We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Facility, good amenities, unfriendly staff :(”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Padre Island KOA
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a good place to stay with kids, it has nice swimming pool and hot tub. It also has a recreation room named "commons" with table tennis table, couches, TV etc.
We stayed in our RV's and the patio area was nice.
There were a lot of mosquitoes there so be prepared.

The only downside was the unfriendly staff, other than that everything was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asifpunjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for South Padre Island KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are big fans of KOA's when we are traveling. This was the worst one we have ever stayed in. The staff didn't seem to have a clue when it came to assigning us a site. Gave us one that was way to short for our 5th wheel. We told them no so they told us we had a choice between 2 different sites. Neither one was what we had reserved & both were more expensive. After a 1/2 hour of getting our rig to fit into another small site we were finally set up. View was nice but not sure it was worth the extra expense. We stayed 8 nights & half of those we had a travel trailer so close we couldn't extend our awning all the way. The "wi-fi" SUCKED! Most of the time, if you could get on, you were knocked off before you could do anything. And we were not far from the main building. I guess ours was not as good of an experience as all the other people who have raved about it. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
4  Thank RT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Condo B with a kitchenette. Although it is not very useful with out a stove it is adequate for our stay since no one wanted to cook anyway. We really enjoyed the setup and location. The condo is inside a water tank. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

From the moment we got here, nothing was what they said. There was not a kitchen in the studio, it was small and they were rude even if I questioned them. If you ask for trash bags or towels they ask you why! Really? The floors were filthy, no soap or shampoo and black mold in the air conditioner vents. I will never come back here again. Seems like it is run by a bunch of retired folks who do what they have to do to make a buck. Beware of this place

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank world chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This RV resort has it all. It is on the water, has a clean pool, amazing restroom facilities, a large common area with a flat screen TV and several couches and sitting areas for large families or groups, a workout room, nice store and Pier 19 right on the property for food and drinks. Lots of great palm trees on site. We walked the site at night each night we were there. There is also a deck area for relaxing that overlooks the bay. The sites are big and level. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Garbage is picked up each night behind your rig. No searching for the garbage bins. Very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureenskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed in our travel trailer at the SPI KOA during a recent vacation. Wonderful park. So clean with a perfect location. Do not miss eating at the Pier 19 restaurant next door. Very nice pool with hot tub. Wanted to take advantage of water aerobics at pool but never could seem to get up early enough. Heavy wind which I assume is due to location but didn't mind it at all. Nice dog park but I wasn't able to let my small dog off leash cause she could get out underneath fence and it was next to a somewhat busy street. Without a doubt we would stay here again. Wish is wasn't such a long drive there from North Texas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlccf817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This park is in a great location. Walking distance to the beach, shopping and many restaurants. The free Wave bus service on the island is a big plus. Overall the staff was friendly. Unfortunately the park itself leaves a lot to be desired. We had booked in advance for 3 months so we were locked in. The spaces are very small and the general upkeep and maintenance is poor. The washing machines all had a dirty grey ring around the inside which was never cleaned. There was also dust hair and lint all around the crevices in the lids. The secondary laundry room was cramped, dark and always had a puddle of water running across the concrete floor. They did purchase some new machines during our stay. The area around the pool was never swept and the cool decking was extremely dirty with black in all of the crevices. Due to the wind there was a lot of sand around the hot tub which was tracked into the hot tub making it sandy inside. Just setting your arm on the edge tracked in sand. There was debris in the corners near the hot tub (specifically a pipe clamp and a cigarette butt) that remained there the entire time. After two months they finally removed two of the chairs around the pool that were rusted beyond being safe to sit in. The chairs on the sunset deck were all worn out and needed to have the slings replaced. The workout room was rarely swept or the equipment wiped down. Someone had dropped sequins on the carpet which remained for over a month. The internet was extremely, extremely slow, even in the main building which was supposed to have a faster connection. All of the main buildings need to be painted and the sign exiting the park is so faded it is unreadable. The showers looked generally clean but I was never sure if the black in the grout was mold so I always wore shoes. Overall they just need to do some general maintenance, updates and cleaning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank woodpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 32 in South Padre Island
84 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Padre Island KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Padre Island KOA

Address: 1 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6402
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that South Padre Island Texas has to offer in a waterfront deluxe cabin, loft deluxe cabin, studio deluxe cabin, condo, or Airstream rental at the South Padre Island KOA! If you're enjoying an RV vacation, we invite you to bring your big rig into one of our 80-foot pull thrus to enjoy our free wireless internet and expanded cable options. Enjoy our pool, hot tub, exercise room, pet playground, propane sales, on-site restaurant and bar, on-site fishing trips, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Padre Island Koa Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island KOA Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing