We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part is the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Temple
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Usually we stay at the Residence Inn in Temple, but it was full, as was teh Holiday Inn, The Candlewood was about $30 less. The room was clean, and nice sized. No ppol/spa and no breakfast makes up the price difference. Both PC's in the business center had virus's. Courteous young lady on desk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NVI_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Temple
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Candlewood Suites in Temple, Texas by far exceeded my expectations and has set the new bar for hotel stays in the future. The staff was courtious and professional, the rooms were emaculate. The beds were the most comfortable I had ever slept on, including my own at home. The overall cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional! I really liked the little in-house store they offered...prices were fairly reasonable. The hotel was quite! I really liked the amenities...the full kitchen that came with the room I stayed in. The whole visit was well worth the price I paid which in itself, was extremely reasonable. Loved it!! Will defintey stay there again if ever in Temple, Texas again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatGauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This hotel has a great staff. I really enjoyed my stay. I was so surprised to see how spacious the room actually was. Good value for my money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

This place advertises "pastries, fruit and coffee" for breakfast. I verified the evening before that it would be put out at 7am. I went downstairs at 7:20 and there was nothing anywhere but five apples left over from the previous day. The coffee machine was working with very, very weak coffee, but there was no creamer, just a bunch of empty plastic creamers, stir sticks and dirty napkins that hadn't been cleaned up from who knows when. I went to the front desk to ask where breakfast was and to also request some creamer. The desk clerk sent a male who slouched down the hallway while pecking away at his phone. He came back with a cardboard box 1/4 full of French vanilla creamers. I asked him to get plain creamer for me. He once again slouched down the hall and came back with another box with creamers in it. They were warm. They had not been in any kind of refrigeration at all.....just stuck in a closet or something. By that time, the breakfast that they advertised still consisted of only the five apples, some weak coffee and ONE CAKE STAND with a few slices of CAKE on it that the desk clerk had sat out. I was really put out by then, so I pressed the point. "Where are the pastries and is this all the fruit you have?" She told me that they didn't actually have "pastries", that they only served CAKE and then she went and got 6 bananas. So for an establishment that has 70+ rooms, they served one plate stand with CAKE, 5 apples, 6 bananas and weak coffee for breakfast. And I had to ask repeatedly to get anyone to offer that (plus creamer). PATHETIC AND UNCALLED FOR I have never stayed anywhere where something so bizarre took place.
We ended up going down the road to MacDonald's to get some better coffee and something to eat besides cake.
Also, the carpet outside our room had a big nasty spot on it that nobody has cleaned up. It has been there a long time because dirt and grime has been ground into whatever had been spilled.
We also rode the elevator with a maid who REEKED of stale cigarette smoke. The smoke smell was so overpowering I held my breath. She had no tools with her, so I guess she had been upstairs smoking in a smoking room instead of working.
On the positive side, the room itself seemed clean. But for over $100 a night, the place is a bust. I have gotten better service from much older and less expensive establishments.
In my opinion, this is a management problem. The hired help were not helpful. In fact, they seemed lazy and uninterested and seemed to just be putting in their time until they could go home. I would not recommend this place based on price vs. quality of service. You can pay less and get lots more than this place has to offer.
I predict this place to become really gross very quickly.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank abcTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This is a brand new property, room are very nice and clean. Great location, very satisfied with my stay, staff was very help full and the hotel services are great, I would strongly recommend this hotel to any one staying in Temple, TX.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Candlewood is a nice hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. There are a few things I was not impressed with.
First was the cleaning services. There is no one to clean your room while you are out of the room. They offer cleaning services once per week (for what I was told) and if you need towles or need to change your bed sheets you must bring everything down to the lobby and exchange them. I travel a lot and I pay whichever rate they charge but I don't want to come back to my room and see my bed a mess. Hey, my bed is a mess at home but at least I am not paying these high prices. With the money you are making by charging me for my stay, have de dicency to hire someone to clean my room. That is good customer service.
Second was the coffee. Since there is no cleaning services, there is no coffee in your room. I was there for three days and the hotel was not able to provide coffee. Their coffee machine was broke every morning. I had to go to the local store and get myself some coffee.
Third was the wake up call. I was late to my meeting due to the hotel either forgetting to wake me up (yes, I did request a wake up call) or did not care to call me as agreed.

Now, don't take me wrong, the hotel was very clean, the room was very nice had a fridge, microwave and other things but I come here to work so I don't eat in.
My concern is and will be the cleaning services. Hire someone for goodness sake, make us travelers feel comfortable.
Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? No because my friends want to have a clean room after returning from work. Would I recommend it to a family, if you don't mind not having cleaning services, yes! I would recommend it to a family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltime1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temple hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Temple - Medical Center Area
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Temple Belton
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Temple
Residence Inn Temple
#12 of 24 in Temple
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Temple

Address: 1850 Scott Blvd, Temple, TX 76504-6982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Temple
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Temple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Temple Hotel Temple

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing