We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major disappointment ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Stephenville
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I agonized over how to review this place.
Rate it a five? Never.
Four? Naw.
Maybe a three is where the story begins.
Our family was in town attending a college event.
Searching for an economical alternative, I found the ABVI.
Made my reservation on their corporate website.
Upon arrival, we were assigned a room a the back of the property.
After enduring a night loaded with noisy neighbors and someone grilling outside their room, we came to discover that this is a section where a rougher, regular crowd typically is housed.
I called the front desk to complain and they succeeded in quieting the outside noise only by moving the party indoors!
I complained the next morning again and never received as much as even a basic apology. All I was told was that they had no rooms available to move us to.
Apparently the front desk clerk heard my wife and I discussing our dissatisfaction and we were ultimately offered a room change, which we accepted.
There property is old and rough around the edges and some places in between. Basic maintenance is lacking in many areas in the room and bathroom. Outside railings needed a good deal of sprucing up. The landscaping around the pool was overgrown and littered. The pool itself was dirty. One day we walked over to look at the pool and several drunkards were swimming and hanging about. I would not allow my kids to swim there.
The impression I got was that this was the type of crowd they cater to.
The "continental" breakfast was fairly stale and uninspired as well.
Yes, you get what you pay for so, I will not pay for a room here again.


Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank texowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn- Stephenville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is the third time we have stayed here. The rooms have always been very clean and neat on arrival. We have never had a bad smelling room here. I have found the beds are quite comfortable. I always have issues of restful sleep in other hotels across the country, but Stephenville ABVI I enjoy. Breakfast consists of coffee, fruits, cereals (dry),milk,waffle maker,sweet rolls and toast. The wifi is not the fastest but you can get around. This stay had us in a distant room. The wifi was much better this time than previous stays at closer proximity to lobby. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant next door named "Peacocks". Very affordable with good tasting menu. Open 24 hrs.

Room Tip: All rooms very quiet. This stay #39 near end across from pool wifi was the best so far. 3 bars.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

You can tell it's an older property but maintained very well and the rooms are clean and cozy, the bathtub could be updated some and the exhaust fan was a little noisy in Rm 25 but not a deal breaker. Very friendly desk clerks at Check in and Check out. We normally stay at Best Westerns and since this property used to be a Best Western I chose it because of that. It took us all of 5 minutes to get to the College which was a big plus and the rate was very reasonable. We didn't eat the breakfast cause it wasn't the Hot Breakfast we are normally used to when staying at Best Westerns but since this is no longer that Hotel chain might explain the limited selections on the Breakfast Bar, there were the waffles but no eggs or gravy or sausage like I had read about in other reviews. But on the upside we ate Dinner and Breakfast at the 24 Hour Restaurant that is literally in the parking lot which serves some really awesome food and possibly the Best Breakfast I have ever ate and they have a sign out front that states just that, The Restaurant is Peacocks and I highly suggest it.

Back to the room, The rooms were quiet and the Wifi was awesome and the room heater worked very well. Will stay there again for sure

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickie Massey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Good value, room was very clean, and quiet. I have stayed in Stephenville many times and this was the second time staying at this hotel. I had trouble with the wi fi but not a big deal to me. Credit card machine was down on arrival , but person at desk took all information and I went to my room. When credit card machine came back up my credit card was run with no problem.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I usually stay at high dollar hotels, but with this being a small town and homecoming weekend I was sure I was going to have a terrible experience.
We arrived at the hotel at 4:00 from a long 5 hour drive. I room's were ready and clean.
The front desk girl on this day was very helpful in getting us directions to the stadium. (which was only 3 minutes away).
They provided breakfast the next morning and it was good. It wasn't anything to write home about. but they had biscuits and gravy, sausage, and pastries and eggs and cereal.
Coffee, juice, and milk as well.
It was very quite at night, and we didn't have any issues with our room.
I would stay here again in the event I needed it.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the rooms close to the office. It has better lighting.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJenkins1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stopped 1 night here. Great price, clean room, all conveniences: microwave , refrig. Lots of space for trailer parking. Next door to 24 hr restaurant. Friendly staff. Even has pens for your horse. Right on highway.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This motel had very clean rooms, new carpet, and friendly staff. It's a great value for the Stephenville area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephenville
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Stephenville
Super 8 Stephenville
#5 of 10 in Stephenville
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stephenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stephenville
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Stephenville
31 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hico Hills Inn
Hico Hills Inn
#2 of 2 in Hico
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Stephenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Stephenville

Address: 1625 W South Loop, 377 Bypass, Stephenville, TX 76401-5007
Region: United States > Texas > Stephenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Price Range: £44 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Stephenville 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Stephenville, Texas hotel offering convenient access to the Fossil Rim Wildlife Park, the Lone Star Arena and Tarleton State University. Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn Cross Timbers, a pet-friendly hotel providing convenient access to a variety of central Texas attractions. This Stephenville area hotel boasts 49 well-appointed guest rooms and suites each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to enjoy a host of amenities including a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, limited business services and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Stephenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stephenville
Stephenville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing