We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas get a way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Pharr, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Christmas get a way”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a little trouble finding the office but once we got there we had a good time. Only 1 incident. They had to come and get us into our room. They do need to do some maintenance on some of the doors so they open all the time. We had a quiet room where we could see the pool and ocean. Watched the brave little ones in the cold water. Too cold for us but we just wanted to get away from it all and rest.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located where you can see the ocean. Had to pay extra for spa. We didn't use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Helen,

We truly appreciate your honest feedback and would like to thank you for all of your suggestions. We have relayed them to our upper management and owner and hope to have good news to share soon about an upcoming door refurbishment. Thank You for staying at Peninsula and We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    54
    40
    30
    39
See reviews for
105
72
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Well, I'm not sure where to start. We traded our 2 bdrm time share for a 3 bdrm at Peninsula.

1) The parking is 200 yards from the buildings with an empty dirt field in-between. You either walk, or if a staff member is watching they may send a golf cart come out to find you. No such luck since they are aren't watching, but it doesn't matter because the parking lot lights come on very late - the field isn't lit at all. Handicapped spots equal 4 - and parking is not monitored or enforced so sometimes there are non handicapped cars in those spots. When there are workers on site, they also use those spots - while the worker's children play around the guest's cars. We were told to "be careful" by a young man who belonged to a worker who was parked in the spot where we would have liked to park. Access to this area is with your car via a golf cart path and ends up with no turning area - you must back out the way you came in - difficult when you are travelling with 3 disabled adults.

2) "Office" is a room with a desk and not much more. The makeshift sign (a post stuck in the dirt) blew away in the wind.

3) General grounds are questionable and unsafe. No exit signs in our building were illuminated - even at night. This item alone is a security and safety issue and should be a brought to the attention of the authorities. In addition, out of about 10 "grounds lights", 2 were completely broken, and only 2 were on in the dark - the others were not working. After 10:00pm, no lights are on anywhere, so if you return late you are out of luck.

4) Our room was interesting - if you could actually open the "badly needing refinishing door" by pushing your entire weight against it, you would have entered the unit. In all the years I have been traveling, I haven't been in a hotel/motel/time share with a door that looked like it just went though a war. Shame, shame ! Disgusting ! The door did have a nice space on the side and bottom where the light and air were able to come in, even when the door was closed and locked. Storm door ?
Interior walls needed painting - refrigerator was dirty - microwave had plastic peeling off the number pad and a non turning turntable because it was not the plate for the unit - couldn't wash dishes in the dishwasher because 3 detergent pods were hard as a rock due to moisture and the 4th was open and contents had spilled out - missing cover on the door bell exposed wires - pictures hanging on walls were upside down or sideways - pretty shell shadowbox on one wall was missing some shells - TV indicated about 18 channels including satellite, truth is there were 4 English and 2 Spanish - TV remote was held together with scotch tape - sliding door to balcony was impossible to open or close, and didn't lock - spa on back balcony was non-operational as it was missing all controls and not hooked up to water or electricity - cut my finger on the plastic film taped to the cabinets in the kitchen - ice maker only located in one building, we were in the other and by the time we went in search of and returned, our ice was an ice block -

I think at one time this was a super place - and perhaps will be again. For now, I think they have some serious repairs and cleaning to do - AND to think about their customers and their safety.

Room Tip: Choose another facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reg977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay. We are very sorry for not meeting your expectations. Your comments have been passed along to our team and respective departments. We will work on these issues since your business is very important to us. Hopefully we can welcome you back another time.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We had a huge 2 bedroom apartment with ocean views and great balcony. It was very clean and most comfortable. Wonderful and equipped kitchen. The restaurant had the best food and most reasonably priced!! Nice big pool and heated area and swim up bar!! I can hardly think of a negative except the pillows are not great. There ate very limited TV channels so hard to watch sports and apartment has no clocks so hard to tell what time it is. Really enjoyed our stay and the staff and the great cleaning and restaurant staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank annegilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are currently working on switching providers from dish to cable tv providing us with 50 extra channels, including HBO. Thank You again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We just stay at Peninsula Island Resort and Spa, we recommend the room is very clean and space. Location is grate, we need to walk for the car due the parking lot is a little far, but the place and location are excellent, very recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review. We are taking your suggestions very seriously. Please come back soon!

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This place looks like it has weathered the storm of 3 decades of spring break ragers. Stayed in a 3 bedroom suite on the first floor facing the ocean for a weekend. The room was ok. However, the common areas are run-down. Chairs are broken outside, the landscaping is horrible, and the parking lot is 200 yards away. Nothing is within walking distance, minus the gas station 300 yards away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your comments have been passed along to our respective departments. We are currently renovating interior and exterior areas. Thanks for being patient with us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'm a pretty harsh critic and our experience here was NOTHING like the people who had bad experiences. List:

1. Location. It's so easy to get to. The grounds are nice and very resort like. Having the beach access was a blessing and their board walk was in great condition. The elevator is, as Sara T. said, VERY, VERY, VERY SLOW. It also has no air-conditioning and when it's 94% humidity outside and 92 degrees, it makes for a looong hot ride.

2. Our suite was really nice and modern! It was super big and clean. The bed was reeaally comfortable but their pillows were rock solid and had us tossing and turning our first night there. After that we just got our own from a store. Shower worked fine and the air conditioning in the rooms worked just as we hoped. The kitchen counters and the counter in the bathroom are granite and all with stainless steel appliances. The balcony was a decent size for two people and we had beautiful views of the ocean and pool. The walls aren't paper thin. I'm a light sleeper and I didn't hear anything upstairs or next to us. In the morning I could hear kids out by the pool but it wasn't terrible. We left the fan on in the bathroom all night to give us some ambient noise so that helped. One tip, bring your own towels. Theirs are pretty rough and I'm just glad I had ones from home to rub on my body/face.

3. Wifi wasn't the strongest. They should do something about that.

4. The pool was the perfect temperature and it was CLEAN!

5. Yes, it is a long way to walk if you park and don't wait for the guys with the golf carts. It's a nice walk nothing crazy and when we first arrived with all of our belongings they were there to get us and bring us to the resort. You can use them whenever you want(well 8AM-10PM), you just have to call.

6. The gym was actually pretty decent for being in a resort hotel and all.

I don't know if we'll stay here when we come back in a few months but I wouldn't rule it out. We just like to see what our options are :) We really enjoyed ourselves and are overall, pleased with our stay at this resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 404E and found nothing wrong with it. Just bring your own towels and pillows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay and for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The team at Peninsula looks forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've stayed in all kinds of hotels at all price points, from $6 a night hostels in the mountains of Peru and hideouts maintained by Jesuits in Cameroon West Africa, to suites in luxury resorts. If there is one thing they tend to have in common, it's some kind of honesty in advertising. In this case though, the name of the hotel is a laughable misnomer. The only word in the entire title that is accurate is "Island", which accurately describes the spot of dirt this building sits on.

When we drove up the the hotel, we wondered if we had the right place. The hotel appears to have stopped construction after the first two buildings, and a large dirt pad separates the small parking lot from the buildings. We were carried to the front desk in a badly beat up, extremely loud golf cart (I think maybe the engine didn't have any oil in it), where we were whisked into a make-shift office where the desk manager heated himself some chicken wings. After checking in and receiving our oddly unbranded key cards, we proceeded up to our room via some eerily-lit walkway, and each of us tried each of the three keys until we found one that worked. We opened the loose door handle, walked though the badly rusting door frame, and discovered that the safety lock had an odd repair which rendered it useless. The room itself was clean if spartan, the beds were adequate, and the a/c worked great. There is a little kitchenette which was convenient. Although there is a vertical sheer curtain, there are no blackout shades. We slept for a few hours, packed up, and headed to our early morning dive on the Texas Clipper.

While there was nothing terrible about the experience, there is a huge gap between what was advertised and priced at $229 a night, and the actual condition and service level this hotel offers, which is more consistent with a budget motel. If you are looking for a budget hotel for your family and happen to find a better rate than we did, this hotel might suffice. But if you expect a three or four star experience for $229 a night, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jturk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are deeply sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. The scenarios you have described will be addressed with all staff members involved. We are working hard on resolving the issues mentioned. Thank you again for taking the time to write to us.

Sincerely,
Gustavo Diaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,582 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
177 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Property: Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Address: 340 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel.In July 2016, we added 27 deluxe rooms, each room has high speed internet, two full size beds, sofabed, 42" TV with cable, and a minibar fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing