We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down home type of feel”

OLD JODY'S RESTAURANT
Ranked #9 of 160 Restaurants in Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Down home type of feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We eat old Jody's frequently and I love love the onion rings - the French fries are horrible - place is a bit crowded but overall very good / I recommend the hamburger steak !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allabouttellingit31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local favorite !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Best chicken fried steak to be found anywhere ! Fried tomatoes, and whole fried catfish ! Only downside is that it can get very crowded and loud. I would give up this place for all the chain food places in Texas. Long live old Jody's !!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kimbucsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love "OLD" Jody's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Love the food all of it! I usually get fried green tomatoes, fried jalapenos, mushrooms or pickes and chicken fried steak! Yummm o. The service is always slow though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston-Tori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great clog-your-arteries fried food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Old Jody's and New Jody's across the street have been a Temple staple for a long time. If you like great fried food like chicken fried steaks and fries, this is your place. I like the Hamburger steak smothered in grilled onions and brown gravy. Blue collar place and very good prices. Both Jody's run by brothers. You can smell the fried food blocks away.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmiller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Tx
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We eat in there every once in a while and the food has always been excellent. From good cold beer to Steaks, he has everything and at a reasonable price

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed OLD JODY'S RESTAURANT also viewed

 

Been to OLD JODY'S RESTAURANT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing