We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Terrible Condos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great City Terrible Condos”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Tiki Condos June 8-13. No sheets for pullout couch and had to argue to get some. The sheets that were on the bed smelled like the persons before us. A plastic cover on the mattress that was in the bedroom made crumpling sounds every time we moved, not to mention making you sweaty and hot. The AC vent dripped water onto the floor and never turned off. This was a crappy condo. At LEAST 10 people got their cars towed while we were there. Security went around looking for cars who didn't have their tag hanging on mirror. (A high price to pay for overlooking your tag, the people staying below us got theirs towed and the tag was on the dash) You have to register your car at office so a radio or cell phone call to office would have just confirmed guest or non guest. I saw at least 10 cars get towed who knows how many I didn't see. Not the best of people hanging out here either. Trashy Trashy Trashy.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what the website says is included so you can argue when you need it. What you thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    24
    9
    9
    24
See reviews for
58
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed in Unit 225 with a great view of the courtyard-pool area. Very clean and modern unit. When we first arrived, the weather was sunny and the pool was certainly lively. We then walked to the beach which was literally steps away. The whole complex is right off the beach so any unit stay in, is only walking distance away with no streets to cross.The beach is a public beach yet Tiki still has a sense of "private" on the beach. Though, if you're looking for more action while staying at the Tiki, just take a few steps down the beach to the biggest bar on the Gulf Coast with lots of live music and fun. Your staying in a condominium so you have more room than a small hotel but you don't get the daily service. I really didn't care about the daily service because I'd rather have more room to walk around in than a much smaller room. Tike has great value for its price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just got back from staying at the Tiki. We rented the condo from someone on VRBO.com, and couldn't be happier. Our condo was updated beautifully. The location of the Tiki was nice. It wasn't in the "main" part of padre, but it wasn't in the middle of nowhere. It was next to a big bar with lots of action. The La Quinta is also close. The tiki had ample parking for us. Staying on the 3rd floor and walking up and down the stairs wasn't fun while loading and unloading the car. This condo is pretty family friendly with lots of kids. When we return, we will probably stay at the tiki.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissysk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is an older complex but it is well maintained.The pools are clean and warm. The grounds are very nice. The location is perfect. The office staff were very polite and helpful.
The condos are rented either by the individual owners who manage their own condos or by the Tiki. When you rent read your contract and you will know what is included. If you rent
from the owner you can check reviews on VRBO or Homeaway. Some of the condos have been updated. We stayed in #338 and it was clean and comfortable with everything we needed.

Room Tip: Make sure your condo has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Going on our 3rd night with no hot water. 2nd time here, so we know what used to be. At this time last year, we had hot water and the pools were well heated. Currently, many units have no hot water and according to the maintenance manager, this is a long standing problem due to the age of the chiller system used to heat the whole complex. They appear to have overloaded the 40 yr old heat pump system tied into 3 chillers, and the place has conveniently contracted with an outside source to do I don't know what. Bottom line is there is no capacity to provide hot water to the complex. They refuse to spend the money to fix things. The same system heats the pools, but they are basically "baiting and switching" us all, as the management is lazy, and quite dirty--they won't return calls or let me talk to the manager. Not at all worth $160/night for a cold, dirty place. Instead of "the Tiki" this place should be called "the suckee" because the rude management does just that, and they even laugh at you at the front desk when you try to complain about something such as NO HOT WATER. Clearly, they have no clue about hospitality, nor do they have any real intention of correcting the hot water problem, because it is too costly. A maintenance guy did come in and turn up the hot water on the outside. It lasted for 3-4 min. while he was here. After the brief "test period", the water went cold again. Once he left, I guess he went and turned it back down.
It is ashamed that this place would do this to us, especially with our 84 yr old grandmother, and forcing her to take a cold shower every night, and not wanting to wash her hands because the water is too cold. The homeowner's president and their association should be ashamed of their selfless refusal to not provide hot water, and knowingly rent out units that are known to be without hot water, even at the time they are reserved. Current management should be given a lesson in hospitality, and the whole lot of owners and managers of this money skimming operation warrant a revolt of all the people they have misled, all for a few bucks. Who does this, and actually maintains a clear conscience?
If you want hot water, you should go to pretty much any other place on the island. If you want a heated pool with gulf views, try the Marisol (we have stayed there before, and they have caring management, and a good facility.) I stand behind this review, as it is not at all embellished, and if anything, I am being way too easy on the selfish and crooked owners and managers of this place. So, do enjoy your stay at "the suckee" but you're gonna freeze your buns off while your wallet gets picked. Happy New Year from "the suckee!"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PowerCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiki6608, Manager at Tiki Vacation Condominiums, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
At the Tiki, we strive to provide our best customer service. We sincerely apologize for the burden you went through during your stay. Unfortunately the device that is used to heat the water was not working on Tuesday and this is an issue that cannot be fixed by our maintenance department. However, we did call an outside company that takes care of providing this service and they worked as quickly as possible to get all the units with hot water. Thank you for all your input, as this will definitely help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

FORT WORTH
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Tiki is located at the North end of South Padre Island, and is immediately on the beach. There is no long walkway over the dunes. The property is 40 years old, but is very well maintained. The pool is heated and open year-round, and the staff is very friendly.

We were in Unit 238, which was very recently renovated, and it was modern, very clean, well-equipped and comfortable. The owners were extremely helpful, calling us to be certain we made it in OK and that we didn't need any help. They provided excellent restaurant recommendations as well.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: You should really take a room in the building closest to the beach. The other buildings are not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emichaeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We rented a condo in the Tiki complex from an individual rather than theTiki. The condo we had was decorated beautifully and very clean. It was moderately priced which was a very big attraction. It was also on the other side Clayton's, "the Biggest Beach Bar in Texas" so it was also very quiet. I don't know if it is different when you rent from Tiki itself but as a week renter I was a bit put out that we had only 6 towels and no option other than washing them ourselves to get clean ones. I suspect this is the pitfall of renting from individuals rather than a hotel. Given our rental situations things like service do not apply. We liked the pool at the Tiki. I seen a brochure that said 2 pools but we only found 1. The pool is on the small side but the water is warm and it isn't too chlorinated. We traveled in the off season so we were frequently the only people at the pool. Most of the people there are "winter Texans", which indicates they are also elderly. Going in the off season there wasn't a lot of water activities going on. This is a bit baffling to me because it was still pretty hot outside but we didn't see anyone swimming in ocean, horseback riding or really much of any actiity. At first I didn't think it had much of a beach by the Tiki but when the tide isn't in there is quite a bit of sandy beach area and it it quite nice. The Tiki is on the North side of the island and there are not a lot of high end hotels/resorts on the north end, at least not yet. ( I expect there will be some time in the future.) We did not rent a car (BIG mistake) and relied on The Wave, a free bus that is available to go on the Island and Port Isabel. The only things by the Tiki are the Turtle rescue place, the Bird Center and the Laguna Madre Nature trail . Turn out the Bird Center and Laguna Madre nature trail are pretty much the same. In fact, a lot of the trails that were once available at the free Laguna Nature Trail are now part of the Bird Center. The fee for Bird Center is something like $5. We didn't go when we heard the trails were pretty much the same except there were more of them at the Bird Center. So we spent a lot of time on the bus or waiting for a bus to take us to other parts of the Island. ( A car would have been so much better) All and all I was disappointed by they lack of things to do in the off season at South Padre Island.

We spoke to the people at the front office a couple of times. They seemed friendly enough though they did lead us down the wrong path telling us they would replace towels and toilet paper. They didn't replace either and never called us to tell us they were wrong and that it wasn't their responsibility.

I would recommend renting from Tiki if you are looking for moderate pricing but I would only recommend going during the spring/summer when things are hopping and if you enjoy water sports. Otherwise, the things to do and see is pretty limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank savytraverlor43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Island
Hilton Garden Inn South Padre Is...
#2 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padre Island
Ramada Hotel & Suites South Padr...
#6 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Padre Island
La Quinta Inn & Suites South Pad...
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites- South Padre Island
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#9 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pearl South Padre
Pearl South Padre
#7 of 32 in South Padre Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#4 of 32 in South Padre Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Vacation Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Vacation Condominiums

Property: Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Address: 6608 Padre Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7711
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiki Vacation Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1, 2 or 3 Bedroom condominiums. Property located on the beach and under new management! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tiki Vacation Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki Vacation Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island
Tiki Vacation Condominiums South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing