We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my Stay and Will Stay Again”
Review of Casa Bella Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Bella Resort
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my Stay and Will Stay Again”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here for a week during the off season, Feb 2012. The weekly rate was the best Ive ever had and the staff was friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I had a wonderful time and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanoeClubscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    4
    11
    29
See reviews for
29
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We drive into the hotel on a jam packed memorial day weekend and they're empty... That's weird, this is why. We got our room keys and headed up to the room and smack!! You are hit my a moldy wet smelling room. Hearing how bad the reviews were of the managers charging people for dirty rooms an towels( you even sign a rental agreement on this) I decided to take pictures of everything dirty or wrong with the room here's what I found... Dirty towels, only a bar of soap no toiletries ( thank god we packed our own) the lamp shades had an inch of dust and dirt on them, marker/paint/scuffs and marks all over the walls, dirty severely stained desk chair, and a spit ball on our wall... The place looks nothing like the pictures they show, there was no breakfast, far from the beach. The next two nights we stayed at suites and sunchase and it was amazing!!! A bit more expensive but very nice staff , rooms, and beds! If you see this hotel please save yourself and keep driving...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Toney0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, I have looked at the issues that you mentioned and have met with my staff, and have made sure that they have been resolved. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We made the mistake of not booking soon enough to come down here, found a room, would have been better if we had not. The room ad no amenities except soap, threadbare towels and shampoo in a "ketchup" pack. Security is good, but it would be nice if they told you up front that the room will not be serviced during the stay except for towels.

Plan ahead and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Treytw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, we have looked at the issues that you mentioned have retrained our staff so that no one ever has to go through this again. We will I hope that you stay with us again so that we may show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

When we arrived we were told that breakfast would be from 8 to 10 the next morning. Then we found the office was closed from about 7pm that night to 9am the next morning. Thanks to the house keeper we got breakfast at 8.50 am. The rooms are dark and not very inviting. There were no hair dryers and out of 3 rooms 1 had a coffee machine. The location is ok, not too far from the convention and birding center and one can walk to a couple of restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay, I have looked at the issues that you mentioned and have met with my staff, we will always make sure that Breakfast is served on time, and that all our our guests are met with welcomed open arms. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Please stay away from this place. I booked a room at this place three weeks ahead and asked if we could cancel. They said yes as long as it was 24 hours in advance. I called to cancel 7 days before the stay and they first said I couldn't cancel and then said I would have to pay a $25 fee. Now catch this, they charged me tax on the $25 bringing it to $28. This is the biggest rip off ever. I wish I would have read the reviews before I booked this place. Please, please, stay away from this place. These people are not honest.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank walthercp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
I am so sorry to see that our cancelation terms caused you such grief, I have joined Americas Best Value Inn to better suite the needs of our guests, we have new Terms in Place that I am certain you will be happy with. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Last weekend my family and I stayed at the Casa Bella in South Padre Island, TX. The room was great. Very clean, neat, air conditioner was freezing, and each room had a view of the pool and jacuzzi. We were also right on the water (bayside) and had access to a covered fishing pier which also had boat docks available. This along with very courteous service, coninnental breakfast, and a great location. We were walking distance from shops, restaurants and bars. It was a great value for the price and we will definitely stay there again! In fact I recommended it to some extended family and they also rented rooms and joined us for some fishing, so it was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsweeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
I am so happy to read that tou enjoyed your stay. We recently joined Americas Best Value Inn so that we may continue to give our guests great service at affordable prices. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may continue to show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We arrived late...unbeknownst to us SPI was having their annual sand castle contest. The room was filthy ... dirty tub, the toilet had not been cleaned. The 3/4ths of toilet paper had been used...why bother.?
The mildew was overwhelming...and the AC was a welcome respite.
The most shocking and disgusting of this so called hospitable establishment is that the Managers TURN OFF the AC at 9am if you are checking out at 11am.

After arriving late, and dealing with a nasty and dirty bathroom with see through oversized hand towels that were terribly worn ...I simply wanted to sleep but was awoken by the Mugginess and dampness that choaked me ... Because the management chooses to wake people By turning off the AC.
Which is inhumane. I have an elderly parent who was so upset by their uncharitable ways.

I called the mgr to let them know that the AC was not working ...and they said we turned your AC off...because your check out is in 3 hours.

I had to beg them to keep it on again but they wouldn't saying I was up now so I should be on my way.

I explained that I arrived after 12 and was looking forward to sleeping in...and that I have an elderly parent whose health is being compromised let alone having to argue over something so trivial.

This dump has switches that turn off the power to your AC from their office. The hotel business is about hospitality there none at this embarrassment of a place.
Shisters! Fraudulent practice. Do not stay here. Beware!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MX99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubenreyes, Manager at Casa Bella Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
I am so sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. I have spoken with my staff, and have put new policies in place to make sure that this does not happen again, We recently joined Americas Best Value Inn so that we may continue to give our guests great service at affordable prices. I hope that you stay with us again so that we may continue to show you what true guest service is all about.

Thank You

Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.1 mi away
WindWater Hotel
WindWater Hotel
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
243 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
Blue Bay Inn & Suites
#23 of 32 in South Padre Island
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
South Padre Island Inn
South Padre Island Inn
#21 of 32 in South Padre Island
279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Resort

Property: Casa Bella Resort
Address: 5601 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7450 (Formerly Casa Bella Resort Hotel)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Bella Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Casa Bella Resort, the newest resort hotel on South Padre Island, is located on the water channel. It is our goal to provide quality, affordable, and unforgettable accommodations during your stay. Our Mediterranean-style courtyard features a swimming pool with ever-changing tinted lights, a relaxing hot tub, beautiful landscaping surrounded by romantic balconies with palm trees that sway in the breeze. Our lovely rooms come either with one king and two queen beds, desk & chair, microwaves, refrigerators, and twin sofa sleepers. Be sure to ask for the hot tub room which sports a king size bed and a separate Jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Bella Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites Casa Bella Hotel South Padre Island
Casa Bella Hotel
Hotel Casa Bella
Casa Bella Resort South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing