We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Junky Motel and crooks to boot” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Stephenville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Stephenville
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Odessa, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Junky Motel and crooks to boot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

This place is a disaster, especially for the price. The room smelled like mildew, and was far from clean. Then when I booked, I asked about checking out early, and they said I would not have to pay for a nights stay if I checked out that morning. Well they lied. I stayed 3 nights but paid for 5. I was down there for work, and was not sure how long I would be there, so I booked 2 extra days just in case. Do not stay at this motel!!!! You can find a much nicer place for the same money in Stephenville if you check around.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannydugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    4
    1
    10
See reviews for
8
4
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

We were in Stephenville for a family reunion which we have had for many years. We have always stayed at this motel because it's location is best to be near our reunion hall.

First of all, the room smelled like urine. We were told that there were no other rooms available due to full capacity. I have a hard time believing this as there were never that many vehicles in the parking lot--even at night.

Secondly, just about everything needs to be upgraded or replaced. The sheets on my bed were so worn that you could practically see through them. The mattress was old and offered no support. One mattress had exposed stains and a Marriott label--obviously purchased used from Marriott.

The blanket on my bed had cigarette holes burned through it and was extremely rough fabric. The towels and washcloths were stained and also very rough.

The table had a leg that fell off. Next to the table was a standing lamp with no outlet to plug it in! Several lamp shades had tears in them.

There were spider webs and spiders in the room. I killed one large jumping kind and believe me that was not fun.

This is a prime example of ripping customers off. This last stay was the worst and I would never stay at a Days Inn again if they allow motels such as this.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangsuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stephenville hotels

Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Called by phone to get block of rooms for girls softball team. After at least 3 of us had called and made reservations they said that they did not have any reservations for us or our team we all called back and redid the reservations and then it happened a second time which we all called back and did the reservation thing a 3rd time.. The apologized repeated for having trouble with their computer system. The week before our stay the team decided to not go to the tournament. We all called and cancelled out reservations.. and again complained about their troubled system and did not provide us with a cancellation number but good assurances that it would be taken care of...but apparently they had multiple reservations for some of us that weekend and when they cancelled our reservation they still had another one in their troubled system or they flat just didn't do it. So we were charged for this room, allegedly because we did not cancel our reservation. After much discussion with the staff it appears that they do not care if they make mistakes or charge other people for their errors. My girls team travels every other weekend, so we know the drill. I and my team will never stay in this hotel or any Days Inn ever. I do not support dishonest people. If I had failed to cancel the reservation I would gladly pay for the room. But I cancelled the room and was charged anyway. Since they feel their mistakes are mine I had to pay which I equate to stealing. Look out for this place.. find an honest establishment.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoftballCoach12u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira Mesa, San Diego
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

Isolated from city businesses, good place for fun and business, friendly staff, clean rooms. Would highly recommend with family. Did not hike prices during hurricane rather accomodated needy evacuees with warm hearts. Manager Mrs. Boggs provided the best hospitality.

  • Liked — Extremely friendly and profefssional stall, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No good restaurant on premises
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chhokri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, TX
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2008

It was horrible. The rooms, staff, brerakfast, EVERYTHING!! DONT stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cindyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2008

What a junk motel at an extreme price for what's offered. This is what I've found in most College towns, they don't have to offer any more.

They had my secured and paid reservation in hand and followed none of my requirements, typical.

I can go North to I-40, or West on I-20 and find a motel that's clean and very comfortable for almost half the cost.

Dirty room, broken toilet, morning receptionist could not have cared less. I'll drive further or less, and drive in the extra distance back in if necessary-------should I go again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TexasTon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandview, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

I've stayed in Motel 6 better than this. This was a horrible room and extremely overpriced for the experience. To begin with, the lobby was tacky and shabby with exposed wiring visible from the front desk. Once in the room, the decor was also shabby and the finish was worn off much of the furniture, which had clearly seen better days - decades ago. When I attempted to heat water for tea with the coffeemaker, the water that came out was filled with chunks of some kind of white mineral-like material. After no less than 10 attempts to run more water through to hopefully clear it out, there were still hard white chunks in the water and I gave up. Then there was the toilet, which didn't flush with as much pressure as I'd have liked but I was okay with that - until it overflowed onto the carpet. Should have taken it as a big waving red flag when the plunger was already there waiting for me beside the stool. As I was preparing to leave, the stool overflowed again and I couldn't get the water to shut off. Then the door wouldn't latch. When I checked out I notified the front desk of the issues and they didn't even offer to discount my room for the inconvenience. Don't waste your money here.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank drsharna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stephenville
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stephenville
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stephenville
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stephenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Stephenville
Super 8 Stephenville
#5 of 10 in Stephenville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 10 in Stephenville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hico Hills Inn
Hico Hills Inn
#2 of 2 in Hico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Stephenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Stephenville

Property: Motel 6 Stephenville
Address: 701 South Loop, Hwy 377 & Hwy 281, Stephenville, TX 76401
Region: United States > Texas > Stephenville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Stephenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Stephenville 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Motel 6, Stephenville Tx.We are proud to announce that 100% of our rooms have been renovated to the “Phoenix” guestroom package. From wood style flooring, to 32” flat panel TV’s in every room, the Motel 6 Stephenville has the newest rooms in town. Enjoy a relaxing swim in our outdoor pool, with a cup of complementary coffee in the mornings. We also have a meeting room that can accommodate up to 50 people, with free wireless internet throughout the property.Not only does Motel 6 offer a clean and comfortable room at the lowest rate of any National chain, the Motel 6 in Stephenville offers the lowest rate with the newest, cleanest rooms of any economy lodging facility in town. When traveling through Stephenville, Texas, we hope you will give the newly renovated Motel 6 an opportunity to meet and exceed your lodging needs. You won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 Stephenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Stephenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing