We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Chain Resturaunt in Mall - A Country Fried Chili's”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cotton Patch Cafe

Cotton Patch Cafe
Ranked #18 of 160 Restaurants in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: There were several listings for Cotton Patch Cafe in Texas; there just wasn't one listed for the location in Temple, Texas.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
345 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“A Chain Resturaunt in Mall - A Country Fried Chili's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

One suspects some of these reviews are professional PR spin - it isnt "by the mall" it is IN the mall, next to the Zales jeweler and accross from a chain Mexican place. Dont get me wrong, if you are shopping at the mall and are hungy it beats the food court, and the food is served promptly, there are many choices and I didnt really have a problem with it. My wife was much less impressed and wished we had gone somewhere else. It is Corporate Food on par with Chili's, maybe a notch below Applebee's. you can get a beer for under $3.00 and a Hamburger for under $8. Wife complained the Fried Green Tomato appetizer was greasy and gave her a stomach ache. It was heavily breaded and obviously deep fried in hot oil French Fry style. Portions arent huge. Pretty generic really. Daily specials seemed to be regular price to me -- 8.95 wasnt that much of a deal for fish taco on the day we ate there. Seems popular with locals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neuroshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio,Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots of veggie choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stopped in for dinner. Easy access from the mall parking lot. Loved the chicken fried steak. Had baked squash and black eye peas! Very tastey! Hubbie had chicken fried chicken, mashed pirates and steamed mix veggies. All were very good! Definitely will go back. Waitress Ellie had a great smile and made sure everything went well! They have fish,veggies,salads etc.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBeachgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, VA
Level Contributor
378 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Five of us enjoyed a really good dinner at this casual mall spot. Our server was friendly, fun and attentive. Steaks were tender with good flavor; fried shrimp were large and lightly battered. My fried boneless chicken breast was the best I've had anywhere in recent years - no heavy batter, just lightly coated (in seasoned flour?) and moist on the inside. There was a large selection of sides; all the ones we had were prepared very well. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
1,451 reviews
902 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“Loved this little place by the mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was so great as far as food it was delicious. Prices were right and customer service was great, I lived the ranch dressing with avocado mmmm it was delicious pleas try that, my server was so delightful and I had a great time while eating lunch at this place , as an experienced traveler I highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Located in Temple Mall, food was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our servers were friendly and the food was very good. The chicken fried steak and CPC Potato Cheese Soup are excellent! If you are looking for a lighter fare, they offer lots of veggies, salads, and grilled menu items. The place is a bit loud but family and child friendly. Waiters/waitresses are in a hurry, so grab them quickly as they walk by if you need something! This place gets busy, especially when movies let out. Grilled Norwegian Salmon & veggies is also fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cotton Patch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Patch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing