We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel won't let you down! Give it a try!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

All of the places on the beach were either too pricey or booked solid, so we decided to give Holiday Inn a chance once again and we weren't disappointed! We were greeted by a very courteous, professional staff. We immediately asked for a discount off the SALE PRICE and we GOT IT! We were happy to find the rooms were spacious and CLEAN! The only down-side is there is a drive to the beach and then you have to park & walk a ways to get to the beach. All in all, it was a nice trip and we'd definitely stay there again! 4.5 stars

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nereida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a very nice/well maintained property that is in a great location (on the Island) and is very close to the beach (2-3 blocks walking). However, the key factor for me when rating this property excellent is their customer service. Alma, the general manager, is superb. When a mixup in our room expectations occurred, Alma immediately addressed the issue and went out of her way to ensure that we were satisfied & enjoyed our stay. This makes all the difference! Leadership starts at the top and Alma clearly provides the leadership in having her team deliver a superior customer service experience that is apparent throughout the hotel. While all the other aspects of the hotel were very good - rooms clean, common areas well maintained/clean, pool area nice, etc. - it is my experience with Alma's customer service that would bring me back to this property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My reservation was mixed up, but I did use Booking.com. Room was decently clean, but a bit under par from the ususual Holiday Inn Expresses I've experiened. I suppose that is due to the high traffic through this hotel. Breakfast was blah & under par comparitively speaking. The General Manager on site at the moment was pleasant & very accomodating when I discovered that lost my credit card while on vacation & let me pay for my stay by personal check. Overall I consider this a decent value given the location and the walkable beach access which was the best perk by far.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Nica R,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding your breakfast experience. We will look into this concern. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good things first: overall clean bright hotel, nice reception area. Recognized me as club member, offered extended check out. Good hot breakfast, exceptional breakfast service crew. Free ample well lighted self parking. Overall room was good, received view to swimming pool and ocean from 4th floor, didn't request it, just got it. I paid with Amex card, maybe that means something to them, it should. 10 min walk to fairly decent beach. No jellyfish found.

Bad: saw small roach in bathroom, elevator conked out although it was fixed quickly. Constant drip in bathtub. Front desk clerks were helpful although one didn't recognize my member status when I asked for 2 pm check out, said he could only extend to 12, Jacob corrected. Train employees. Front desk people seemed tired all the time, unmotivated although generally helpful, kudos to Jacob and Josie.

I was disappointed with the large breakfast crowds, mostly from south of the border. Breakfast hours should be extended. This is the 2nd tripadvisor rated hotel and it seems to be doing well, I don't think adding an hour would hurt.

To be honest I think I will try #1 rated next time even if I have to pay more on my next SPI trip. By the way friends, most hotels on SPI below 2 rating you're asking for trouble. Even #2 had major issues. Yes, I don't expect to see roaches when I'm paying so much for a hotel room. Get on your pest control company, management. I have a zero tolerance for bugs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingBugman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear TravelingBugman,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, room accommodations and breakfast service. I am sorry to hear that there were certain areas of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular the bathroom maintenance and crowded breakfast space. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization as we rely on you to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After a disastrous night at the local Ramada this place was like a 5 star hotel. Very clean, up to date and we were very happy to be here. You have to walk to the beach but short walk. Pool was nice and clean, nice hot tub. We don't do breakfast so I can't say how that was but it looked good.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have a distant view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The employees are friendly and hotel is clean. We stayed for six days and enjoyed every minute of it. The beach is about a three minute walk from the hotel. They have a pool opened until 11:00 PM. They have an outdoor shower so you can remove the sand.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank aejemperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

These guys saved our family after booking.com lost our reservation at another location. The front desk agent kept calm and confident while my husband and I were at each others throats from this stressful situation. He was so helpful, honest and professional. He was a fairly young guy but I can't remember his name, I know it was 3 letters. I complained about the tenants above us on our second night a cheer competition was in town practicing on our ceiling. The GM came right away and to witness the issue and took care of it immediately. She was so sweet I felt bad for saying anything. The walk to the beach was a bit inconvient but overall Holiday inn was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the end rooms or by a door to the stairwell. The doors slam loudly and WiFi is terrib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partypooper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,562 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
687 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range: £55 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing