We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Motel 6 Temple

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Temple
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel while in Temple, September 9 and 10. There is easy access on and off on Interstate 35, and several restaurants closeby. I had a room on the second floor, and it was very quiet...no noise from anyone on my hall or upstairs or downstairs. The breakfast buffet has a good selection...biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins and danish. Also yogurt, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The desk clerks and housekeeping staff all were very friendly and professional. Lots of parking...all at the front of the building, which I like. One thing for people not familiar with Temple to know....Temple High School is not far from the hotel...if you go out the back driveway to go into town, make note of the school zone speed limits..and don't use your cell phone in any school zone in town!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntemple, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to having you come back and stay with us. If there is anything we can do to make your stay even more pleasurable, please let us know. Thank you for your business and kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Run down in public areas & room, dirty floors, toilet loose at base & lid, mold in bathrooms, not enough towels, etc. No napkins, eggs, hot water for oatmeal or fruit other than apples first morning, and when we asked the older man in kitchen, he said he was out but was going to Sam's. Next morning, out of milk, too, & no other fruit (still). Same older man said he was leaving to get milk (8:20 am?), and arrived when we were getting done with breakfast w/milk. Complained multiple times about not being able to get on wireless; was told each time it was reset and working. Checked out after 2 days and moved to Comfort Suites in Killeen, and my computer got on their wireless in no time flat. So much else wrong with this hotel, don't have that much time. Don't stay here!!!!!

Room Tip: Not one here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntemple, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

We apologize for the issues you encountered while staying with us. We would like to address some of your problems. We had Time Warner come out, and fix our internet. There was a problem with some of their hardware, and they have since replaced it. In terms of the breakfast area, we now have someone who is solely in charge of it, so no longer must customers worry about running out of things, and they now have someone there to help with all of their needs. We also have hired someone to inspect the rooms each and every day to make all is well with them. We clean the public areas daily. We appreciate your input and feedback! Based on your review, we have made many changes. Once again we are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to improve our hotel as a whole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed there 3 nights for a convention, so we reserved the room months in advance. First the a/c took hours to cool down the room. The very old fridge and microwave were put in the wierdest place. Our room key messed up at least 3 times and the front guy said its probably cuz theyre old. Breakfast in the mornings were empty. No fruit, no jelly, no cream cheese,no half & half, biscuts but no gravy. And when I let the girl at the front desk know of this, she said 'oh were out. We werent prepared for this busy weekend. Haha' Really?! And to end it, they charged my card 3 times the amount they were supposed to. This is the absolute worst hotel we have ever stayed at, I could really go on and on but the other reviews already mention what else I would say.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzettegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntemple, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

We are very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We value your input and opinions, and have made several changes to make sure this will not happen again. We now have someone who runs the breakfast area, to ensure that we have the items expected, and to assist guests with anything they may need while eating. We have hired some housekeepers, front desk agents, and a new front desk supervisor. Our staff is very concerned with customer service and satisfaction. If you have any other suggestions on how to make guest's stays better, we would love to hear them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This used to be a nice hotel but the quality is slowing going downhill. The pool area was filthy, trash and food left around tables. The plaster is coming off the bottom of the pool. The waffle mix tasted funny, almost sour. I thought it was just me but heard another guest thought the same thing. No fruit first day, just apples and oranges the next. The room was nice enough but not enough towels in the room. The front desk older gentleman's first response to anyone coming to desk is what do you want. Quality.......I don't think so.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luv2Fish6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntemple, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

We apologize for the problems you experienced while staying with us. We have made several staff changes since your stay. The pool area is now checked and cleaned daily. Our hotel was in receivership at the time of your stay, and due to that we had difficulty getting funding for large repairs and replacements. This is no longer an issue, and we have a put a bid in to fix the bottom of the pool. We now have someone who is in charge of maintaining the breakfast area. We have new front desk agents, and a new front office manager. They are committed to customer service, and guest satisfaction. Your input has helped us to make these changes! We really appreciate your feedback. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make future stays better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Had to call on a vendor in Temple and my secretary made a reservation for me at this version of Hell's Waiting Room. Old, old, and simply trashed out. Literally. There was garbage over-flowing out of each and every trash can. The pool had garbage and soda cans floating around too. There were crickets both alive and dead on each floor, in the elevators, and in my room. Bad thing was I checked in very late at night and didn't see all this filth initially. With the morning sun came more eye-popping revelations. Absolutely rank carpeting, holes in both the towels and sheets, and a stained bathtub. Breakfast area was hardly stocked and not re-filled promptly for the guests.

Night clerk told me that the manager was one Erin Dillon out of the Dallas office, and since it was a bank seizure, they just weren't going to put any money into this place until it sold. Well, good luck attempting to sell this jewel to ANYONE. Might help if Erin drove down the 150 miles and helped empty the stinking trash bins. Inexcusable.

Thinking of hiring a new secretary after she subjected me to all this. Without question the foulest hotel I've ever spent a night at, period.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bloody William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Where to begin as there is so much. Old. Smelly. Nasty. Foul. Pungent.

Horrible green grime-stained carpeting. Uncomfortable bed. Seen bigger bathrooms in a Greyhound bus. Uncaring manager and staff. Horrific spot to spend the night. Never again!

Room Tip: Any hotel down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GermanFarmBoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinntemple, Front Office Manager at Motel 6 Temple, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

We are very sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. Since your stay, we have made several changes. We have a put a bid in to replace the carpeting, and will have new carpet installed soon. We have hired new front desk agents, housekeepers, a new front office manager, and someone to inspect the rooms to make sure they are properly cleaned and up to guest standards. Our new staff considers customer service and satisfaction to be a top priority. Thank you for your feedback! Please let us know if their are any other improvements we can make to improve the quality of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Have not experienced accommodations this rough since my two tours in Iraq some years back. Truth be told, it was slightly nicer there. Was in the Temple area with my National Guard unit training. Needed a hotel for a few weeks and this initially looked like it would fit the bill. Unfortunately I was dead wrong. Everything about this place was in dire need of repair. Tattered and worn everywhere and maintenance was a joke.

Must start with the massive cricket infestation. Live in Texas so I know about bugs and how they get every where. But there is something called a vacuum cleaner and they could easily be sucked up. They were all over the place. Rooms, hallways, exercise area. Disgusting.

The rooms itself had old furniture with a 20-year-old TV and amazing the bed was pretty decent. Carpeting is the original it looks like. Guessing at least 10 years old or more. Smells it's age. Chipped bathtub, OK shower head, and so-so water pressure. Cooling system did it's thing with no problem.

My biggest concern is the cleanliness factor, or in this case, lack there of. Garbage was overflowing out of every garbage can in the hallways, exercise room, and the by the exterior doors. Noted one garbage can in the stairwell sat there overflowed for 4 days straight. Unreal. Breakfast area was barely stocked most days and many items were not chilled properly. Milk, butter etc. All warm. Every day. The juice dispenser had a crust and particles that ended up in one's cup. Gross.

Mentioned all these things to the front desk and this very nervous tall young girl who immediately started making excuses for it all without much regard for a guest's concern. Never did see the GM or ever hear from her. Assume she was there everyday but must never walk around to see what's happening. Pathetic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temple hotels
2.9 mi away
Temple Travelodge
Temple Travelodge
#19 of 24 in Temple
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Temple
Days Inn Temple
#11 of 24 in Temple
113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#16 of 24 in Temple
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Temple
Candlewood Suites Temple
#10 of 24 in Temple
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#17 of 24 in Temple
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Temple

Address: 1610 W Nugent Ave, Temple, TX 76504-2290
Region: United States > Texas > Temple
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Price Range: £33 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Temple 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing