We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Well Kept for an Older Property”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is an older property. You need to know that going into the stay. The nightly rate reflects this, and is generally under $65 with tax. Despite it's age, the crew does a good job keeping this hotel clean. The rooms are smaller than newer economy hotels, but the bathroom was clean, the TV nice, and wifi is available. The bed was comfortable, and surely has been replaced in the last few years. The continental breakfast is lacking. Waffles, muffins, cereal. That's about it. Overall, it's not real fancy, but if you just need a decent place to stay for the night, this hotel will get the job done.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrueTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

this place is old and needs a refurbishment badly. The room was clean, the carpet is old and dirty there is not ample parking as it was hard to find at 10:00 p.m.. The front desk area severely outdated and needs to be remodeled. The rate was good expected. No noise or any problems. Just off the highway and decent for a last minute thing.

Room Tip: back left rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was in a corner room next to the parking lot-very tiny for a queen size--almost not enough room to enter the bathroom and close the door. Not enough parking spots for the hotel. Continental breakfast needs to have some protein offers like yogurt.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Looking at the professional photos on their site and what I saw when we pulled in, they were not the same! The front area had broken blinds in the windows, rubble by the main front lobby and looked deserted. The main lobby is very dated and needs a lick of paint and a good upgrade; the dusty plastic flowers could go!
The swimming pool was green. It was hot and I was so looking forward to a swim but I'd never had dived in their. It was filthy!
The rooms are basic; what do you expect for $56! The bed linen had a cigarette burn in it even though it was a non smoking room. The bathroom needed tearing out as it as filthy. People had burnt the plastic bath where they'd left cigarettes on the side and the owners had painted the burns with "white out" paint ( Tipp-Ex).
When we told the staff that the Internet didn't work in the rooms, he insisted it did........until he climbed on the roof and discovered his aerial had fallen over. It then worked fine.
Overall, I have stayed in better places. I certainly wouldn't stay here with a family but as a group of guys on a 12,500 km motorbike trip from Canada to the Florida Keys,it was okay. The best part was visiting the Texas steak bar opposite as the hotel staff gave us 10% off coupons. What a great steak........but that's a different review!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacknclare8289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Very hard to get to from each direction of Hwy 35. Not impressed with the room,not that clean.Breakfast was very limited.A lot of cars in and out all hours of the night.A older hotel that was very nice at one time. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you are looking for a clean hotel with great a.c., this is the place to stay. Nothing fancy, and an older hotel, but very comfortable. Staff very pleasant and helpful! Plenty of restaurants nearby. Easy access on I 35!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Clean, new furniture. Wonderfully friendly and helpful fellow (member of family owners) at front desk. Clean, new furniture and fixtures in our room. "Regular" low-end, minimal food choices for breakfast, which we expected. Saw no food nearby. A bit tricky to get to the place if coming down I-35 from the north.

Room Tip: The rooms are set back from I-35 so there is no particular problem we noted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gramps45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Temple hotels
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Temple
Motel 6 Temple
#18 of 24 in Temple
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#14 of 24 in Temple
165 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Temple
Days Inn Temple
#11 of 24 in Temple
113 reviews
2.6 mi away
Temple Travelodge
Temple Travelodge
#19 of 24 in Temple
137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stratford House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1001 N General Bruce Dr, Temple, TX 76504-2480
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Temple
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Temple
Price Range: £36 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Guest Laundry - Free Local Calls - HBO Cable 27"TV - Fridge and Microwave in each room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Temple
Temple Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing