We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice, clean beach close to home” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in South Padre Island
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A nice, clean beach close to home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

In my opinion south Padre Island has the nicest beaches in Texas. My wife and I booked a three-day stay at the Peninsula Island Resort&Spa with Travelocity.com which offered a very attractive package. Our suite included a main bedroom with a balcony overlooking the ocean, a very nice bathroom and another room with a sleeper sofa, a dining table, a microwave oven and a small fridge. The swimming pool is large and there is bar service available where they make a "mean" pina colada. The restaurant offers an excellent menu featuring a wide variety of seafood dishes. I particularly recommend the "ceviche"
The beach is well kept and although it is not very long it lends itself to very nice walks. The only downside to our stay was that on the second day we found out that our package did not include the cleaning of our room and that if we wanted it cleaned it would cost an extra $40 a day.
Sanfer467

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanfer467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosques_Monterreal, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in the near future. Don't miss our social networks if you would like to review further information about Peninsula.


Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    52
    40
    27
    36
See reviews for
100
68
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is by far the best resort I have had the pleasure of staying in. The scenic views are above any other I have seen personally and the service was BEYOND five stars. In fact, if I could put in 10 I would! I highly recommend Peninsula Island Resort & Spa the next time you are in South Padre Island. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Went to South Padre Island for vacation last month with some friends, and this was the best deal for all of us. Right on the beach, which was great! Also had a really sweet pool, so we pretty much just hung out there or the beach most of the time. Staff was friendly and rooms were really nice. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a nice vacation at South Padre Island.
Also, the best restaurant we went to at South Padre was right at the hotel! Check out the dinner, I posted a pic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We took a trip to SPI last minute with our kids. We stayed July 14-16 and we all had a great time. The hotel had mixed reviews but it was the cheapest for our family of 5. When you first arrive the parking lot is a ways from the hotel. They have some people that drive up and down in golf carts to give you rides, which is a great idea!! You can also drive up to the hotel to unload your baggage. We were given an "Apartment" and it was beautiful!! It had a huge bed for my husband, 1 year old daughter and I. My stepson and stepdaughter slept on the pull out sofa bed in the next room. The room was so clean and nice, plus beds were very comfortable. The pool area was beautiful and it has a boardwalk to walk over to the beach. The staff was so nice and helpful. We loved our stay and had a great time! I would recommend this hotel to everybody!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor, it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently came down to the Peninsula Island Resort and Spa for a weekend getaway, and had a fantastic time! All of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We will definitely be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went on a vacation with a lot of friends, I stayed here at Peninsula Island and friends stayed at some other hotels nearby. Peninsula Island was cleaner, bigger, and had better service than any of the hotels my friends had chosen. 5 out of 5 would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or beach have a REALLY nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed her for 6 days. We were scheduled to stay for 7 but couldn't take another day. The white walls were filthy. There were holes in the blankets on our beds, food stuck on utensils, and mold on chairs in kitchen area. I took pictures of all of this. The pool is nice and it is close to the beach but even that is not worth it. We got sand in our sheets and when I asked if they could be changed they said it would cost $25. The laundry room looked like it was from a slum. There was water on the floor with gross concrete. The dryer looked like it was from 1960 and there was a broom handle jammed in the door so it would work. The washer didn't work at all. It was so disgusting. We stayed in a studio because we couldn't afford the price for a presidential room ( outrageously priced) but for what we paid we deserved much better than what we got. I would not stay here and I am sorry if you ignore this review, which I did when reading negatives that others had to say, and choose to stay here. I have pictures to prove how gross it was!!!!! Stay here at your own risk but just remember, you were warned! The rooms on the website look nothing like the actual room. There wasn't even a bedspread on the bed. The bed spread was a brown, over used blanket!!!'

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Love2travel998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gustavo D, General Manager at Peninsula Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I'd like to apologize for the inconveniences that you had during your stay. I already took note of your comments and we are working to improve the areas you mentioned. We want to confirm you that we take these matters seriously. Currently, we are in a process of innovation and improvement of all our services. We hope you will accept our apologies and that you will give us a second chance in the future to appreciate our changes.

Sincerely,
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
Schlitterbahn Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Island Resort & Spa

Property: Peninsula Island Resort & Spa
Address: 340 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in South Padre Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the sea oats and sand dunes, and highlighted by the blue of the Gulf of Mexico, The Peninsula Island Resort and Spa South Padre Island, Texas is the perfect venue for a relaxing island escape. Located directly on the beach in the heart of South Padre Island's "hotel row", our upscale property opened in 2006, and combines the highest standards in construction with contemporary, tasteful design. The units are all well-appointed, and range in size from our very popular studio kitchenette units to our 3 bedroom/3 bath condominiums. With concrete walls, porcelain tile flooring, and leather furniture, our resort was designed to resist to mold, humidity and allergens all-too-often common near the sea. Our swimming pool is the largest infinity pool in South Texas, and features a convenient swim up bar. Each offers either a full kitchen or kitchenette, and everything else necessary to cook and serve a gourmet meal. If cooking is not your thing, Las Olas Restaurant Grill and Bar, located onsite, is considered by many to be one of the best restaurants on South Padre Island, and offers a variety of delicious homemade dishes available for in-room dining. All-in-all, the Peninsula is in a league of its own--offering the spacious luxury of a condominium, coupled with the service and appointments of an upper-tier resort hotel.In July 2016, we added 27 deluxe rooms, each room has high speed internet, two full size beds, sofabed, 42" TV with cable, and a minibar fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Peninsula Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Island Hotel South Padre Island
Peninsula Island Resort And Spa
Peninsula South Padre Island
South Padre Island Peninsula
Peninsula Island Resort & Spa South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing