We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uhhh don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My family and i come to SPI every year and stay at the tiki which we USE to love. We skipped a year and came back this year to find it a wreck. First of all the lady in front desk should really check her attitude. Secondly like everyone else we were not given towels. We stayed in a 3bd condo so there were at least 6 ppl and hardly any towels. When we asked for more they said they didn't offer more. Did they forget that they're on the beach and towels get dirty and sandy very quickly. We'll thankfully we had our own and our condo was next to the washers so we could wash them. We were also told that we wouldn't get our deposit back if the towels had "damage". It's not like these are super nice expensive towels. We also asked for toilet paper and we got denied!!! Like I said 6 ppl for 3 days. NOT FAIR. I also didn't like that the pool area was not for food and drinks. It should be allowed because most of us clean and pick up after each other. We use to love the tiki with other management but now I REALLY DONT RECOMMEND THE STAY THERE!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

WOW! This is a great place, its an older condominium complex but it is very clean and well maintained we stayed in unit # 132 owned by Peggy Pichelman she owns 3 units on the beach front all are very nice and have been updated with new modern amenities and she is very easy to deal with our unit was on the ground floor only 30 steps to the beach and the Tiki condos are easy to get to right across the street from the Sea Turtle rescue center witch I recommend also.
I highly recommend the place. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Beach Front Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The tiki is a great place to stay. It is right on the water & it feels like home! They welcome pets too!
The only thing I would say the need to update is their laundry room. To far & not noticeable for the customers.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

went to SPI for 5 day vacation August 14-18, 2013 with family and we stayed in a 2nd floor condo. While checking in another couple was in the lobby asking when one of the pools would be fixed and the clerk said they should have the part that afternoon or the next day. We checked out on the 19th and the pool was still not fixed. Had plenty of towels the first day but after 3 days had to ask for more. They only allow one set of towels for all 5 days that we were there. You are responsible for cleaning the dishes you use but no cleaning supplies. Bring your own dish soap. Save your money on boogie boards the roaches in our room were big enough to surf on. No private beach, anyone can use it. We went to the public beaches each day, much cleaner and not near as many people. Not worth the money and we will not stay here again.

Room Tip: stay at one of the newer condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DWH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We are heading home right now from our week long stay at the tiki. First there were eight towels and five of us, we called the front desk on the third day and asked for new towels and they very rudely told us that they do not replace towels every day. It was out third day there! We had already used these towels over and over! Second we killed five roaches and saw several roach eggs on the ground. Third we were suppose to clean the dishes and take the trash out, but there was no cleaning supplies. So we had to go but everything. Fourth they provide one roll of toilet paper on each bathroom for the entire stay. Fifth one of the two pools was out of service the entire five days. We were told it would be fixed by the day we checked in. The one pool left to swim in was always very crowded. Sixth the service is just bad!! I sent in outlet signed contract and cc auth and they called to tell me they received it... Then got a message from them saying I never faxed it back in. No one knows what they are doing there. Seventh the condo we stayed in (247) was hardly decorated, the furniture was old and very uncomfortable and the beds were uncomfortable. Overall we are very upset that we wasted so much money and will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at the Tiki Condos and miss it already. Our unit was beautifully decorated and furnished. The bed was so comfortable and the balcony was large. The unit also had 2 flat screen TVs, coffee pot, toaster, towels, dishes, cooking pans, and cleaning supplies. The pool was nice and refreshing, the grounds were very well kept, and the beach a short walk away. Only minor complaint was the doors are thin and you can hear voices easily.

Will absolutely return to the Tiki. Thank you

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiki6608, General Manager at Tiki Vacation Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

We also were very disappointed by what we found on a daily basis. First, we had to pick up 25+ cigarette butts from the area next to your balcony, we asked every day that you not dry your laundry and towels from the balcony railings, we asked that you not put your portable speaker on the balcony and play music that carries to other balconies and we spoke to you about the balcony and the use of it for storage of dirty towels and empty cans and other items. Finally, our housekeeping department charged you for soiled bath and hand towels that keep coming back to that department and for the unacceptable condition that we found your condominium upon checkout. Partially eaten chicken was on night stands and the floor was covered with trash and sand. We hope that your next visit to South Padre is more successful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Went to SPI for a long weekend getaway July 26-29, 2013 with my sisters (20 somethings) and we stayed in a 1 bedroom 1st floor level condo. The Tiki served it's purpose and was suitable for a quick trip but I will probably not stay there again. If I ever go back to SPI, I would just book another condo or hotel at least 1 month in advance to get a good price.
Pros:
-Priced appropriately for booking 1.5 weeks prior to arrival. $140/nt friday-sunday
-Close (1-1.5 blocks) from beach access
-Clayton's beach bar and grill is next door (easy access for food and drinks)
-Clean and well kept unit/amenties (kitched/bathroom) but mildly dated, king size bed was very comfortable
- 2 pools that were warmer than the gulf, but a little crowded most of time
- The kitchen was great for quick meals.

Cons:
- water pressure in the shower was very WEAK near the equivalent of standing in a hard rain shower and was difficult to wash hair (we all have long hair) & the water was either just below/above lukewarm, I wouldn't have been able to deal with it for more than 3 nights
- While having dinner in the condo with my family on Saturday night (laughing & have merry ole time); the security knocked really loudly and abruptly to inform us of a noise complaint. I didn't mind being notified of the noise complaint but the "security" guard was very RUDE regarding showing his credentials and identifying himself as the true security guard stating that if we didn't open the door he would call the police and have us evicted. He wore a black shirt with the word "security" written on it, that is sold in any costume store, and jeans and we were 4 women in a condo alone in a new place- EXCUSE US for wanting to validate his credentials prior to opening the door! Anyway, he validated it to us (and we had the police operator on the phone just to be sure for our safety) but he was still quite aggrevated, rude & contrite while informing us that the building "is cement and sound travels" and they have "residents who live here." Of course we kept quieter after that but he could have been more courteous dealing with paying renters and women alone in a condo.
- The sofa bed mattress was horribly UNCOMFORTABLE- could feel every spring and bar, you'll feel better with a queen size blow up mattress on the floor or on top of the sofabed mattress
- Management made us wear wristbands so beware if you have extra guests who want to come by; I think they have to check-in as visitors during the day in the office

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linzisonvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#8 of 32 in South Padre Island
687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#3 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
1,326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Padre South Hotel
Padre South Hotel
#13 of 32 in South Padre Island
232 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#11 of 32 in South Padre Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Vacation Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Vacation Condominiums

Address: 6608 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7711
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range: £70 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiki Vacation Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1, 2 or 3 Bedroom condominiums. Property located on the beach and under new management! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Tiki Vacation Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki Vacation Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island
Tiki Vacation Condominiums South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing