We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorite places!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

After three years, we went back to this restaurant we had tried before. It was wonderful! The ambiance is great--oceanside (one of the few on the island). I had peel 'n eat shrimp, and the shrimp were colossal! Another in our party had the avocado burger, which he pronounced delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant for its food, service, and location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachnerd0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    122
    42
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Beachfront cafe with great views, outside seating, good food and good coffee, service with a smile. This has a wonderful location on the beach for a walk or swim. Casual dining, off street parking.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank paca1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, rustic setting, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We ate at this restaurant yesterday and loved it so much we came back today. Really wonderful food. We had grilled snapper yesterday - perfect. Today we had that great snapper in luscious tacos. It came with freshly made homemade chips. We had a total of three great margaritas, a side of delicious grilled zucchini, and the best key lime cheesecake I've ever had. The total bill was $39. Come before 6 for these good prices. Cool breezes and an ocean view made it a memorable last day here in SPI. Highly recommended! We came mid afternoon to get a good table. It's a small place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We learned about this restaurant thanks to Trip Advisor and loved it. It is small, quaint, has a great view and great food. The service was terrific and we enjoyed the grilled redfish and fried seafood basket. We loved the small size (maybe 12 small tables) and that it is not touristy.

After visiting the island for years and years, we found our new favorite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FWBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food for a beach restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Walked in off the beach, hosed the sand off our feet and enjoyed a late afternoon lunch of beer, grilled snapper sandwich and home fried chips. We'll definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank visitorAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing