We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit, please don't forget to donate”

South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center is a voice for dolphins wild and free, we do not keep them in captivity. We do have DAILY BOAT tours to take you out to meet them. Our facility has touch tanks and marine exhibits to help all who visit understand how we can help save our oceans. Our boats still go to meet our dolphins when the large tours do not have enough people to go we go for just four people
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, please don't forget to donate”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

They are so friendly and in no way mention donations, but it really is for a good cause. It is a small place and not quite what were expecting. No dolphins to look at unless you go on the Dolphin watch for money. We couldn't because of timing but it looked promising.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    75
    24
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dolphin trip is an extra excursion”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We thought it was all together, but the sea life nature center was tanks of different fish. It was ok, but nothing special. The dolphin part was a paid tour and there were no dolphins at the center. We thought they were there, so somewhat disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank parisresale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spisealife, Manager at South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I don't think there is no where in the world you can see dolphin in captivity for a three dollar donation. Our facility supports wild and free dolphins, so a boat is the only way to see meet them and this way we can leave them with their families. Our facility is a voice for our dolphins to be wild and free, I am so sorry you were confused about this but hope that my photos and video helped you understand a little better how beautiful and happy they are in their own habitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing time! ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Scarlett was a true dolphin whisperer and she really knows the ocean and weather. We found so many beautiful dolphins, and they played with us and came up very close! I loved putting my feet into the water and petting her pig and dog. We all enjoyed the center, as well. She was very understanding of our tired, cranky kids. We played with the sea weed and loved to see the shrimp and crabs!

It is very very pricey, but my husband and I both agreed that it was well worth the money we spent, for someone who knows, loves, and respects these waters and critters, and the vast amount of knowledge she had to offer. We will definitely return for many more voyages with Scarlett!

Helpful?
1 Thank CeeCee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spisealife, Owner at South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
It was great having you aboard. Our 25.00 price per person up to six people is really not too pricey for private tour. We are very happy to keep it at this low price so many can enjoy a private tour with our dolphins in the wild over the many many larger tours. And thank you for supporting our non profit which is always there for any dolphin or creature that needs our help. I know your family had such a beautiful experience and I will always remember you and your beautiful children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd time their will be a 3rd!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family that ranges from 75 to 5 love the research center! Great animals up close and a touch tank that even mom loves! Its free but they do ask for donations. The dolphin tour with Scarlet and her husband George does cost $25 per person. Worth every penny!! We have done two summers in a row and their will be a third. Family run and cares so much about the dolphins. We saw the entire family of dolphins at least 12 in contact with minimum 2 dolphins up to 7 for the entire hour!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marsalkold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great layover between excursions!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Our kids loved getting up close and personal with the animals. Domino, the tortoise, was really cool, and the parrots were another hit. They enjoyed seeing the fish in the tanks. Admission is $3 a person, and I believe it was a quick stop for a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeepnyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing