We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dixie Diner

Dixie Diner
Ranked #26 of 163 Restaurants in Texarkana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Service is always excellent, food is always delicious. Prices are very reasonable. Try the strawberry pie, it's the best in town!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl_in_Texarkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    7
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
471 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Food is good, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I enjoy eating there as portions are large and food quality is good. Still, its pricey for 'home cooking.' I also wish the state line location was open.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank WarEglTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We were in the way home from Dallas and searched for something on trip advisor that would satisfy a craving for home cooked southern food. Well, we found it!! Wow. So good and so much food. All cooked from scratch. I was hurting when I left because I ate so much and there was still food left I had to push away from. They come out with a basket of cornbread and rolls hot out of the oven. The tea was good and cold and Ina huge glass. I had the chicken fried chicken, mashed potatoes w/gravy, macaroni & cheese. My friend had the steak fingers, purple hull peas, and twice baked potato. Dessert was again all homemade pies, banana pudding and cobblers all made from scratch or ice cream. I had the strawberry pie and my friend had the banana pudding. They were good. There were over 200 people there when we were there. They were very busy. Service was great & friendly. Lots of locals eat there.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nremtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana,Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Just like my Grandma's Country Cookin' in Texarkana TX!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Let me start my tripadvisor review by saying that this is the ONE and the ONLY DIXIE DINER location in the Texarkana area. They used to have 3 locations; the other two were on Stateline Avenue and near the Cooper Tire Plant but they have since been sold. However, I think that this is the best of all the locations since all of us locals can still easily find it, especially on Sundays after church services, as well as travelers on Interstate 30! It is located at the Plaza 9-8-9 Shopping Center at the Interstate 30 Service Road and Kings Hwy. Take the Kings Hwy Exit on I 30 and head North. Can't Miss it. Also, what is great about this location is that there is plenty of parking for buses that the old location on Stateline Avenue did not have. My advice to tour directors is that it would be courteous to give them advance notice in case you decide to dine here. Also, for those folks who can't take the time to dine here, there is a convenient Drive Thru located on the side of the building.

I stopped by this past Sunday and had one of their daily specials which was Chicken and Dressing with green beans and sweet potato casserole. The chicken portion was so huge that I couldn't finish it all in one sitting. I absolutely loved the Southern style sweet potato casserole which was filled with brown sugar and pecans. For dessert, I selected the Strawberry Pie which was quite good.

On a purely personal note, I just want to add that my cousins in Natchez MS would always pay a visit to the Dixie Diner at their Stateline location whenever they were in the area. Also, my church Seniors group had their Christmas Party here last year and everyone enjoyed their meal. As you can see, the Dixie Diner, which is family owned and operated, has had a long tradition of serving their customers good home cookin' in the Texarkana area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filmbuffintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
427 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good Home Style Cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stopped here en route to Fossil Rim, on recommendation by one of the staff at the Texas Welcome Center. Conveniently located and provides easy access to I-30.

The meal was great. We opted for the Blue Plate Special of the day. Yum-O! Plenty to food for a very reasonable price.

All the staff were friendly and professional. This place goes on our list of places to visit again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank punkinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie Diner also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing