We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip it....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Texarkana KOA

Texarkana KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Texarkana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Texarkana KOA
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Skip it....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

First of all it took us 20 minutes to find this place coming off I-30W. The GPS directions are useless as are the KOA sign directions. After finally finding this place- which is located behind a broke down, closed Budget Inn, through the parking lot or in the parking lot I suppose you could say- my first thought was "this place isn't bad"... Until we drove down to the "tent sites and started looking around.
The brochure says all sites have water and electricity- the tent sites DO NOT. We had to walk to the bathroom to wash our hands, dishes, make coffee, etc. (See below for the real issue with using the bathroom...) Very Inconvenient. The tent sites are basically in a small field which is also the dog walk. Each "site" has parking for one car and is located right next to a swamp, across from a storage like locked building and small parking lot.
Our site had a major ant problem. We couldn't even eat at the picnic table or walk anywhere near our cars without being covered in ants... I had to sprinkle diamotesceous earth all over the site just to keep up from getting over run by ants. No need to be bit by ants when there are plenty of biting flies, Mosquitos and other bugs coming off the swamp.
The bathroom and laundry room... To get in the bathroom you have to go through the laundry room which smells and looks as though they've painted it 100 times without ventilation and done very recently. We actually couldn't use the bathrooms because the smell was so bad.
The showers don't drain, so you stand in mucky water while showering.
The swamp/pond was the only good thing at this KOA. We spent time feeding fish, catching turtles and crawfish and watching the ducks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Casey831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry B, Manager at Texarkana KOA, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We regret that your camping experience did not meet your expectations.

I do agree that the GPS directions are useless, even though we have emailed the GPS mapping companies a half dozen times to update directions, apparantly it takes more than 3 years for the updated information to filter down to gps updates.

We have no control over the status of the hotel next too us. We have turned them in for code violations on several occasions and recently have been told the hotel has sold and will either be renovated or demolished soon.

We were in the process of repainting the bathrooms, and yes the paint smell was strong, the last time it was painted was 14 years ago.

I have spoken with our maintenance man to check out the slow drain, we do have 6 showers for men and 6 for women and apparantly the shower stall you chose was not working properly. We will fix it.

All RV sites have water and electricity. We will have to endeavor to reword our comments on tent sites, we assume people know that tents sites typically do not have either. In your case obviously you found this misleading.

People are free to walk their dogs on a walking trail and behind the swimming pool, around the pond, but to say that the tent site area is also a dog walk is misleading and not an accurate statement.

We have a pond, not a swamp.

I was not aware that ants were a problem at the tent site and we will take care of that too.

Thank you for bringing these problems to our attention and we will endeavor to do a better job.

I regret we did not have the opportunity to hear of your concerns while you were here so we could address as many of them as possible.

I believe that if you were to visit our site again you would have a more positive and satisfying camping experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Texarkana hotels

Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    1
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texarkana
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Texarkana Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
Candlewood Suites Texarkana
#10 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
Wyndham Garden Texarkana
#2 of 19 in Texarkana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Texarkana
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texarkana
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Texarkana
Residence Inn Texarkana
#5 of 19 in Texarkana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texarkana KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texarkana KOA

Property: Texarkana KOA
Address: 500 Saint Michael Dr, Texarkana, TX 75503-2030
Region: United States > Texas > Texarkana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Texarkana
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Monthly, Weekly, Daily rates for RV sites, cabin rental and tent sites. Full hookup RV sites include free cable tv and WiFi. Amenities include laundry facilities, swimming pool, walking trail, convenience store, RV Art Gallery and Gift shop. Located in the heart of Texarkana 5 minutes from all the shopping and service that travelers need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Texarkana KOA Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing