We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Scarlet, rozzy, and Penelope are true dolphin heros”

South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center is a voice for dolphins wild and free, we do not keep them in captivity. We do have DAILY BOAT tours to take you out to meet them. Our facility has touch tanks and marine exhibits to help all who visit understand how we can help save our oceans. Our boats still go to meet our dolphins when the large tours do not have enough people to go we go for just four people
1 review
“Amazing! Scarlet, rozzy, and Penelope are true dolphin heros”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My mother, my 2 kiddos and I all got the pleasure of going out and seeing the dolphins with scarlet as our guide. It was wonderful, and my kids found a new love for the sea and passion to protect these gorgeous creatures.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tcalliham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    76
    24
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Isabel, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun for Kids”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Took my grandson and he loved it. Was enjoyable to watch him ooh and ah over all he saw. Nice enjoyable to step out of the heat and have a little AC activity as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank haydensyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was the highlight of our family's trip. The owner took our family of six out for a fun, exciting, and educational tour. We interacted with five dolphins for almost an hour while also watching sea turtles, learning about the native birds, and hands-on observations of the sea weed and all the crab and shrimp that live within! Two days later, and all four teenagers are still excited about the experience. Their dedication to giving our daughter with special needs an experience she would never forget is so greatly appreciated. "We believe in dolphins!" Thank you for treating our family so well! I would highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neat place ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We only did the center, but really enjoyed it. My kids had a great time and loved all the animals. They expecially loved Domino the turtle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This is a MUST do!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you want to see dolphins up close, you need to go to the Seal Life Nature Center. We went out with Scarlett. She is very knowledgable and has been doing this for 20 years. There were only 5 passengers, which made it very nice and personal. The other dolphin watch boats seemed to follow Scarlett to the dolphins. She has named the dolphins and talks to them. It was a very fun and educational trip and well worth the time. I would highly recommend doing over going on one of the boats with a bunch of people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing