We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the private tropical island feel!”

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love the private tropical island feel!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Please stop by for a visit I think you will be glad you did! Such a special feeling at this small quaint place. Food choices were about average as were prices. Service could have been better but we enjoyed the feel as if you are in the keys!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cahaden7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    126
    43
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and location”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We chose to dine here after reading reviews on trip advisor. The location was a little hard to find but once you are there it is right on the beach and has a very nice atmosphere. It has a small bar and not a large dining area but looks adequate for the area. The menu had some decent choices and we started the night with really delicious crab cakes and a very good garden salad. We then ordered the Red Snapper. My fish was slightly blackened as requested but was very rubbery. After a few bites I asked my wife about her filet and it was nicely cooked very white and flakey as you would expect. At any rate the filets were very large and we just shared her's which was plenty for both of us. In all fairness to the restaurant I did not complain as I know they would have offered another filet but we were in a hurry and could not eat anymore anyway. I would consider this restaurant again if I am in the area but there are a lot of other good options also on the island.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan93117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I had read the reviews and decided to try it. I pull into the parking lot thinking this can't be the place. The Palm Resort is a dump. Behind it is the Cafe. What a wonderful surprise. The reviews are right. Get the 8 shrimp and peel. Fantastic. Get the ice cream. Again fantastic. Service is a joy. Tomorrow I'm going there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual and fabulous ”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Exceeded my expectations. Delicious ahi tuna, perfectly prepared. Loved the laid back beachfront atmosphere and superb food

Helpful?
1 Thank Beccap58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauphin, MB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We chose Cafe on the Beach because it was close to our condo and had positive Trip Advisor ratings. My wife had the tortilla soup and shrimp tacos. I had the red snapper basket. Both were tasty and well prepared. We had the house red wine. It was good as well. The prices were all a bit higher than we have seen elsewere on the island but overall we were satisfied.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing