We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected, will return often!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi Chula's

Mi Chula's
Ranked #28 of 154 Restaurants in Southlake
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, will return often!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place looks like a sit-down restaurant from the outside, but it's not! It's counter service, kinda like Pei Wei, but Mexican food. Good Mexican food. REALLY good Mexican food.

I had enchiladas - excellent! My kid had quesadillas, he loved them. My husband had the wild boar tacos and wanted to go back the next day. The mojito was excellent. We all left happy and ready to return. It's now on our list of local places to drop in to for a quick meal.

Give it a try! It's really good Mexican food, highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ElNorEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
1 review
“Restaurant review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Food is fresh but not served at an appetizing temperature. Very prompt and gracious service.
I ordered Tortilla soup and found it very uninteresting and bland. The salsa and chips are nice but do not have an authentic taste.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lake88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyd, Texas
Level Contributor
211 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not Worth Your Time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Not what I expected, this is more like a fast food restaurant than anything else. You order at the register when you enter, given a number and drink cup to get your own drink, unless it is beer. The chips and, wonderful, dip is brought to the table, when your food is ready it is also brought to you. We had the Enchiladas, one beef and one cheese, with New Mexico Red Chile Sauce, rice, black beans, it was good, but for the price, not that good. The atmosphere was very Spartan would I go back, NO, not worth the money, two meals and two beers over $35.00.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B52Gunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Mi Chula's has to be one of the BEST midrange Mexican restaurant! First of all, you order your meal at counter and they deliver your food to your table. They do not offer full table service.

What they don't offer in table service, they make up in many areas. 1) Friendly -- this is one of the most friendly restaurants I have EVER been at. 2) Quality food and drink. I have NEVER had a bad meal at this place. They also have fantastic margaritas (both frozen and on the rocks!) They have a varied and large Tex-Mex menu that we have not bored of...

They deliver the food quickly to your table, hot and is as good as many higher end Mexican restaurants. This is a no fuss and no drama kinda place that makes your meal enjoyable with the family and friends. The décor is comfortable and clean. They have an outdoor patio that is also nice to sit when the weather permits.

My only compliant is that it get noisy when it fills up, which is the case in most restaurants that don't have noise reducing curtains or walls.

As the title indicates above --- you can not go wrong with this restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very good food, a little pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with other reviews. The food is very good, from the fish tacos to the tortilla soup to the salads. The salsa and thin, non-greasy chips are excellent. But it's also true that for the price we paid, it's more of a sit-down place. We had a group of 5 and a round table would have been nice for conversation. For some reason, the chairs also left me feeling very short as the table came up to chest level. Leaves the impression you're a 5 year old. Booths and outside eating areas don't seem to have this issue. All in all, we would go back again. Quite a few families there, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Chula's also viewed

 

Been to Mi Chula's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing