We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Chicken Express

Chicken Express
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sulphur Springs, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Everything here is always cooked to perfection. They also have the best sweet tea. It's definitely not fast food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur Springs, TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“USED TO BE A LOT BETTER; JUST OK NOW”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The last time my husband and I ate at this restaurant, the chicken strips weren't the greatest. They didn't seem to have much meat on them. The other food was very good. When my husband got a refill on his tea, it tasted pretty bad. We really never figured out why that was. I do know that the food used to be a lot better. The employees are usually pleasant and helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dandm3829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Chicken Express”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The fried catfish is very good, French fries were perfect!
The chicken is very good too!
Very good biscuits!
They have the best ice tea!
You can even buy a gallon of tea!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't spend your money here”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stopped here on the way home from Daingerfield State Park for lunch on a Sunday. The person taking our order was distracted, busy watching the crew behind her. My husband ordered the gizzards and livers, plus a side of potatoes and I ordered the two piece combo. When our meal was ready his gizzards were swimming in grease. THe crust on my chicken was limp and rubbery. The mashed potatoes was packed full of black pepper. When we went to leave I asked to speak to the manager. She came over and listened with a "i really don't care" look on her face. She explained that the extra grease was because the gizzards were freshly fried. I pointed out that a little extra draining would have gone a long way. No apology was offered, I was obviously out of line in my expectations based on eating at other Chicken Express locations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Metoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken of all”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I travel through the Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana areas..I have all the Chicken Express restaurants in my gps..Thumbs up for Chicken Expressa

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank karen u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicken Express also viewed

 

Been to Chicken Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing