We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was o.k.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dirty Al's

Dirty Al's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: About Us Dirty Al’s has been in operation since 1986 and has always provided the freshest seafood to thousands of visitors from all over the world. As a family owned and operated business, we have always taken great pride in taking care of each customer and providing them with a unique experience that they can only get from eating at Dirty Al’s. Dirty Al promises every customer that they will only be served the absolute freshest seafood caught in the wild off the Gulf of Mexico. A Father and his Sons Make a Great Team! Alfonso Salazar, better known as “Dirty Al” originally started shrimping as a young man with his father and 6 brothers. In 2003, he and his youngest son, Cameron, who graduated from Culinary School, transformed his bait stand into a restaurant where together they have been known for having “The World’s Best Fried Shrimp”! In 2005, his other two sons returned home to help grow the business. To this day, they now own 6 restaurants on beautiful South Padre Island and continue to bring only the “best” Gulf Seafood to each customer’s table.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food was o.k.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Not as good as we remembered. Could of been more friendly. They weren't busy when we were there, but still didn't have good service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank m35sr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    329
    150
    53
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“shabby chic without the chic and dark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went to Dirty Al's as I seen it had a 4 rating so didn't want to leave the Island without seeing it. The guy that owns it definately has a sense of humor as they have a "Sorry We're Open sign" in the window. Pretty funny. The decor is beyond basic which I guess is the look they are going for. It was also very dark in there. Not sure why so dark as the place is certainly not romantic. I think everything is fried at Dirty Al's so the place has areas that smell of grease. If you are sensitive to that smell you have been warned. I had the shrimp and fish basket which was very good. The fish was phenonemal and by the time we ate at Dirty Al's I had come to expect the shrimp to be very good as well. It was.
The waitor was not particulary friendly. All and all I say the food is good (though a bit overpriced given it is just fried food, fish and fries, shrimp and fries, whatever and fries) but we did not like the atmosphere. Had we stayed longer in SPI I doubt we would have gone back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank savytraverlor43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Birthday shrimp fest!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Some of the best shrimp I have had. The seasoning is right on the money! A great little restaurant right on south padre island. Great atmosphere for families and friends! Recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abelglz713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go to spot for visiting friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

I like this spot for dinner when friends or family come to visit. More casual than bayside restaurants, yet less bar like than gulf side ones.

Decent food, wine in a plastic cup, and meets expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a great dinner at Dirty Al's. It doesn't look like much, but the seafood was delicious. The service is excellent. I wish I could remember the name of our waiter. One of the best we have ever had. If you are in South Padre, this place is a must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan_M317502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Al's also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing