We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad At All”
Review of Motel 6 Texas City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Texas City
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Texas City
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I had read previous reviews, but decided to experience this hotel for myself. Glad I did. The beds were comfortable and the rooms (2) were clean with cold air. Tyler was the best and he is to be commended for letting us know at check-in that there should not be any problems, but if there were, they would be taken care of. My finicky daughter even enjoyed her stay there and said she would come back for a few days of rest.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms to be quieter. We certainly had not problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank madepeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M6TexasCityGM, General Manager at Motel 6 Texas City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I am happy to hear your stay met your expectations and was an enjoyable experience. I hope we get the opportunity to accommodate you again the next time you are in Texas City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep, this is it. Obviously the hotel isn't a 5 star establishment but the bed was soft and comfortable. The pillows were lumpy, dirty chair, and the bathroom had only soap and towels, no shampoo. Since, we only stayed one night and wasn't moving in, this suited our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jll076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is just your average stay it's not the best place to stay but you can't beat the price. If you just want a place to stay with nothing fancy with affordable rate this is the place for you clean hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mathew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for the fourth of july because it was cheaper than to stay on Galveston Island, So on that front it was great, but thats about the only positive out of our stay. When we got to our room there were 0 towels. I take that back; there was one hand towel. When we asked the maid service, (who were smoking inside rooms as they were "cleaning them") they handed us a single floor mat. The bathtub never stopped dripping the entire night and had hair on the floor of it when we arrived. We were charged $89 a night to sleep on blankets with what looked to be urine stains on them. Dont waste your time here, you're better off sleeping in your car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hailey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

On the end of our trip had to change hotels. Found this one and couldn't be happier.The rooms are clean, comfy beds and pillows. Tyler at the front desk is so helpful and very professional. I will definitely come back and recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TameraGammel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I booked this on the hop as we couldn't find an economy motel in Galveston near enough to any facilities. We found the desk staff helpful, they gave me discount for over 60 and free wi fi, normally $3.99. There is a cafe in the car park and pubs facilities close by.
Room was average but clean and had all you want for overnight stop at budget price.
Only problem next morning was getting a cup of ice due to selfish people who had filled up ice chests without thought for fellow travellers

Room Tip: No difference really,all close to interstate and noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Do not ever make a reservation to stay here!!! I made a guaranteed reservation on Tuesday 04/22/14 with a CC and planned on paying cash when i arrived. I guess they tried to run the CC for the entire stay at 8pm on my check in date of 04/25/14 and it declined so they sold my room to some one else. Never once calling me. So Myself, my wife, and our puppy arrive at 10pm and are told WITH attitude from Mrs, Christine that they had canceled my reservation! Again... NO CALLS! Not a one! So here we are, 10pm and no place to stay. Every place is booked in Texas city and after 1 hr we ended up having to drive all the way back into Houston and stay around Hobby airport. As long as i'm on gods green earth, i will NEVER stay at a Motel 6 ever ever again!!!

Also, Mrs. Christine, the front desk lady..... Yeah, SUPER SUPER rude! She is in the wrong business if dealing with the public is what she was hired for. She Does NOT represent Motel 6 well at all! She literally raised her voice to somewhat of a yell, at me because she kept giving me conflicting reasons on why they gave away my room and i politely called her out on it. Shame on you lady.

Mind you, I've stayed at this exact location when it was a LaQuinta for MANY years and never once had a single problem!!!

Take your business elsewhere. They are NOT family friendly!!!

Motel 6 websites Reservation policy btw: Room charges are paid at registration or by 12 Noon in advance of each subsequent night's stay.

They didn't abide by their own policy for sure!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jmaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Texas City hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
4.7 mi away
Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#8 of 13 in Texas City
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 13 in Texas City
281 reviews
5.3 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
#4 of 13 in Texas City
54 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Texas City

Address: 1121 Highway 146 N, Texas City, TX 77590-6505 (Formerly La Quinta Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range: £43 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Texas City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Samsung Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics. The Motel 6 Texas City sits inland across from Galveston Island and its historic beaches. We are convenient for visitors to Amoco/BP, Vallero, Sterling, and Union Carbide petrochemical complexes. With easy highway access, you can quickly reach the neighboring cities of La Marque and Santa Fe TX as well as such area attractions as NASA Space Center and the Kemah Boardwalk and Recreational Facility. The Gulf Greyhound Dog Track, Mall of the Mainland, and the Factory Outlet stores are only minutes away. There are great restaurants nearby, including one next door.The courteous staff at the Motel 6 Texas City provides complimentary coffee available 24/7 and a 15% discount at Denny's! Rooms come with lots of amenities including free high-speed Internet access, HBO and ESPN as well as the NFL Channel! We also have meeting facilities and a sparkling outdoor swimming pool. Located at the crossing of 1764 and Highway 146, in the heart of Texas City, just 30 Minutes from Houston Hobby Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Texas City Hotel Texas City
La Quinta Texas City
Texas City La Quinta
Motel 6 Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing