We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Sugar Land
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I've stayed here many times on different client visits in Sugar Land. The staff is very friendly and remarkably stable. The rooms are very large and well-appointed, always spotless. The location can't be beat, especially if you don't have a car because it is an easy and pleasant walk across a long pedestrian bridge to excellent restaurants, shops and, perhaps best of all, a Whole Foods. The breakfast is adequate if not spectacular and there's often a lively little bar scene at the lobby bar, which also serves decent food, 24/7. I recommend the property highly. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake/river/whatever the body of water is at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theprguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Your detailed positive review of your experience as a recent guest of ours is very encouraging to our team here at the Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land. We are honored to have earned a perfect score from such an experienced traveler with 521 contributions on TripAdvisor with 73,155 miles traveled, including 21 cities and 10 countries. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are highly grateful of your recommendation of our hotel.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back home during your next visit to Sugar Land.

Sincerely,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    119
    49
    7
    9
See reviews for
172
74
34
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've stayed at Hyatt Place at another location various times and quite enjoyed it but this was my first trip to the Sugar Land location and the first time I've stayed at the Hyatt Place with my wife.

From what I hear and by staying at two different locations, all Hyatt Place rooms are pretty much the exact same layout. You get a bar fridge with a desk, a couch, a half wall separating the sitting area and the king bed, a wall mounted large LCD TV that can be seen from either bed or couch, a vanity area outside the bathroom with toilet and large stand-up shower.

When travelling alone, this room is great. Once you add a second person though, it can get quite cramped quickly. The bathroom itself is very cramped but overall it's a very good room.

The hotel overall was very clean but you could already see a bit of wear. This specific location was excellent, nestled in a quiet business park with a lake that surrounds it and a walking path. There are some excellent restaurants across the foot bridge and the Town Center and First Colony mall is across 59, mere minutes away by drive or shuttle (which they provided for free).

Complimentary breakfast is included. You get a variety of fresh fruit cocktail, yogurts, donuts, bagels, bread for toast, ceral, milk, juices and even hot sandwiches (usually and egg and ham sandwich) as well as waffles or pancakes. The food is nothing to write home about but it is convenient to have breakfast at the ready right downstairs.

Overall I like the Hyatt Place locations. There are better spots but you really can't go wrong with this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristovao1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We genuinely appreciate your giving us the opportunity to be of service to you during your first visit to Sugar Land. We truly treasure detailed feedback such as you provided and we are grateful that you shared your impressions of our hotel on TripAdvisor. Looking at your other contributions, I'm delighted to see that you were able to take advantage of the hotel's location and experience the diverse restaurants that Sugar Land has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for sharing your review.

Warm Regards,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hyatt during a recent trip to Houston. After driving for hours, we were greeted by a crashed computer system, so we could not check in and had to just sit in the lobby until someone, somewhere got the computers up. Not a good way to start after fighting the horrendous traffic in the area. The staff was nice.

The room was nicely appointed and fresh.

I would suggest you go out to eat breakfast unless you only eat out of necessity without wanting to enjoy the food. There were a lot of guests there the Saturday morning that we went down for breakfast but the food quality was not as good as many lesser hotels. There was only one meat course and it was some lightly warmed ham slices about as thick as tracing paper. They did have some pancakes, but no sugar-free syrup, so I struck out. The eggs were obviously a powdered or liquified product because it cooked up like some sort of watery foam with a few burnt spots to give it some color other than yellow. The egg on toasted muffin reminded me why I don't like dry english muffins. The apple juice was good.

I really enjoy breakfasts while on the road and was sorely disappointed. I think next time I stick with HI Exp.

KB

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review and for enlightening us of your dissatisfaction at check-in and our complimentary breakfast. We sincerely apologize for the delay at check-in as our reservation systems "crashed" for a brief period of time on the evening of Friday, October 18, 2013. Rest assured, we have resolved this complication and we have taken steps to ensure this particular malfunction never arises again. In regards to our breakfast offerings we have been highly attentive to our guest's feedback and we're excited to say that we will soon be implementing new changes to our current program.

We hope that we are given the chance to show you our new offerings and earn your trust in all aspects of the hotel. Thank you again for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roorkee, Uttarakhand, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed in Hyatt Place for around 35 days and it was a nice experience. The location is too good with lake surrounding the place. You get a very good view from your room window. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prerna1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share the impressions you had as a long-term guest of ours. We would like to express our gratitude and thank you for making our hotel your home during your business in Sugar Land. We understand the unique difficulties and challenges our long-term guests are faced with when being away from your home, family and friends for so long, so it's especially heartening to our team members to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I try and stay in Hyatt's as to keep all my points in the same plan. So this is Hotel is closest to our Houston office. Although the traffic is a little rough headed to the office, I like the location. There are a number of great restaurants in the area and there are nice walking paths around the lake.

THe staff is excellent in this hotel and they remember me by name on my return visits.

The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable, though my wife thinks too soft.

Most of the rooms have a shower, though the last trip with my family in tow we had a room with a tub.

All the rooms have a sitting area and small bar fridge and include a mediocre breakfast in the morning. Perhaps that's a harsh, but I'm not fond of the hot food unless you get it right when it's set out. There's plenty of fresh fruit and cereals, toast etc.

Overall I like it and I'll continue to stay here on most of my Houston trips.

Room Tip: I generally try and get a room on a high floor or the end of the hall way. Rooms on the lake side h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onceuponaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences as a frequent guest at the Hyatt Place Houston - Sugar Land. Your detailed review of your experiences as a guest of ours is both useful and highly valuable to our team as it help in assessing our strengths as well as our opportunities of improvement. We acknowledge your concerns about our breakfast and we promise to work diligently to improve our current offerings.

We are extremely grateful for your continuous loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm Regards,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Let me preface this review by saying we stayed for five nights at the Hyatt Place on the Riverwalk in San Antonio, TX immediately prior to our four night stay here...so I am using that as a comparison.

The San Antonio Hyatt Place was MUCH better then this one.

Pros: Beautiful surrounding right on a lake. A Whole Foods store within walking distance. Very Clean.

Cons: BREAKFAST was a huge disappointment. The hours are from 6:30am - 9am. This is an early end time for those vacationing! We generally arrived for breakfast around 8am. There was usually three employees behind the desk and no one was monitoring the breakfast area? Every morning, we would arrive to find the coffee empty and many breakfast items already gone? We had to ask for more coffee each day and apparently the breakfast items are put out at 6:30am and when they're gone they're gone? Things like toppings for the oatmeal, etc. The bacon was chewing and tasted funny. The potatoes were barely cooked. The eggs were extremely dry and tasteless. The breakfast in San Antonio was FAR better. The morning staff is not that friendly either. TINY BATHROOM ...Too tiny for anyone! Door barely clears the toilet. NO IN ROOM MICROWAVE. LIMITED DRESSER SPACE.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightowlinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
We highly value your candid feed and we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you during your recent travels to Sugar Land. We would like to sincerely apologize for the less than desirable breakfast and for not delivering the level of customer service that you very well deserve. Rest assured, we will address any and every potential discomfort that may affect our valued guests.

Your observations have been shared with our associates and we will use your feedback as a basis of coaching and mentoring. Thank you again for your much valued feedback.

Sincerely,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
249 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is new. The rooms are spacious and have a separate living sleeping area (at least the king rooms). The bathroom is new, clean and has the shower and toilet separate from the sink. The bed was comfortable. The rooms have a fridge. The gym was not huge, but had everything I needed and the equipment was all new. There is a pool. The hotel is within walking distance from a number of restaurants and a whole foods if you get sick of eating out. I marked the location as perfect since I could walk to work and for food. The hotel is also close to the highway. The in room dining menu was good. They don't deliver to the room but the prices are very reasonable. The free breakfast each morning has a good selection. The best part of the hotel was the staff. They were very cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew S, Manager at Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Your very detailed review of your experience as a recent guest of ours is highly useful and encouraging to our team here at the Hyatt Place Houston - Sugar Land. We cherish feedback such as yours and we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you found the location perfect and that you enjoyed our food and beverage as well as our hospitality.

We very much value your patronage and we would loved to be of service to you soon.

Best Regards,

Matthew Shine
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sugar Land hotels
0.4 mi away
Sugar Land Marriott Town Square
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston / Sugar Land
2.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Sugar Land
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sugar Land
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Sugar Land
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sugarland Inn
BEST WESTERN Sugarland Inn
#4 of 8 in Sugar Land
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land

Property: Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land
Address: 16730 Creek Bend Dr, Sugar Land, TX 77478-3394
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Sugar Land
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sugar Land
#2 Family Hotel in Sugar Land
#3 Business Hotel in Sugar Land
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sugar Land
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land Hotel Sugar Land
Hyatt Place Houston/Sugar Land Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing