasn't more than accommodating. All were quick to smile and even quicker to fulfill requests. A house keeper literally ran to get towels for our room when we asked and she noticed the kids getting into the shower. Hotel was perfect but staff made it even better! Would definatly stay again!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mks38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    104
    46
    12
    10
See reviews for
127
99
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on the week of August 5, 2012 to August 10. I'm not sure what the last review was about because everything was clean and worked perfectly when I was there. The room was a double on the fourth floor and was very clean. The bathroom was clean and the tub had no chips. Housekeeping came everyday to clean the bathroom and make the beds. The breakfast had a wide variety of foods which were all good. The free wifi worked everywhere in the hotel, even outside. The room has everything you would need like a fridge, microwave and tv. The pool area was good, even though it would be mostly little kids in there around the afternoon. The beach was a short walk away and there are chairs and umbrellas already there for you to use. The outside shower by the pool worked great to wash off all the sand. This was a great stay for the price of only $99 per night on hotels.com. I would highly come again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xtina0920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Located at north end of island so area less crowded. We stayed in Two Double Bed Jr suite- also had pull out sofa. Room is comfortable size for 2 adults & 4 kids under 15. Free hot breakfast had great options- cereal, bagels, toast, pancakes, sausage, eggs, bisquits, boiled eggs, yogart, muffins, bananas..only complaint -juice machine produced horrible tasting juice. Parking free & plenty spots available. Beach about 1 block behind hotel so easy to walk to. Only two small elevators for hotel so there were times we had to wait or take stairs. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

My family enjoyed our stay at the HIE in S Padre. The free breakfast offered many choices, although was often quite crowded with hungry families. The beach is about a five minute walk. You can rent an umbrella and two chairs on he beach for $25, which was nice. The kids also liked the pool. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Great stay!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas12345
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After a harried morning of traveling we got in about 11 and were permitted to check in early. The snack and water in the little bag make for a nice surprise. Who doesn't enjoy a couple of animal crackers and a sip of Ozarka before laying down for a nice afternoon nap?

For an HIE, the rates are steep but were consistent with similar grade accommodations on SPI. I guess those are the "island prices" that locals lament.

I didn't see signs of neglect or the overall shabby conditions described in a couple of other reviews. The place was clean and bright, and thank heavens the elevators were working!

I agree with BettyE345 that Alma is especially friendly and helpful, even when she is clearly quite busy.

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel- for the rate, it was a great value, and the beach is literally like a 3 minute walk. The hotel staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, it was quiet, and the free breakfast is great! (yogurt, fruit, eggs, bacon, great cinnamon rolls, and my husband I were both pleasantly surprised at how good the coffee was!) We would definitely come back to this hotel - very happy with everything! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aggietraveler072497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

By the time we reached South Padre we were so tired we would have accepted anything! However, the staff and lobby were really welcoming, and cool and quiet after a very stressful drive. Our rooms were quiet, overlooked the pool, but we were out of season so no noise, and few people staying there. The location, for us, was excellent - not far to walk to the beach, and we could do a 4 mile walk along it every morning before the sun got too hot.

I liked the location, and didn't want to be on the main strip, so it worked well. We stayed 4 nights, and had a very pleasant stay - not earth-shattering, but very relaxing at the end of a whirlwind 3 weeks in the States. Thanks, Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,487 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing