We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Padre Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just finished a wonderful Memorial Day weekend in South Padre at the Suntide II. The Suntide II has a number of nice qualities and some others travelers should be aware of in advance. We stayed in unit 502. Being on the 5th floor was great. You could not ask for a better view of the ocean from the master bedroom and the balcony, which is also wonderfully spacious. The unit was large and equip with large flat screen TVs in every room and a great dining room table. The beach access was amazing and warm showers greet you on your way back up to the building. What was less impressive was the customer service and some of the condo policies. Having to pay $200 in cash as a damage deposit made me feel like a irresponsible college student. We were traveling with two small children and were not allowed to check in until we paid the cash so after a six hour car ride we immediately had to pack up the kids again and go find an ATM before we received our keys. Travelers are also required to remove their own sheets and take out their trash prior to departure. Guests can not leave until their unit has been inspected so you have to pack up your family and then wait in the front until your unit is inspected. I don't have a problem doing these types of activities in the name of affordability, but this place seemed a bit costly for the level of service. The rental agreement also makes it clear that things like AC may not work and if they don't, you are out of luck, no discounts, no refunds. Our AC worked great, but I can't imagine a vacation in August with no AC and no effort to help. Finally, we recommend bringing your own bedding. The master bed mattress is soft and lumpy and would not cut it for anyone with a back issue. The towels and pillows are paper thin and the comforter is the type that probably doesn't get washed much. I was so glad we brought our own pillow because the unit pillows would have been awful to sleep on.
All and all, no regrets about our stay at Suntide II but we will probably try somewhere else on our next trip to South Padre.

Room Tip: Liked the fifth floor, imagine the first floor would be very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CaliTex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
In response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay on the 5th floor; The panoramic views of the Beach from the Master Bedrooms really are breathtaking!
As for the other areas you mentioned, we do feel the need to clarify exactly what our Terms & Conditions state so other Guests will have all the facts:
We notify every Guest before arrival that they will need to pay, in CASH, a $200 Damage Deposit upon Check In.
This is done verbally when a Guest books over the phone, via our Website when a Guest books online, AND every Guest receives a Confirmation email stating this once again, when the Condo is reserved.
Refundable Damage Deposit
“We require a $200 damage deposit in CASH only, for all rentals, due upon check-in. This damage deposit is refundable only AFTER an inspection of the condo unit has been conducted upon checkout and unit passes inspection. Please allow us up to 1 hour to perform the inspection. If you are unable to wait, or if you check-out before 9:00 A.M., our accounting office will mail you a refund check within 10 working days.”

Some Guests either forget or simply prefer not to travel w/that much cash; there is a conveniently located ATM for them to use to be able to pay the Damage Deposit upon Check In. Every Guest is asked for the Damage Deposit and actually there are some Condos on the Island who require up to $500 CASH only Damage Deposit – we rarely have any instances of broken or missing items and more often than not are refunding the full amount. We consider this traveling home expense money.
Important: Our Guests are NOT required to stay or wait around during the Check Out Inspection; they are free to leave anytime and some Guests actually Check Out quite early in the morning. You’ll see above that our Policy allows for us to send the Damage Deposit refund even after you arrive home if that is more convenient for you.
Suntide II’s check-out requirements are standard in keeping with other resort condominiums. The removal of linens from the beds to be piled with the towels is normal check-out procedure, as is the removal of all waste from garbage receptacles in the units.

Our Policy regarding Air Conditioning actually states:
“We make every effort to keep each unit and its equipment in good working order, and to make repairs as soon as possible when we are notified of a problem. No refund or rate adjustment will be made for mechanical failures, such as air conditioning, television or appliances.”
While it is quite rare for Air Conditioning to malfunction or go out completely, if this does occur we make every reasonable accommodation possible so that our Guests do not experience too much discomfort.

Although we never like to hear that a Guest is not satisfied 100% with our Amenities, some areas such as mattresses, pillows, etc. are subjective. If a Guest is not pleased with anything in their Condo upon arrival, we encourage them to notify our Office Staff as soon as possible, not wait until after their trip is over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    16
    6
    7
    10
See reviews for
35
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Suntide II was very accommodating for our stay before during and after booking. The condo was extremely comfortable and well equipped. More than enough dishes and glasses and cookware to accommodate a family of 6. The pool was great for a nice swim to cool off and great beach access. Decor was nice, beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Condo was neat and tidy, some areas could of used a spring cleaning but clean for the most part. Loved the balcony to sit and enjoy the sunrise and watching the surf. When we needed staff they were very prompt, courteous and helpful. We also had a light bulb burn out and the staff were there right away to fix it and they left us with a spare to be proactive. Didn't have any issues that weren't addressed to our satisfaction. Definitely would come back to stay here and would recommend it to others. Just wanted to say thank you to Terry, Homer and all the staff for great customer service.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, the view of the sunrise and the beach was great and very quiet floor. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your stay, you even included pictures - Great!
We strive to satisfy every Guest 100% and are overjoyed when a Guest has been so completely satisfied that they promise to make a return trip.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Suntide II had the WORST customer service I have ever experienced. We were harassed and threatened by a manager saying she would call the police on us because she falsely accused us of not being residents there. She continued to treat us with disrespect the rest of our trip and made it less enjoyable. We were then charged $65 for "ruined" towels which was completely false. We will not being coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CodyBurtscher22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Unfortunately, these Guests have not been forthright in their "review" of their stay at our Complex. These Guests violated the Occupancy Limits of our Units - they assured us over the phone AND upon signing Check In paperwork that there were no more than 10 allowed Guests staying with us. It was discovered by our GM, (whose name is NOT anywhere close to Margaret, nor do we have anyone else named Margaret working for us!) that there were at least 15 Guests in this Unit. The GM did give notice to these Guests that at least 5 people would have to locate other lodging OR the police would have to intervene.
Also, the $65.00 charge for ruined towels was not false, but due to the fact that these same Guests all but destroyed the Complex provided Towels - they were charged $65.00 as they were so filthy dirty they were beyond cleaning/repair and had to be destroyed.
These Guests say they will not return because of their "bad experience" when in reality they have been blocked and are not allowed to return due to their behavior and violatioins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Padre Island hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

First off, make sure your towels are clean. We were charged 65 dollars for 8 towels being dirty. It never stated in the checklist to clean towels. We even payed a 100 dollar cleaning fee assuming it covered the cleaning of towels and bed sheets.
Then, we were yelled at by the MANAGER named Margaret. Saying there is no way we were staying there and that she was going to call the police on us. Then once she realized we in fact had a room at the condominiums she never apologized
THEN...
We were woken up by the smell of Marjiuana and fireworks at 2 in the morning
Also the room was constantly sandy and the lights would never work. Literally when it was dark we would all have to walk with only the light from our phones to guide us back to our room.
NEVER WILL STAY AT THE CONDOMINIUMS AGAIN

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacket1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
This unfortunately, is yet another false review!
These Guests are the same ones who were violating our Occupancy Limits and trying to sneak more than the allowed 10 Guests into one Unit.
They state that it does not state in the Sign In Checklist to clean towels - yet it does state that if any towels/linens are beyond cleaning or repair the Guest will be charged for them. This same reviewer was with the other party who turned in provided towels that were completely ruined and that is why they were charged $65.00.
Again, our GM is NOT named Margaret - she did confront these Guests who should NOT have been staying as the Unit is only allowed a maximum of 10 Guests, not the 15 or more that were trying to sneak in. This was discovered because the allowed Guests were opening the locked pool gate to let more people in to the pool and these people did not have a key because they were not allowed that many Guests.
Lastly, there were no drugs or fireworks that woke them up at 2:00 AM, however, there was a power outage on the island and it was dark for about 5 hours - this was the only inconvenience they were exposed to at our complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The service was terrible, the rooms smelled like fish and it was not properly clean. Also they charged forma some bracelets they did not informes con their guidelines.

Alzó the wifi they provided did not worked properly and the Phone was not working.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RolandoGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
We cannot find any records of when this person stayed with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in 208, and the condo was a treat! Fully equipped with EVERYTHING we needed! It was a beautiful 2bd + 2bath with a beautiful view of the pool and the Gulf! The pool is heated, the hot tub is sizzling, and both are very well maintained! The beach is large and equipped with 2 volleyball nets. We were very impressed with the staff and we were treated very well. My wife really appreciated the hospitality of Terri, the GM. We highly recommend giving this place a try!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bfb3wg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review!
We work diligently to provide the best Beachfront Condos on South Padre, so glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to serving your vacation needs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed a week in unit 206 in late January 2014. The unit was exactly as advertised and had a perfect view of the ocean. The kitchen was perfect as were the beds and bathrooms. Walked the beach everyday and went paddling in the lagoon. Very laid back atmosphere and friendly people. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask when the rooms where renovated as I have heard some are not as modern as unit 206 was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayaker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your vacation!
We understand the importance of a well-stocked kitchen, comfy beds, and clean bathrooms to make your stay the best it can be.
We look forward to your return visit to South Padre and Suntide II Condominiums!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 32 in South Padre Island
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suntide III Condominiums
Suntide III Condominiums
#1 of 35 in South Padre Island
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
#4 of 35 in South Padre Island
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
Tiki Vacation Condominiums
#11 of 35 in South Padre Island
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Condos
Continental Condos
#19 of 35 in South Padre Island
9 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater Condominiums 302
Edgewater Condominiums 302
#9 of 35 in South Padre Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide II Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide II Resort Condominiums

Property: Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Address: 4400 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7316
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suntide II Resort Condominiums is perfect for a Family Vacation, or Couples Getaway. Relax on the pristine beaches, take a sandcastle lesson, kiteboard, go on a dolphin tour, or just kick back at our heated outdoor pool w/jacuzzi and separate sun deck. All Suntide II Resort Condominiums have a panoramic unobstructed view of South Padre's Beaches from a large private balcony where you can enjoy your morning cup of coffee while watching the amazing sunrises! Suntide II 2BD/2BA, 3BD/2BA, 3BD/3BA Condos are tastefully decorated with fully-stocked Kitchens w/Breakfast Bar, Dining area, Living Area and are 30 yds from the most beautiful beach, the South Padre Island Gulf Coast. Our on-site Office Staff is available to make certain you have the BEST Beach Vacation ever! We also offer On-site Daily Linen/Towel exchange. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suntide Ii Resort Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island
Suntide II Resort Condominiums South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing