We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was so awesome and the girls had such a great learning experience here :) Price was great for the family to enter”

South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center is a voice for dolphins wild and free, we do not keep them in captivity. We do have DAILY BOAT tours to take you out to meet them. Our facility has touch tanks and marine exhibits to help all who visit understand how we can help save our oceans. Our boats still go to meet our dolphins when the large tours do not have enough people to go we go for just four people
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was so awesome and the girls had such a great learning experience here :) Price was great for the family to enter”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We loved the variety of sea life to view in habitat and the lessons the girls learned from listening to the staff tell all about them as we went through the center

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    76
    24
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Tour in the area”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We went on the Dolphin tour with Scarlet and Rizzoli. It was 4 adults and 2 toddlers. Scarlet was very knowledgeable and great with the kids. We saw more dolphins then I could count. The Dolphins seem to know her boat. I would definitely do it again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“MUST SEE MUST DO”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is the highlight of our trip!!! We arrived early before the dolphin tour so we viewed all the touch tanks and even a big turtle walking around in the floor!! Each dolphin tour seats 6 people per pontoon boat and it $25/person, last 1hr-1.5 hrs. My boat captain was Scarlett and she was VERY in touch with her inner dolphin, you will see if she's your captain. She sings and dancing for her dolphins to play and come out of the water. The tour was educational and on our trip was saw at least 20 dolphins that she counted, the played for us right next to the boat, jumping out of the water, following the boat, ridding directly in front of the boat just inches under the water!!!! It was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Best experience I've ever had on a vacation trip.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neverneverland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Learning”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Terrific learning center, and loved the touch tanks! Also, there was a giant turtle walking around that was really cool! Great place to visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank smac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tour of the facility was great”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We didn't take this tour for our dolphin tour but the non-profit facility was small, and very fun. My whole family enjoyed being able to hold some sea life, and walk around to see what native species we might see when we went on our tour the day after. My girls took such an interest in making sure that they followed directions when it came to holding the sea life, it was something that we will do every time we visit S. Padre.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tawna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Padre Island Dolphin Research & Sea Life Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing