We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanna-Wanna Beach Bar & Grill

Wanna-Wanna Beach Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

`On our recent trip to the island, we ate a couple of snacks and had a few drinks at Wanna-Wanna beach bar and grill. We ate there on our last trip to SPI and it was fine then too. I had a pina colada and it was 10 bucks which was a little steep but the food is very reasonably priced. There is plenty of seating and it leads right out to the beach. Plus, there is a little family of cats that lives by the bar and they are fun to watch! I will eat there again next time I visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mietzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    118
    49
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Walk Up From The Beach And Relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Love this place. Right on the beach. From almost anywhere on the beach you are lounging or playing you can walk to the Wanna Wanna, a South Padre legend. Cold beer, a signature drink (The Wanna Wanna), excellent burgers, and a perfect relaxed setting right on the beach. What more could you want?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A little bit of Buffett”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ate a lunch at Wanna-Wanna and I must say we had a great time. The food was excellent and the experience was well worth it. We ate over looking the beach and just envisioned a Jimmy Buffett experience. Every one we talked to that day raved about Wanna-Wanna and I must say I am now a Fan.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NRGswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Restful after being on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The breeze through this covered, outside bar/grill was sooooo nice after being in the sun on the beach. We enjoyed some drinks. There is beer and only like 4 specialty drinks. Our friend had the one that had an 'extra shot of dark rum' and was along the lines of a pinacolada drink. He said it was the best pinacolada he had ever had. My husband and I shared a fried shrimp basket and the shrimp was delicious. We saw signs about beach chair/umbrella rental, very reasonable. Bands play some nights. It isn't very large.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JebTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“typical beach bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

ate there twice and was disappointed both times. had overcooked fried shrimp the first time and a hamburger with no taste the second time

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mickeymom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wanna-Wanna Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Wanna-Wanna Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing