We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy - But There May Be Better Value Out There”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Comfy - But There May Be Better Value Out There”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

A relatively new hotel at the top end of South Padre Island, some two miles from the main tourist drag, the hotel is just 200 yards from a wide sandy beach. It employs friendly and helpful staff and does everything pretty well - but it would have been a bonus had the pool been heated. Whether it's best value is another matter. There were a number of other chain hotels nearby, including the Travelodge, Days Inn and Motel 6, offering accommodation at half the price. And golfers beware, it does not offer the Golf Channel on its cable tv package.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    103
    44
    11
    8
See reviews for
124
97
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Preston, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We so enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express at SPI. We found the facility and our room to be exceptionally clean and comfortable. The staff was very courteous and friendly and most willing to be of help. The continental breakfast was tastey and always served with a smile. We felt the manager of the hotel and her staff went out of their way to make our stay so very special and we look forward to staying at the SPI Holiday Inn Expess again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamajackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

Above average hiexpress clone. Was quiet when we stayed with very friendly winter texans as fellow guests. Location no better than any other hotel - certainly not on the beach. Walls were thin and we doubt pool would cope when hotel full in summer. Breakfast was the usual sugarfest with a few hot bits. Alas it had to be eaten with plastic knives and forks on polystyrene plates. This seems to be standard for hiexpress but very poor in our opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

I love staying at the Holiday Inn Express, South Padre Island. Free fantastic breakfast every morning to get you going. Constant coffee most of the day. Very clean rooms and premises. I am always treated like an honored guest. If i have a complaint it is taken care of in a hurry.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illinois71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,879 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Rooms were clean, but walls are thin. Can hear people moving around in there rooms and in and out of there room. Hotel is not on the water nor beach access. Overall its a safe bet on the island. Great high speed internet by far the best on the island.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This was a reliable Holiday Inn Express like all the other ones we have stayed in.. You can always count on their cleanliness, continental breakfast was awesome and staff were very friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was are room was at the end of the hall by the stairs. Do not get a room by the stairs. When those door closes it is very loud, it would wake us up. We would stay there again and recommend to anyone traveling to South Padre Island. The only draw back would be if you have children there is no beach access within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

I had a great time at the BikeFest. I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and have to say the customer service was excellent. The service felt 5 Star and the rates were very reasonable!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#5 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Address: 6502 Padre Blvd., South Padre Island, TX 78597-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Padre Island's newest and finest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, invites you to travel Mexico & Texas in ONE VACATION to South Padre. You'll experience the white sand beaches and crystal blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico. As you enter our lobby, you will be immersed in tropical elegance. Check in will be a breeze as you and your family escape into our sea life - a 500 gallon aquarium. All our oversized rooms come with spectacular views of Laguna Madre Bay, Gulf of Mexico or our tropical poolside. If you're here for business, relax - we offer free wireless Internet in all public areas and high speed Internet access in every room as well as a complimentary full service business center. For the ultimate in convenience, all rooms have micro-fridges, coffee makers, dataport speaker phones and state-of-the art on demand movies/music and video games. Thanks to the latest technology, on demand movies can be paused/rewound so you'll never miss an important phone call. We are across the street from the Convention Center and close to championship golf, nightclubs, shopping centers and a variety of eateries. Visit Sea Turtle, Inc. or spend the day at Schlitterbahn Beach Water Park. The beach is just a short walk from your room where you can participate in deep sea fishing, horseback riding, parasailing, jet skiing or a local favorite - barbecuing on the beach. We are the perfect tropical getaway whether you're here for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn South Padre Island
South Padre Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing