We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!”

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We ended up eating at the bar since there was a wait, but we had great service and were able to easily talk to our party of five. The crab cakes, cravat salad, tortilla soup, fish tacos were delicious! So far it is the best food I have had on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    122
    43
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was good nothing that knocked my pallet to heaven. View was alright not great or awe there were some obstructions in the scenery. A bit over priced for the breakfast we had. Tried it because it had high reviews on trip adviser. I think it should be lower on the ratings but that is my opinion try it for yourself and find out for yourself.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I'm so sorry we didn't send your pallet to heaven because that is our goal every time. If you have time, please let us know what you had so we can investigate. We work very hard to delight every customers with outstanding food and great service....and a breathtaking view of the Gulf of Mexico....every time. There aren't any buildings, trees or other obstructions between us and the beach, so I can't imagine what might have been blocking your view.

Please give us a call (956-761-1316) and ask for Katherine (our Resort Manager). She would love to receive your specific feedback so we can investigate. I hope you'll come back and let us try to "send your pallet to heaven" next time!

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Sweet surprise!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Palm hotel for 3 nights based on a friends recommendation. Glad we did - what a great location - and great value.

We enjoyed 3 meals at the Cafe while there and each was terrific. HH margaritas were good - and gotta try the turbo piña coladas! Staff was fun (Celina and crew) and service was great.

We loved our Eggs Benedict and and Migas breakfast.

We will be back.



Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful secret on the island...”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Our server Celina recommended the seafood enchilada w/ tortilla soup, instead of my usual Veracruz style fish, with beachfront salad. She was not kidding!
The chef Luis came and explained the dish! Wow, the taste, texture and authenticity!
Delicious! But don't tell anyone, it only serves like 30 people at once...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank framal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weslaco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a very quaint little restaurant. Open air seating, small bar, nice family place, beautiful Gulf view. The food was just okay. My family is into food, so we have very high expectations. The only thing that wowed us were the homemade potato chips. Those were awesome! The rest was just so-so.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing