We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Room and Service; Best on Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First Class Room and Service; Best on Island”
Reviewed 10 September 2008

This is a great Spa and Resort... Everyone there was extremely nice! Great pool and beach access. The place is new and has no effects from Hurricane Dolly.

Did not use the Spa but wished I had. The pool was not overly crowded or loud. I stayed in a 1 bedroom king suite with pull out sofa.

Next time I would definately stay in a 2 bedroom for you have a washer and dryer in the room as well, plus it is much bigger than the king suite. Be sure to get a 2 bedroom that has the ocean view and wraps around to the pool view as well.

In addition you have gated parking which is nice as well. Location is extactly where you want to be on the island!! Enjoy!!

  • Liked — Location on Island and top notch room!!
  • Disliked — You could not park next to your room; about 50 or so yards from elevators, however they were very prompt in using a golf cart to get you to the elevators
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    53
    40
    29
    38
See reviews for
102
71
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We travelled down to Padre and had 5 adults and 4 kids. I traded my timeshare week for it. It was a beautiful resort. The pool is quite large for a resort of this size. We stayed in a 3 bedroom/bath and there was plenty of room. The restaurant is exellent and extremelly reasonably priced. A fresh caught seabass dinner for $18? Where else can you get this great of a deal! The only thing I didn't like about it was the $20/day rental charge for beach chairs, although we got 3 for that price. Beware that the units have no carpet making them rather loud inside. Any time we had a small issue with anything, it was resolved after 1 phone call.

  • Liked — Large spacious units
  • Disliked — A long walk from the parking lot
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cfrommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
we thank you for your wonderful review and hope very much to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

Nightmare. We stayed there on our honeymoon and were were billed for 2 nights that we were not there. Apparantly, they used our debit card without a signature after we had checked out. They required us to sign daily for the bill using a debit card and after the second nite we called to say we were checking out. The front desk did not record our phone call to check out 2 days early. Once home, our phone calls to the General Manager were not returned for almost a week and once we were contacted, they were rude and cited a "do not disturb" sign on the room door as reason we were billed for the room despite our phoning the front desk to confirm checkout and giving room keys to staff upon checkout.
They claim customer service, but have hidden from us and we are having to fight with them through our bank. We cannot even determine who owns the facility as our calls are not being returned.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank beachTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
We thank you for your review and it has served to help us improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Spent the memorial day weekend at the Peninsula Island resort and spa. We had the presidential suite A202, it was fabulous. The moment we walked into the suite we were greeted by a spectacular view of the ocean. We were able to sit on the wrap around balcony where we soaked in the view of the ocean and beautiful pool. We had 3 bedrooms and plenty of space for 9 of us. When we first arrived at the gate entrance after parking, we were immediatly met by the bellboys in golf carts, ( because the parking lot is a short distance from the hotel), to take us to check in to our suite, they were very friendly and they all spoke english. The suite was like renting a condo except you had the advantages of being at a hotel with amenities like soap, shampoo, coffee packets, maid service daily etc.. There was a full kitchen that was stocked with plates,pans and utensils. Each bedroom had a full bathroom, there was a washer and dryer and a tv in every bedroom as well as one in the living room. The best part, of course, was a nice wooden bridge/foot path that led you straight to the beach where it was not too crowded and there was a beach volley ball net that we used and had fun playing volley ball. The beach access was great. There was also a nice pool and jacuzzi. Everyone was very friendly and we experienced excellant service. Nice large towels for the beach and pool were complimentary and just needed to be turned in at the end of your day. It was a great experience and I highly recommend it if you are going to south padre island.

  • Liked — ocean view and access, great suites
  • Disliked — It would have been nice if the beach umbrella and chairs were complimentary, there was a charge of 20.00 for two lounge chairs ,one chair and umbrella for the day but it was worth it.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank red65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
we thank you for your wonderful review and hope very much to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

The Peninsual Island Resort and Spa was a wonderful place to stay. Check in was quick. We were booked in a Luxury Suite on the 2nd floor as I wanted a beach view. I asked for a higher floor and glad that I did as the 2nd floor view is of the back of the restaurant. The room had 2 bedrooms. One had a king and the other had 2 queens. Very very nice rooms with a living room and kitchen area. Very clean. The staff was pleasant, however most only spoke spanish. The televisions were subtitled in English and most guests were spanish. The only problem we had was when we went to bed the 1st night the lights were so bright we called down and asked what could be done. No one ever called or came to the room so we put a bedspread over the window. The next day we found out that there was a shade as the maid asked why we had the bedspread up there.
We did not eat at the restaurant. We cooked most of our meals in the room. The food that we did have out at a couple of other restaurants was just average.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — very little English spoken
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bhauxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2007

This new resort is a time share property, but reservations are readily available online. Exquisite pretty much sums up this location. Our February 5th floor setting gave us an incredible view of the Gulf. We have visited the island for 23 years, and previously not found anything like this. On site restaurant, accomodating staff, and a reflection pool make this a place you should not miss. We have found it, so we probably shouldn't write about it, but hopefully no one will read this. Craig & Char Iowa

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig-Char-Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2007

I'll keep this short, but this place is posh. Perfect! The restaurant has incredible food. The server, Vero is extremely personable and kind. Excellent service. Some of the best food we've ever tasted and reasonably priced.

The rooms are top notch. It's a timeshare place, but we rented. The pool is terrific, although it was too cold to swim. Right now the parking lot is out near So Padre Blvd so they will drive you into the property with golf carts.

I could go on and on about this place. I'll definitely stay here again and am looking at timeshare opportunities.

SPI is a great place for families. Went to see the Sea Turtles and Horseback Riding on the beach. Great restaurants. Easy place to get around. We did rent a car, which was a lifesaver at times.

We'll be back to SPI AND to PR&S!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Wireless internet didn't was spotty in the room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank RolloWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustServProPeninsula, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
we thank you for your wonderful review and hope very much to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,552 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,487 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
479 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Property: Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Address: 340 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-6501
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel.In July 2016, we added 27 deluxe rooms, each room has high speed internet, two full size beds, sofabed, 42" TV with cable, and a minibar fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing