We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B we've stayed at!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonewall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Hill Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Stonewall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best B & B we've stayed at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Rose Hill Manor this past weekend to visit some local wineries. Our experience was top-notch from start to finish. We we warmly greeted and given a brief personal tour. Stayed in the Lavender Suite in the main building. It was spacious and comfortable. Saturday morning, we had an early day's start but the chef graciously had fresh-baked goodies ready at 7:15 am! Wine selection is excellent. Setting is serene with a great view of stars at night. Four-course pre-fixe dinner with wine pairing was very good, but service was a bit ill-timed, and they overcharged us, with bonus truffles at meal's end. A pass for free wine tasting at Pedernales winery nearby was a nice touch. The only complaint is the constant background music: loud, droning, and intrusive. After two days, we wanted to scream! Aside from that, it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeP_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks for your comments re: your stay at Rose Hill Manor. We're sorry about the music - the staff is supposed to be monitoring that at all times, but we've had to have some more training on doing that. Glad you got to enjoy the stars at night and the walk to the winery. Thanks for choosing Rose Hill Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    10
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
144
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We drove all the way from Houston approx. 4 hour car ride just to dine at
Rose Hill Manor from a previous great experience we had had at the wine pairings. The food was meidocore, you could smell the salmon when you walked in and you shouldn't be able to smell good salmon. There was only one good wine pairing, the others didn't match good at all. The wine master was not informative and talkative like we had had before and which made the experience so good. The waitress overcharged us by $100 - was that an innocent mistake or purposefull? It was a horrible experience, we will not be returning. Sadly, this had been a rememberable experience in which we wanted to repeat. No so anymore.

Room Tip: If you only have one night to spend, they don't accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyRod2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your meal at Rose Hill. We had many guests that week who went out of their way to tell us how much they enjoyed the same meal and wine pairings. Rest assured that we are constantly working to find the freshest food and best wines for our guests, and that we will always do so. We will counsel and train the wait staff to give a more complete description of each wine pairing. We would never intentionally overcharge someone for anything, and thankfully you brought the error to the server's attention so that it could be corrected before you left the premises. We wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is not a top-rated inn without reason. It is a romantic get-away from the moment you enter the gorgeous property. The manor house is incredible, and the dinner we had there was amazing. Breakfast was outstanding. Our charming room was huge, with a sitting room and balcony overlooking the countryside. With a winery next door, what more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your kind evaluation. We're glad you found your romance at Rose Hill Manor. We've had lots of couples tell us over the years that they really enjoy having the time and the peace and quiet to spend with each other and re-connect, as our busy lives sometimes keep us going at a pretty fast pace. Thank you for choosing Rose Hill Manor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Accommodations were wonderful. We were in the Rosemary Cottage. It had a sunroom and a Veranda looking out on the pasture of newly mown hay, a lovely garden with dozens of humming birds darting back and forth.

Cottages were very convenient to the Manor. Instillation of boardwalks made transporting luggage and guests easy and safe.

Meals including the 4 course dinner were wonderful, far better than any we had in Fredricksburg.

It's location is central to vineyards, Perdinales Falls, the Johnson Ranch, peach orchards.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summer56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words re: your stay at Rose Hill Manor! We're glad you appreciated all that nature has to offer here in the middle of the hill country. Sometimes we get tired of the deer and the rabbits and the birds eating our landscaping, etc., but then we have to remind ourselves that they are all part of the fun of being out of the city. Thank you for staying with us at RHM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location is perfect. B&B off 3 mile long quiet country road excellent for Mountain biking. Nice easy walk on boardwalk to winery next door with free tastings for guest. Beautiful view of hill country from front porches. 2 miles from LBJ ranch,which has an excellent 7 mile loop for mountain biking, and close to the LBJ loop, a public (not much used) pool for $3. 15 minutes from Fredericksbirg and another 15 to perhaps one of the most impressive topographical wonders in Texas--Enchanted Rock...'rock' a misnomer--HUGE granite formation, 20-30 minutes to hike to top. Bring water. Incredible vista. No cell coverage until the top. Then call and face time kids. Great stuff.

The food and the chef (Asa) were the best we have EVER had. The large windows in the dining room were fantastic. Bucolic views of live oaks. Gathering of hay in the huge (many acres) front yard. The evening waiter was very attentive and excellent.

The young man (Blake?) at check in was helpful and very knowledgeable...was key to enjoying our stay. Patty the owner was also wonderful and knowledgeable. A large bank of DVDs to enjoy evenings cuddling and watching a movie on high def TV. Microwave and fridge in room. Nice big room.

The negatives did not put us off too bad, but here they are. There was a surly somewhat harried woman behind desk in the AM and mid day. Have read other negative reviews that must be referring to her, as everyone else was really really nice. She is clearly the one who runs things during the day (when Patty not around), and perhaps she has made herself indispensable, but she is inflexible (refused to let us see other rooms after all had checked out so we could decide if we should try to stay in another room, refused to give us an extra hour to check out so we could bike, even though no one else coming in), and I saw her becoming somewhat rude with someone who had called in to ask questions (in her defense, it was a busy time of day, but perhaps she should have let the call go to voice mail?).

The few other negatives (which will not prevent us from coming back): bed was sloped (many years old so depression in it) but soft luxurious sheets made up for it. Each porch was very visible from others, so not the most intimate experience for honeymoon/anniversary. Appreciated no kids on weekends, but also think it would be fun to bring them back during the week when they are allowed. The porch (with a fantastic view) had chairs, but no loungers as we saw on other porches. The phone in the room did not work. There was a smell of sewage 1/4 way from the house/cottages to the road, no one would smell it unless like us they biked it. There was a very faint similar smell of sewage in the bathroon, easily overcome with spray left in the bathroom. Suspect the septic system is starting to back up. The AM breakfast waitress was a bit harried and we had to ask several times for water and tea and honey. Not a big deal. The wifi was spotty often not working in room (a cottage). Our cottage had private deck but others shared deck (not obvious in pictures) which we would not have liked. If important to have private deck, make sure you ask...interestingly, the ones with a private deck are less expensive.

Wish they had a pool. Wish late checkout an option if no one coming in.

We will be back. Glad we stayed here. I hope the above does not sound too negative. I suspect this place is one of the best bed and breakfast in the USA. We have stayed at many and this is the best food we have EVER had, and the amenities were excellent. I would have given it a 4.5 if possible.

Austin TX

SEC
Sent from my iPhone=

Room Tip: see above regarding private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We'll work on training with our staff so that they are more responsive to our guests' needs. Cressa just didn't want you to look at dirty rooms that people had just checked out of - but I told her if our guests want to look at dirty rooms - go ahead!! Sorry about the bed - we went and checked it and found that one of the supports had broken, so we fixed it. It's a brand new mattress so we were a little perplexed until we found out what was wrong. Septic system down in the field - our illustrious Texas legislature decided that all commercial septic systems had to be aerobic, so twice a day it does it's thing - that's why we put it as far from the buildings as possible! We didn't smell anything in the room, but will keep an eye on it. We thank you for your help in always improving and getting better at what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We loved everything about Rose Hill Manor!! The Food was delicious, staff was friendly and informative, rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Laurel.

Perhaps though the Inn Keepers should think about a new mattress. Day 1 woke up with a sore back, day 2 ended up on the floor. We notified the gentleman at the front desk, about the bed, and my need for a visit to the chiropractor, and he said, "we'll have to look into that."

Would only return if they advertised new mattresses.

Room Tip: Ask them about the mattresses first unless you like a bed with no support.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We're so sorry you didn't like that bed. We have those type beds in some of the rooms because many of our guests like them so much they ask me where to get one like it. That bed is actually only a few months old, but it's got a 6 inch memory foam padding on the top, and maybe that's not for you. I guess this is why those Select Comfort beds work for a lot of people - so everyone can dial in their personal preference for firmness. We do have other rooms that have different kinds of beds. I am so sorry you didn't mention this to us before checkout, because we could have changed you to a room with a different type mattress. We appreciate you choosing RHM and hope to do better for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Rose Hill Manor is AMAZING! This is the ultimate place to take your sweetheart anytime of the year. The rooms have beautiful views and are immaculate. The food is incredible and the service is superb. We stayed in the Rosemary room and enjoyed watching the beautiful sunset out on the deck. Steven and KImberli Templer

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven and Kimb... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
We thank you for your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Rose Hill Manor. Our staff work very hard to keep everything clean and well-maintained so that our guests can just enjoy the peace and quiet of the country. We appreciate your choosing Rose Hill Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonewall
13.6 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Italian Place Bed and Breakfast
13.6 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#6 of 81 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 81 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
5.6 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#16 of 81 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Manor

Property: Rose Hill Manor
Address: 2614 Upper Albert Rd, Stonewall, TX 78671-3720
Region: United States > Texas > Stonewall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stonewall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Manor - The only AAA Four Diamond and Select Registry property in the Fredericksburg, Texas area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Manor Hotel Stonewall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing