We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disapppointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dirty Al's

Dirty Al's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: About Us Dirty Al’s has been in operation since 1986 and has always provided the freshest seafood to thousands of visitors from all over the world. As a family owned and operated business, we have always taken great pride in taking care of each customer and providing them with a unique experience that they can only get from eating at Dirty Al’s. Dirty Al promises every customer that they will only be served the absolute freshest seafood caught in the wild off the Gulf of Mexico. A Father and his Sons Make a Great Team! Alfonso Salazar, better known as “Dirty Al” originally started shrimping as a young man with his father and 6 brothers. In 2003, he and his youngest son, Cameron, who graduated from Culinary School, transformed his bait stand into a restaurant where together they have been known for having “The World’s Best Fried Shrimp”! In 2005, his other two sons returned home to help grow the business. To this day, they now own 6 restaurants on beautiful South Padre Island and continue to bring only the “best” Gulf Seafood to each customer’s table.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disapppointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went here for lunch during a business trip to South Padre because we had heard it was good. I found the food very average; it was close and crowded; and the view was average. Worst of all, they only give you plastic-ware to use and it just doesn't do the trick. There is nothing unique or special that would make me particularly recommend it over other better places on the Island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    329
    150
    53
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

You drive up at the extreme south side of the island and see the unpaved parking lot and what appears to be a boat barn. Then comes the smell of gorgeous seafood perfectly cooked. This place is always full. The atmosphere is simple, humble and clean. The wait staff is all business and at first sight real to the point because they are busy.. We got our wait person to laugh after a while. She was working hard baby! The prices are very good and the quality of the food is excellent! the locals are always the best to recommend, and they all said to go to this place. It did not disappoint. very good quality. Sincere effort to assist and everyone very happy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ikeamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very fresh and yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Food was very fresh! Nice view of the bay where we sat, very low key and casual. Did not disappoint, glad we came!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwibsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some of the best seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Family took us to a "Hole in the wall " restaurant in South Padre Island last week , not much for motif, which did not bother us in the slightest, particularly once we tasted our food.
Some of the best seafood I/ we have ever eaten! Breaded fish ,Shrimp, etc., but done with taste, flavor and a very " light hand" .........next time we go we will go there again. For a wonderful meal, and a fun time . Right on the water, basic interior, very good service, great food !........Brave Dirty Al's ! : )

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Simple, and simply great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The best fresh seafood in a very basic atmosphere. Just sit down, eat, and smile when you get the check. Staff was great, try the Jumbo stuffed Jalapeno, almost a meal by itself. Too many choices for just one visit. Our best lunch on the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RitchieMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing