We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a scam!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We arrived after 3:00pm check-in, the rooms were not clean..very dirty. We rented for the weekend (2 nites) and asked for towel replacement and were told they did not do that because we were only staying to nights. No maid service on the second day. Now get this, we get charged an additional $55.00 dollars for maid service at checkout.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

I recently stayed ath the Tiki and we couldn't have have better weather. With the sun out and and private beach (or at least it seemed private), I enjoyed most of my day on the beach next to the Tiki. The staff at the Tiki were very helpful and answered any questions we had. The location is near the turtle rescue center and the bird sanctuary- a must visit for all ages. The rooms were cozy and very clean. The onsite swimming pool was also very nice. Look forward to another visit at the Tiki!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Planning our vacation like every year for our Thanksgiving Family Reunion, I had to look into a nice place to stay and somewhere where all my family will fit....well after so much thought and consideration, my family and I decided we would give The Tiki a 2nd chance, since we stayed there last year (summer of 2010), we were not happy at all, the rooms were not nice, dirty and well you can imagine the rest......This time i was pleasently surpised-....the rooms have been upgraded, they have been cleaned thoroughly, the grounds look amazing, the staff is very friendly and helpful.....Well I came to find out, this place is under new management and I am glad, this place turned out to be one of my favorite spots and if you ask me" I would totally recommend this place to anyone at any time...Had a fabulous time, enjoyed every minute of it and the most important- my family was very happy!!!..Thank you Tiki.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 3 bedroom, and the rest of my family in one bedrooms,....small rooms are close to offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at the tiki July 2011, the new managment and the employees are very courtious and helpful..We had so much fun during our stay..Rooms are very clean and comfy.. Our family will definetly go again next summer..... The location is great just walking distance to the beach.. thank you Tiki

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The rooms smell horribly. Infrastructure is old and not maintained at all.
We didn't have water for 1 1/2 days, so we had to take a shower at other friends' hotel.

Bad room service for the charge, which is offensively expensive for what one gets in return.

At check out, we asked for a discount considering the water and service problems, and the "lady" in charge said " yeah, you wish! That's what all YOU people come here for, don't ya"?

I wouldn't recommend this joint even to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YanniHoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I made reservations one month in advance, made it clear i needed a condo on the ground floor because my mom is physically handicap, cant climb up and down stairs, and we are taking a pet (which they allowed). They called me 2 weeks later to tell me the condo they had for me did not allow pets if we would take a different one and i said yes as long as it was on the ground floor, they said it was. Got there the day before mothers day and after i paid for the condo in advance and i paid the balance due, they tell me our condo was on the second floor, that was not what i paid for. Because of this, i had to get a full refund which i got, but it ruined our trip because i did not have access to those funds immediately, they shouldve told me before i paid of the change. We ended up staying at a Motel 6, cause that was all i could afford. Maybe next year it will be a better Mothers Day God willing....

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
3  Thank ChrsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We have stayed at the Tiki on and off for the past 29 years. Our last visit was in 1998 and we expected to have a nice quiet visit again. We were disappointed that the Tiki has gone downhill significantly. The condo used to have strict guidelines against hanging towels over the balcony rails. Strolling through the grounds to our room, we saw towels, swimsuits, and underwear hanging on the rails. We also had to wade through beer cans, empty drink cups, fast food packages, and cigarette butts. One poolside balcony had a semi full gas can sitting on it.

The rooms are old. Paint was falling off the wall and the carpet was impregnated with sand. The sliding doors did not quite close and the front door lock took and act of Congress to turn.

And then there's the noise. The pool is open until 11pm and noise of 30+ people (no joke) in the pool at once at 11pm is a bit unbearable. Good luck getting small children to sleep.

Spend you money elsewhere. The Tiki's days are over.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beedapox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,620 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,599 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
222 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Vacation Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Vacation Condominiums

Address: 6608 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7711
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range: £69 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiki Vacation Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1, 2 or 3 Bedroom condominiums. Property located on the beach and under new management! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Tiki Vacation Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki Vacation Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island
Tiki Vacation Condominiums South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing