We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh Taste but a bit pricey for what you got”

Daddy's Seafood & Cajun Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TEXAS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fresh Taste but a bit pricey for what you got”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

First time there. Ordered Oyster Poboy sandwich with fries. about $11 with a water. Nothing huge or fancy. A little pricey for what it was as most poboys are about 3-4 $$s cheaper elsewhere. Their house sauce was pretty awesome though and I have never tasted it so we bought a bottle for $8.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cthtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    173
    87
    37
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Daddy's has been a regular of ours for years. The shrimp etoufee is awesome, though either the chef or recipe has changed, as the last visit, it was too spicy for my wife to eat. I, on the other hand, found the new flavor to be outstanding. The fried foods are always crisp without too much absorbed grease, and very tasty. Still a regular for us after all these years.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh and good value.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Daddy's turned out to be our favorite restaurant for lunch seafood. Has free Wifi also. Good varieties of fresh fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie_Czerniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Cool Place to Eat”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We visited Daddy's while on a fishing weekend in South Texas. Believe it or not, you can bring your fresh catch into the restaurant and Daddy's will prepare your fish to your order. Our group brought about five pounds of filets in and had half of them fried, the other half blackened. You get a side dish for each pound of fish they prepare. So, the fish was fresh, the sides were good, and the beer was cold. A great way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amabc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Daddys is delicious!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The wait staff is very friendly and are great at suggesting plates. I had the Almondine fish it was delicious I really enjoyed my plate. My husband had a burger and he was not disappointed the meat was very juicy and the fries very nice and crispy. We had 1lb of Cajun steamed shrimp for appetizers, and oh my goodness they are too die for, the seasoning has a nice kick! Overall we had a nice meal at an affordable price with great wait staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gladys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daddy's Seafood & Cajun Kitchen also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Daddy's Seafood & Cajun Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing