We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this KOA during Spring Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Padre Island KOA
Key West, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Avoid this KOA during Spring Break”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The spaces are very very tight and works if your neighbors are considerate. However, Spring Break is not conducive to relaxation with loud music and partying going on most of the night. I thought Spring Breakers do not usually go to KOA's, but now I know. Avoid going to a KOA during Spring Break if you are not a Spring Breaker. Once they arrived, the bathrooms were torn up with toilet paper everywhere and the floors wet. There were pieces of wet torn clothing on the floors and stalls. Some did not have the brain cells to flush after themselves. The street where we were on had graffiti on it the next morning. There are usually only one vehicle allowed on an assigned lot. There were three or 4 on a few lots crammed together. There were kids riding their bikes at night without reflectors or light, and almost ran my friend and me over. Again, avoid this KOA during Spring Break if you like to relax without having to listen to noise pollution. The people who work here are very friendly and very helpful. The office staff are very efficient and friendly. The stay prior to the arrival of the Spring Breakers was excellent. The laundry rooms prior to the arrival of the Spring Breakers were user friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheyanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    40
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
56
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

If we would have written this review after our stay in cottage 3 it would definitely been awesome! Cottage 3 was very clean and fresh, unfortunately we had to move to Cottage 8 because we decided to extend our stay. Cottage 8 had a terrible smell, was very dirty, had a tremendous amount of pet hair everywhere and was just very tired! We didn't have anywhere else to stay as the KOA was completely full and if you know the KOA rules you cannot cancel. We just opened all the windows and left as much as we could.
It was sad because we really had a great stay when we were in Cottage 3. If you stay by all means make sure you are not in Cottage 8, otherwise this KOA is very nice.

Room Tip: do not stay in Cottage 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneyearride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niederkassel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We rented an Airstream. It was a nice experience. One night we had no propane, but Jim, one of the stuff, solved the problem next morning. The campground manager was very great full. On the whole, the stay here was very worth able. The Glatz-Family from Cologne, Germany

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muckelmoppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent two nights in one of the deluxe cabins. The cabin was nice - a little run down but it was a pet unit so I expected some extra wear and tear. I was looking forward to peace and quiet but I had the misfortune to be in cabin 8 - at the end of the parking lot near the pier 19 Restaurant. I was VERY disapointed to discover that the restaurant opens at 7am and the employees play their music extremely loud in the parking lot starting around 6 am. I was enjoying my time on my deck until the restaurant employees started arriving.
The KOA staff and grounds were nice. Just bad neighbors.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We rented one of the waterfront cabins for only 75.00 a night in off season. Upon arriving they were extremely helpful and offered a plethora of helpful information. Our cabin was very clean and solid . There were plenty of towels and blankets as well as kitchen utensils. There were 2 separate air/heating units that worked great by remote control. We enjoyed bird and dolphin watching from the deck with plenty of chairs and tables. The grill was clean and is charcoal lite. The pool was spotless and the hot tub clean and great. The common/club room very large and comfortable with lots of travelers brochures, big tv and games. The renovated water tower is fun and it's all freshly painted in nautical blue and white. The restaurant on pier 19 terrific and fair priced and the mates on the osprey fishing trips show you a good time and lots of fish. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just love this place. The people are friendly and the place is great. We come here often and could not be happier with the pool or hot tub. If your looking for a great place to eat and bar just go to the pier and order up some fresh seafood. It has a beautiful view of the bay.

Room Tip: If you have an extra long rv make sure you tell the staff so they place you correctly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a good place to stay with kids, it has nice swimming pool and hot tub. It also has a recreation room named "commons" with table tennis table, couches, TV etc.
We stayed in our RV's and the patio area was nice.
There were a lot of mosquitoes there so be prepared.

The only downside was the unfriendly staff, other than that everything was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asifpunjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,571 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
215 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Padre Island KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Padre Island KOA

Property: South Padre Island KOA
Address: 1 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6402
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all that South Padre Island Texas has to offer in a waterfront deluxe cabin, loft deluxe cabin, studio deluxe cabin, condo, or Airstream rental at the South Padre Island KOA! If you're enjoying an RV vacation, we invite you to bring your big rig into one of our 80-foot pull thrus to enjoy our free wireless internet and expanded cable options. Enjoy our pool, hot tub, exercise room, pet playground, propane sales, on-site restaurant and bar, on-site fishing trips, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Padre Island Koa Hotel South Padre Island
South Padre Island KOA Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing