We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, but hard to find. Find it, it is worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicewood Vineyards

Spicewood Vineyards
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Spicewood
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but hard to find. Find it, it is worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Our GPS could not locate County Road 409, on which this place is located.

Fortunately, we had directions that said SH71 to CR408 to CR409. After crossing over a half dozen cattle guards, we arrived.

Beautiful grounds, nice facilities, and a laid back atmosphere made for a comfortable visit. The owners themselves visited with us and made us feel welcome. The wines were great, although in preferred the reds to the whites; no surprise there.

We tools home a few bottles and look forward to returning.

Hard to find, but worth the search.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is our favorite Texas vineyard and we've been to a lot of them. A little hard to find but worth it. If you reach the end of 409 you've gone too far.

Unpretentious. Just great wine very reasonabvly priced. Nice outside spaces to sit and enjoy the quiet and the wine. Ask for the merlot. It is to die for!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience Every Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I've always had great experiences at Spicewood every time I've gone there. The reds are above average, the setting is gorgeous, the cheese plate is plentiful and the people are kind and inviting. I've gone there twice when it was one hour left until closing and both times I stayed past closing because of the great conversations I've had with the staff. My brothers and I range from novice to knowledgeable concerning wine and they made us feel very welcomed. The tasting counter is a fun experience, but grabbing a $5 glass of your favorite and chilling out on their patio overlooking the vineyard is where it's at. Their $12.50 cheese plate doesn't offer any hard to find cheeses, but it features a lot of variety and a ton of cheese. It doesn't leave you thinking you paid 12 bucks for three bites of cheese, that's for sure. I feel like I've made a new friend every time I leave Spicewood because the staff enjoys what they're doing and they're more than happy to share the joy with you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Won't bother making the trip out again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Our hostess giving the tour just read the description off the menu to us, and flirted inappropriately to one of her co-workers the entire time.
The wine was boring, and I felt like I wasted my entire day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A nice little surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just off 71, passing by free range cattle is this quaint little I vineyard and tasting room. I was pleasantly surprised by these local wines. No, it's not Napa but, definitely worth a trip into the wilderness.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spicewood Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Spicewood Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing