We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible doesn't do it justice...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Temple
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Terrible doesn't do it justice...”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was without a doubt the worst hotel experience of my life. The elevator reeked of cigarette smoke, the walls were paper thin and I could hear the televisions from across the hall. Everytime the room above us moved, we could hear it. Full Kitchen? No. They gave us one bowl, two plates, two forks, and two knives. I've never stayed in a hotel that doesn't take our trash and their "once a week room service" was nothing more than them making the bed. We had to stay here for 15 DAYS...There was a dead roach belly up in our closet from the first day, until this morning when we checked out. I asked for towels and was told I need to bring my dirty ones down in order to get new ones, and could not be given an extra bowl for my husband, without turning in the other one. To top it off, NO BREAKFAST!? Even the Days Inn provides breakfast. Not to mention, they looked at me like I was asking them to do rocket science when I needed my bill split between two company credit cards.Ten of us will be returning to Temple next week for two more weeks and we WILL NOT be staying here again...EVER.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cewebb4211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Temple, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear cewebb4211,

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay with us. We highly value your views and feedback, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I deeply apologize that your experience with the unusual smell, condition of the room, kitchen amenities and housekeeping services and hotel staff services received has caused inconveniences. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    19
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
11
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have never stayed in a hotel that did not empty the trash at least every third day. I have stayed at extended stay hotels that did not change the sheets or towels every day, but the trash was always emptied. I am still having a hard time wrapping my head around this fact. The trash bags used in the trash cans are much smaller than the trash can itself, so not only is the trash not removed, the trash cans cannot hold very much because of the size of the trash bags.
Towels can be replaced at the front desk as well as sheets, but if you request clean sheets, you are responsible for making the bed. Perhaps if the rooms were say $30 or $40 a night this would be acceptable, but these rooms are $85 a night with the medical discount. That is quite a bit of money for absolutely no room service. The only room service that is provided is weekly. The hotel does not have a pool and does not have breakfast and the walls are so thin conversations from other rooms are easily heard.
It must be very easy for Candlewood Suits to make money, their staff is almost nonexistent. The employees were very kind and polite. It is not their fault that the company is too cheap to provide any kind of service for those who stay at their hotel.
Scott and White Medical Facility is located in Temple, Texas. Many hotels in Temple give discounts for those staying in Temple for medical appointments. A traveler to Temple can find a hotel room for under $100 a night and expect to have their trash emptied and perhaps even a little orange juice in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the Hilton Garden Inn with is just up the road from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapeland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Seeking medical treatment in Temple, Texas for eye surgery, I discovered Candlewood Suites within a mile radius of the medical centers and plenty of access to food and shopping.
A priority club member for years, I have plenty of hotel experience.
The desk staff was excellent, the room was very nice, expansive, and included excellent business center access for my job.
Only one sad note...housekeeping was slow and had a disturbing habit of propping my door ajar in my absence, exposing my room to uninvited entry.
Desk personnel was quick to respond to my snarling about that and all was well thereafter.

Room Tip: No noise issues noted on ground level rooms to rear facing rooms. View of lush timber and little civ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Decent facility overall - nothing special - nothing really negative either - thus the "average" title. I would probably stay again...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samjax777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The hotel looked very clean and the staff was very friendly.The only draw back was the roach I saw in the kitchen cabnet in my room

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burninguptheroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Sorry but our studio suite was not so clean...
We think they change the bed to a queen one and therefore the lights did not fit and you can reach the bed only from one side.

Room Tip: Avoid suite 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonsayshello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The location was right across the street from the Hospital. The suite was clean and comfortable. Everyone was helpful and polite. The manager went the extra mile to ensure we felt welcome. We will stay here again when visiting Temple.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traumer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Temple, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites family. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temple hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Temple
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Temple
Hampton Inn Temple
#1 of 24 in Temple
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Temple - Medical Center Area
2.1 mi away
Best Western Temple Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Temple
Residence Inn Temple
#10 of 24 in Temple
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Temple

Property: Candlewood Suites Temple
Address: 1850 Scott Blvd, Temple, TX 76504-6982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Temple
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Temple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Temple Hotel Temple

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing