We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”
Review of Rose Hill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stonewall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Hill Manor
Ranked #2 of 2 Stonewall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We have stayed here a few times and had a very nice experience. This time we were disappointed. First of all, the breakfast is nothing special. The menu has three choices that are the same three choices for the last three times. The food was just OK and the coffee was terrible. There was a problem with the door handle not working and we couldn't get out of our room. It inconvenienced us for about an hour and interrupted our quality time together and yet no apology or extra was offered for our inconvenience.

The view is gorgeous and the room was very comfortable, but the fact that this is considered such a high end B and B, I would expect a little more in the way of generosity.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolatewoman, Owner at Rose Hill Manor, responded to this review, 26 December 2010
We're always sorry if we don't live up to a guest's expectations, but are somewhat stymied as to what it is that we were supposed to do with re: to this guest. These guests went in and out of their room and the door handle worked fine. About an hour after they checked in, they tried to leave the room and the handle wouldn't work. They called, and I immediately went to their room to help. When I couldn't help, I sent my husband, who crawled through a window, took the door off the frame, got rid of the doorknob that had failed, and took a doorknob off our personal residence and installed it on their door, as all the hardware stores were closed. I personally heard my husband apologize to these guests more than once. Unfortunately, things break - we can't always forecast when this will happen - we can only respond when it does.

With regard to breakfast: we have a breakfast menu which gives our guests a choice of three pastries, two fruit choices, and four entrees. We have tried hundreds of different items over the years, and these are the breakfast choices that most of our guests prefer - they even call in advance to make sure that we're going to be offering particular items - like the apple bread, or eggs benedict. Guests come to us all the time and tell us how much they enjoy our breakfasts - I'm sorry if this did not suit these particular guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    10
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
151
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

When we saw the reviews of Rose Hill Manor on Trip Advisor we thought it sounded too good to be true. We were wrong! it was all one could wish for. Our room (Sunrise) was spacious and nicely decorated. The enclosed large sun porch, with a writing table, sofa, chairs and a coffee table was where we spent most of our time. From the sun porch a door led to the veranda across the entire front of the building. This veranda, furnished with lounges, chairs and small tables was a perfect place to see the wonderful views. The breakfasts were superb. Delicious pasties, fresh fruit plates and choice of omlet, eggs benedict, granola and french toast were featured during our stay. The four course dinner we had one evening was well done and elegant, but nothing truly outstanding like the breakfasts. Service was unobtrusive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rampbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONROE TEXAS
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2010

My wife and I spent our 35th wedding anniversary at rosehill manor. If you want to get a way from the every day grind this is the perfect place. The staff is great and the accommodations are out of this world.The breakfasts are the best we have had in a while. We will definitely go back. I would recomend this "getaway" for anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERSEYPETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Tx
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2009

From the time you drive up the long driveway toward the very pretty ante-bellum main house to your first dinner in the elegant dining room you are in for a real treat.

Checking in was plesant and we were helped with our lugage to our comfortable suite in the Carriage House directly across from the main house. The Carriage House has a large living room (with wet bar) and a large bedroom as well as a very modern large bath with hot tub and separate shower and bath. The suite of rooms is well furnished (comfortable king size bed) with lots of closet space and satelite TV.

The other eight cottages are reminiscent of Michigan lakeside cottages with white clabord siding, pale green shutters and attractive flower beds The inside of the Main House is well appointed and has lots of charm. The main center hallway that runs from.front to back is lined with a wonderful wine collection. There is also a small bar that looks out on the great front lawn and the hills beyond. At suset it is quite beautiful. There is also a large porch where you can sit and read or have cocktails in the evening.

The best part is the dining room. They have an elegant dining room with multi-plate glass windows that allow you to enjoy the picture perfect setting. The four course dinner menu changes each evening. The food and service were excellent. For dinner one night we had a delicious mushroom and leak soup made with chicken stock, followed by a delicious crab cake and then a well prepared lamb chop follwed by coffeee and creme brulee. The wine selection was very good and it was moderately priced. The service was excellent and the owners, Patti and Bob, were warm and charming.

If you want to spend a few quiet and very elegant days exploring the Hill Country of Texas this is the place to stay. We have stayed in inns all over the world and I would give the Rose Hall Manor the highest rating.

Peter and Trina Wynne

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler34Houston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My husband and I spent three nights at Rose Hill Manor and had a wonderful time. We took walks along the road each morning and marveled at how beautiful the Texas Hill Country is. The highlight of our trip, however, was dinner each evening at Rose Hill Manor. It was a gourmet feast each night! The staff was so helpful and friendly. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 151515151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnet, TX
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2009

What a refreshing, relaxing weekend we had @ Rose Hill Manor. This is a quaint charming place in the country...a place to escape the rushing and noise of the city. From the moment we drove in the driveway, innkeeper Patty V. paid attention to our every need. We felt very pampered. The accommodations are charming, luxurious and tasteful. Our favorite part was sitting on the deck in the morning, drinking coffee and watching the day unfold with all the TX Hill Country critters. The beautiful views of the hills are very relaxing.

The food is amazing! Everything is very fresh and creative...lots of interesting flavors and textures. In our busy lives, who takes the time to prepare meals like that? What a treat! From home-made breads and sauces to lobster to fresh strawberries and cream...everything was wonderful!

This weekend was "food for the soul". We will definitely be return customers!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homesick4tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This Bed & Breakfast displayed unbelievable personal service, which began the minute we checked in. The rooms were very spacious, with a separate sitting room off the bedroom. It was located conveniently to 10 of Texas' best wineries, and minutes away from Fredericksburg, where antiques and crafts abound.
The food was exceptional, and will be a place I make reservations to go back simply for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowboyAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stonewall
13.5 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
837 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Johnson City Inn
Best Western Johnson City Inn
#1 of 1 in Johnson City
256 reviews
13.5 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 80 in Fredericksburg
137 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hye-Way Haus Bed and Breakfast
11.5 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#10 of 80 in Fredericksburg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Hill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Hill Manor

Property: Rose Hill Manor
Address: 2614 Upper Albert Rd, Stonewall, TX 78671-3720
Region: United States > Texas > Stonewall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stonewall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Hill Manor - The only AAA Four Diamond and Select Registry property in the Fredericksburg, Texas area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Hill Manor Hotel Stonewall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing