We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good like it use to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Texas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for the last 8 years and go on a lot of cruises but this last time I was very displeased and won't stay there again the beds are full size. I'm a priorty club member with no priority the one in webber is much better queen size beds and a lower cost as well as near a lot of shops and restaruants go to the one in webber tx. not texas city

Room Tip: go to the one in webber tx.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear brian c,

Thank you for writing a review of our property. Your loyalty to our hotel is highly appreciated, but it seems that your last stay was a let down. We are very sorry the beds were not to your liking. As a valued IHG Rewards member, your feedback is very important to us as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what areas may benefit from additional attention.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have a suite, for a great price/value. The bed was wonderful, comfy, soft but firm enough to subtend my husband heavy weight without me bouncing every time he turned. The pillow were like little clouds of softness, we asked for 2 more and they were delivered in no time. The room was spacious, spotless clean. The staff were nice and police.
Great experience, I wish I have the same bed and bedding at home !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grich82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very clean exterior & interior. Beautiful modern room, Direct TV, and great mattress! Staff was very helpful & polite. Well lit parking & close to food. Clean pool area, and nice breakfast buffet in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Comfortable and clean hotel. Approximately 10 minutes to Galveston. Shopping and dining nearby. Nice Saltwater pool but no hot tub. Double safety latches on pool gate made it difficult for adults to enter and exit. Large shower stall, but no tub, which was fine for us. Fridge and microwave in room was convenient. Very disappointed in the wireless internet, which was so weak that we could only use it intermittently in the breakfast room or near the front desk. Seems the hotel needs a stronger wireless router. Otherwise, the hotel was a good choice and costed only half of what we would have paid had we stayed on Galveston Island.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Should you need to be close to events in areas south of Houston, this is the place to stay. VERY clean and the staff goes above and beyond. It is located away from high traffic areas, hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cggraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express & Suites on Tripadvisor. Wonderful to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. All of us who make the team of this location want to thank you for your fine comment and invite you back whenever your travel plans bring you to the south of Houston. Meanwhile all the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past few years before going on our cruises and in the beginning we loved this place but lately we feel that that the quality has declined. We stayed just last weekend and one thing we really used to like is they would let us check in around 1 because we were priority members and also gave us bottled water for free. This time they told us we could not check in until 4 which we though well fine we will sit and wait and after about 30 min someone else came in and asked if they could check in they said they could and as soon as they left we confronted them and they gave us a sorry attempt at an excuse also the water was only for priority members at their newer hotels also they always put us on the top floor and have only full size beds we were so disappointed we canceled our reservation for the second night and stayed elsewhere. If you want a great Holiday Inn Express Hotel try the one that is in Weber Tx it is brand new, has queen size beds and they are near the mall and lots of great stores and Starbucks.

Room Tip: Try staying at the webber Tx Holiday in express it is newer an has queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for letting us know your concerns about our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your standards this time. Since you often take cruises and certainly plan to come back to the area, we would like to invite you to try our services again and give us a chance to satisfy your needs next time. I don't want to find excuses, but checking in guests can sometimes be delayed based on their room type. As we only have a limited number of double rooms and these rooms are most occupied during busy holiday weekends, it can be delayed. Even tough we should have made every effort to prioritize cleaning your rooms since you already were at the hotel. As to the free waters and snacks, the franchisor has established the policy to limit free waters and snacks to platinum members of the IHG rewards club. But while you were waiting, we could have offered you free waters to make you feel welcome. It is true that we have full size beds in our double rooms. A change to queen size beds is in the planning. The Webster property opened in 2009 while our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City opened in 2008.

We are in the people business and indeed, this makes the real difference. We promise you to do our utmost to make your stay next time really pleasant and satisfying. Please give us another opportunity to prove you. Meanwhile all the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before our cruise took off out of Galveston, TX. Loved this hotel, and we will be staying here again when we are in the area. The staff was incredibly friendly, even shared their stapler with us for our luggage tags! The room was clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was really good, and had a nice variety. We enjoyed the work out facilities as well, even did a load of laundry ! Texas City it's self was really nice to, we hit up some shopping at the outlit, and some local BBQ that wasn't far from the hotel. Great hotel, def recommend it !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desireeb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our associates made you feel at home. This is exactly our mission and we hope to see you soon again before your next cruise out of Galveston! Meanwhile, all the best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Texas City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
4.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#7 of 13 in Texas City
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texas City
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 13 in Texas City
281 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston/League City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Address: 2440 Gulf Fwy, Texas City, TX 77591-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range: £91 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Texas City, TX Welcomes You Experience a heart-warming, Texas-style welcome when you stay at the Texas City Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. Our new, 100% smoke free property is located next to Interstate 45 and between the bustling cities of Houston and Galveston. Families enjoy lodging at our Texas City hotel because it is only a 15-minute drive to the Texas Gulf Coast. Our hotel's location provides easy access to nearby attractions, including the NASA Space Center Houston, National Museum of Arts & Science in Houston, Schlitterbahn Water Park in Galveston and the Gulf Greyhound Park in La Marque, TX. Nearby attractions also include the Bayou Wildlife Park, Port of Texas City and the Kemah Boardwalk. Our guests appreciate the personalized service and the premium accommodations that our hotel in Texas City provides. Besides being only a short drive from Houston and Galveston, our hotel is also near major industrial companies like BP, Duke Energy and Dow Chemical Company. Our business amenities include audio/visual equipment, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center. Our hotel in Texas City, TX is the ideal place to stay while on a vacation or on a business trip. We offer an extensive, free American breakfast buffet, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book your Texas City hotel room today! Hotel outdoor pool closed due to renovation until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Texas City
Holiday Inn Texas City
Texas City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing