We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique dining experience in padre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shrimp Haus

Shrimp Haus
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Shrimp Haus Restaurant features gulf views and great food. With 101 ways to eat shrimp, plus steaks, seafood, burgers, pizzas and more, all served in a family-friendly environment, the Shrimp Haus is well-known for its diverse, reasonably priced menu. Boasting the Island's best margaritas and featuring live entertainment most evenings, the Shrimp Haus is open year-round. Located adjacent to the Schlitterbahn Beach Resort and Waterpark, the restaurant caters to a wide array of guests. Signature dishes include Coconut Fried Shrimp, Lobster Burritos and Fried Ice Cream.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
214 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience in padre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is Schlitterbahns restaurant located in the park. The food is very good and of course they specialize in all varieties of shrimp cooking. They have a huge salad bar and also serves mixed drinks. This place is usually not busy due to its location on the end of the island. It is worth a try especially if shrimp is your passion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Russell,
Thanks for the review of the Shrimp Haus and glad you enjoyed yourself!

Fresh, local caught shrimp may be our specialty, but as you noted we also sport one of the largest salad bars on the Island, serve burgers, steaks, pizzas and sandwiches in an environment that is family friendly and overlooking the Gulf of Mexico....and yes, you can get your favorite "adult beverage" too!

Even during the waterpark's busier summer season, the Shrimp Haus has it's own parking and waterpark admission is not required to enjoy the restaurant. Guests can even sit outside if they wish on our large 2nd floor deck and enjoy the seabreeze or catch some of the action below on our world-famous inland body surfing ride, the Boogie Bahn.

Hope to see you down again real soon!

Thanks,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    48
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good food and price are reasonable. The water park was not open so few people go there but their food are really good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for the kind words about the good food and glad you enjoyed yourselves.

People from all over the country are discovering the variety of offerings we have in addition to dozens of shrimp options.

We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Rude waitress, but good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Heard a lot of good things about it and the coconut shrimp was just so good ! But our waitress Maira wasn't very friendly she didnt look like she enjoyed being there she just made our vusit uncomfortable

Helpful?
Thank Brianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Shrimp Haus experience and yes, the coconut shrimp is something that has become a favorite of many of our Guests and is one of our specialites!

I am disappointed in your interaction with one of your staff as we pride ourselves on going above and beyond and exceeding Guest expectations. The experience you had is something we take very seriously and I sincerely appreciate you bringing it to my attention.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and if you are looking to try something new next time, may I suggest our Pecan Crusted Shrimp or Shrimp Enchiladas next time? mmmmm,good!

Thanks again,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
272 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant with high expectations in that it has Schlitterbahn's name attached to it and I have always liked Schlitterbahn products and attractions, but this one didn't meet the mark. For the prices you would expect better food. Everyone in our party agreed and we all had something different so it wasn't just a particular dish. In fact my son who had the shrimp pizza said Dairy Queen would have been better. How can you screw up a pizza?

Helpful?
Thank lowemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. Sorry you didn't not enjoy your meal more as we always strive to exceed Guest expectations, not simply just meet them. We hope you are able to come again and try many of the diverse options we offer and review again.

Thanks,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience for Cold Weather”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We decided to stop by the Shrimp Haus on one of the coldest days last week. Service was very good, they even had heaters setup to take a bite out of the cold. Friendly staff, good food selection. We had the Po'boys (I had shrimp and fish, my wife had fish, shrimp and oyster).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpgrailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Manager at Shrimp Haus, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks for the review and nice comments.....quite a few of our Canadian friends have been posting reviews lately and we appreciate each and every one...

Yes, we did experience a much colder winter than normal (even if it is a heat wave compared to the Canadian temperatures), and we do what we can to enhance the customer experience.

We look forward to your next visit and if you are Winter Texans, safe travels until we see you again next fall!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shrimp Haus also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Shrimp Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing