We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suntide II Resort Condominiums
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Tigerpawtx said it well.

I just checked in and it looks exactly like the pictures but It definitely lacks freshness & cleanliness.

The office and overall facilities are very dated but my biggest issue is the cleanliness. The floors were obviously mopped, but still had little bits of debris on them. The sheets were fresh but all the blankets smelled musty/dirty. The lampshades & fixtures were dusty. The glass on the tabletops is streaked & had glass rings left from the previous occupant. Plus the garbage disposal was STINKY. Overall it is very disappointing.

Based upon our first evening at this condo, I would not rent it again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We are sorry you felt that there were cleaning issues with the Condo - however, we DO wish that you would have advised our Front Office of any issues upon Check In as we have onsite housekeeping from 9:00 am - 5:00 pm 7 days a week and would have sent housekeeping to your Condo to "make it right."
We take every/any complaint very seriously and will alert Management to your review.
Many Guests choose Suntide II year over year to enjoy their Beach Vacation, we can only hope you will give us a 2nd chance!
Toni Munzesheimer
Rentals Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have visited South Padre Island every summer for the last 5 years and this place is definitely our favorite. Condo was beautifully decorated and had absolutely everything we could possibly need. The management was awesome!! I have seen complaints, but everyone there was so good to us. We even locked ourselves out the first night after the office had closed (after only being there for about an hour)..we paged the on call maintenance guy and he was there in 15 minutes and was so nice and just kept apologizing for it taking him so long?? The view is perfect. The ONLY complaint i might have is that we used the Beach Service for that area and since they have to keep in withing the property lines, the area just out front gets pretty crowded...where down the way there is hardly anyone. We usually stay elsewhere and the closest group is usually quite far away...here, there were rows of people..but still very nice! We plan to stay here again next year for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review - so glad you enjoyed your stay at Suntide II.
We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a very basic condo, and the best part is the beach view. It is right on the beach, with excellent views and no other buildings obstructing the view. The walk to the beach from the condo is very short. Beach was clean. Our unit was spacious and furnished ok, but smelled musty. The drinking glasses had fingerprints all over them and were spotty. The first spoon that I picked up out of the drawer was dirty. There were crumbs in the silverware tray. I started my vacation by loading up the dishwasher and rewashing everything. The condo pool is very small. It easily became crowded with just 2 families using it. The office is only open from 9 am - 4pm, so if you need something after hours, you are out of luck. The office is small, cluttered and reminded me of the 1980s. While in the office I heard a manager scolding a staff person, in front of several customers, which was very awkward. If you want your $200 cash deposit back immediately at the end of your stay, you can wait in this dated office while they check to make sure you followed their rules. Rules such as remove all sheets and place in pile, remove all towels and place in pile, take out all your own trash, start dishwasher and make sure no dirty dishes in sink, etc. I felt like I was checking out of a college dorm, not a vacation resort. Overall I felt that the cost was too high for the dorm-like rules and mediocre customer service. Next time I will probably try to pay a little more to stay at a real resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigerpawtx t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We regret that you were disappointed in our complex.
We will look into this situation immediately and make any necessary changes/adjustments.
Please know that we take every complaint to heart and can only promise to make your next stay more enjoyable, if given the chance!
*Please do note the Guest Review right below yours; some Guests are quite pleased with our complex so again all we can say is we hope you would give us another chance to show you what the majority of our Guests experience!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

During May, my wife and I spent a week in room 106 at Sun Tide II. It was great!!!

We have been coming to Sun Tide II off and on for around 20 years and prior to us, my in laws began coming when it was first built. We had always stayed at room 305.

Sun Tide II and South Padre Island are our paradise and during our 40+ years of involvement there has been ups and downs with the management. With this trip, we were extremely pleased with the current management team. Their friendliness and support during a misunderstanding situation was outstanding.

We are so excited by the current team and plan on continuing our relationship with our paradise for hopefully another 40 + years

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you SO much for your wonderful review of our Complex and Staff!
We can't thank you enough for taking the time to post such positive comments.
So wonderful to have such loyal Guests who visit us year after year.
Looking forward to yoru next stay at Suntide II.
Toni Munzesheimer
Rentals Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My family of 5 just returned from a 3 night stay here. We liked it. Close to the beach, fully furnished 2 bedroom and awesome views of the beach. Since we went during early June, it was crowded at times at the pool. I would recommend this place to families, as Suntide has showers as you enter from the beach to wash off the sand. It was kinda awkward having to walk through someones patio area to get to the beach. I am not sure if I would stay on the first floor because of this. Also, if you have a napping baby/toddler I would recommend it either. We stayed on the 5th floor and loved the peace. We never heard any noise..except the sounds of the waves at night.

Oh..one piece of advise I would give is make sure your kids have water shoes as they walk to to beach. The sand heats ups and its pretty uncomfortable. We had to carry our toddler. Have fun and enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

So glad you had a great family vacation at Suntide II.
We appreciate your feedback; please note that there is a Walkway or Beach access "bridge" on the East side of our complex that is available to all Guests of Suntide II to use instead of going through the hot sand. Many times in the summer, that sand is hot enough to burn little feet, so we do suggest you use the Beach Access whenever possible.
The 1st floor of our Complex is usually rented by families w/small children as it is so much easy to get to the Beach/Pool, etc., without having to navigate stairs or the elevator.
The 5th floor is our "penthouse" level and is great for really getting away from it all and not having to hear anything but the waves crashing.
We hope you will return soon......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just finished a wonderful Memorial Day weekend in South Padre at the Suntide II. The Suntide II has a number of nice qualities and some others travelers should be aware of in advance. We stayed in unit 502. Being on the 5th floor was great. You could not ask for a better view of the ocean from the master bedroom and the balcony, which is also wonderfully spacious. The unit was large and equip with large flat screen TVs in every room and a great dining room table. The beach access was amazing and warm showers greet you on your way back up to the building. What was less impressive was the customer service and some of the condo policies. Having to pay $200 in cash as a damage deposit made me feel like a irresponsible college student. We were traveling with two small children and were not allowed to check in until we paid the cash so after a six hour car ride we immediately had to pack up the kids again and go find an ATM before we received our keys. Travelers are also required to remove their own sheets and take out their trash prior to departure. Guests can not leave until their unit has been inspected so you have to pack up your family and then wait in the front until your unit is inspected. I don't have a problem doing these types of activities in the name of affordability, but this place seemed a bit costly for the level of service. The rental agreement also makes it clear that things like AC may not work and if they don't, you are out of luck, no discounts, no refunds. Our AC worked great, but I can't imagine a vacation in August with no AC and no effort to help. Finally, we recommend bringing your own bedding. The master bed mattress is soft and lumpy and would not cut it for anyone with a back issue. The towels and pillows are paper thin and the comforter is the type that probably doesn't get washed much. I was so glad we brought our own pillow because the unit pillows would have been awful to sleep on.
All and all, no regrets about our stay at Suntide II but we will probably try somewhere else on our next trip to South Padre.

Room Tip: Liked the fifth floor, imagine the first floor would be very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CaliTex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Guest Relations Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

In response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay on the 5th floor; The panoramic views of the Beach from the Master Bedrooms really are breathtaking!
As for the other areas you mentioned, we do feel the need to clarify exactly what our Terms & Conditions state so other Guests will have all the facts:
We notify every Guest before arrival that they will need to pay, in CASH, a $200 Damage Deposit upon Check In.
This is done verbally when a Guest books over the phone, via our Website when a Guest books online, AND every Guest receives a Confirmation email stating this once again, when the Condo is reserved.
Refundable Damage Deposit
“We require a $200 damage deposit in CASH only, for all rentals, due upon check-in. This damage deposit is refundable only AFTER an inspection of the condo unit has been conducted upon checkout and unit passes inspection. Please allow us up to 1 hour to perform the inspection. If you are unable to wait, or if you check-out before 9:00 A.M., our accounting office will mail you a refund check within 10 working days.”

Some Guests either forget or simply prefer not to travel w/that much cash; there is a conveniently located ATM for them to use to be able to pay the Damage Deposit upon Check In. Every Guest is asked for the Damage Deposit and actually there are some Condos on the Island who require up to $500 CASH only Damage Deposit – we rarely have any instances of broken or missing items and more often than not are refunding the full amount. We consider this traveling home expense money.
Important: Our Guests are NOT required to stay or wait around during the Check Out Inspection; they are free to leave anytime and some Guests actually Check Out quite early in the morning. You’ll see above that our Policy allows for us to send the Damage Deposit refund even after you arrive home if that is more convenient for you.
Suntide II’s check-out requirements are standard in keeping with other resort condominiums. The removal of linens from the beds to be piled with the towels is normal check-out procedure, as is the removal of all waste from garbage receptacles in the units.

Our Policy regarding Air Conditioning actually states:
“We make every effort to keep each unit and its equipment in good working order, and to make repairs as soon as possible when we are notified of a problem. No refund or rate adjustment will be made for mechanical failures, such as air conditioning, television or appliances.”
While it is quite rare for Air Conditioning to malfunction or go out completely, if this does occur we make every reasonable accommodation possible so that our Guests do not experience too much discomfort.

Although we never like to hear that a Guest is not satisfied 100% with our Amenities, some areas such as mattresses, pillows, etc. are subjective. If a Guest is not pleased with anything in their Condo upon arrival, we encourage them to notify our Office Staff as soon as possible, not wait until after their trip is over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Suntide II was very accommodating for our stay before during and after booking. The condo was extremely comfortable and well equipped. More than enough dishes and glasses and cookware to accommodate a family of 6. The pool was great for a nice swim to cool off and great beach access. Decor was nice, beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows. Condo was neat and tidy, some areas could of used a spring cleaning but clean for the most part. Loved the balcony to sit and enjoy the sunrise and watching the surf. When we needed staff they were very prompt, courteous and helpful. We also had a light bulb burn out and the staff were there right away to fix it and they left us with a spare to be proactive. Didn't have any issues that weren't addressed to our satisfaction. Definitely would come back to stay here and would recommend it to others. Just wanted to say thank you to Terry, Homer and all the staff for great customer service.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, the view of the sunrise and the beach was great and very quiet floor. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmunz, Manager at Suntide II Resort Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your stay, you even included pictures - Great!
We strive to satisfy every Guest 100% and are overjoyed when a Guest has been so completely satisfied that they promise to make a return trip.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Padre Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Wanna Wanna Inn
Wanna Wanna Inn
#15 of 32 in South Padre Island
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#1 of 32 in South Padre Island
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suntide III Condominiums
Suntide III Condominiums
#1 of 35 in South Padre Island
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
Seabreeze 1 Condominiums
#4 of 35 in South Padre Island
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Condos
Continental Condos
#22 of 35 in South Padre Island
9 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater Condominiums 302
Edgewater Condominiums 302
#12 of 35 in South Padre Island
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide II Resort Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide II Resort Condominiums

Address: 4400 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597-7316
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > South Padre Island
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Speciality Lodging in South Padre Island
Price Range: £148 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suntide II Resort Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suntide II Resort Condominiums is perfect for a Family Vacation, or Couples Getaway. Relax on the pristine beaches, take a sandcastle lesson, kiteboard, go on a dolphin tour, or just kick back at our heated outdoor pool w/jacuzzi and separate sun deck. All Suntide II Resort Condominiums have a panoramic unobstructed view of South Padre's Beaches from a large private balcony where you can enjoy your morning cup of coffee while watching the amazing sunrises! Suntide II 2BD/2BA, 3BD/2BA, 3BD/3BA Condos are tastefully decorated with fully-stocked Kitchens w/Breakfast Bar, Dining area, Living Area and are 30 yds from the most beautiful beach, the South Padre Island Gulf Coast. Our on-site Office Staff is available to make certain you have the BEST Beach Vacation ever! We also offer On-site Daily Linen/Towel exchange. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Suntide II Resort Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suntide Ii Resort Condominiums Hotel South Padre Island
Suntide II Resort Condominiums South Padre Island, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing