We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The front desk is rude!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The front desk is rude!!!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

If breakfast is served until 10am, there should be breakfast available. When I told the front desk that the pancakes were out, she wouldn't refill it. I tild her they were out 10 minutes ago, she yelled at me and said, "well did you come tell me they were out?" I am a guest, I didn't know I had to tell them to do their low paying job. She said it was too late and they already filled it 3 times and that was it. Mind you, this is a Saturday and a lot of people tried to get pancakes. My kids were crying and she had an attitude and yelled at me. I asked for the manager who was gone at 9:30am??? Seriously?? Horrible service. Who yells at their guests? So make sure you remind them to check the breakfast every 20 min. Good God.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Yuka F on 7,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
34
21
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fairly new and is very clean. The king leisure suite was large and nice. The price we had to pay was WAY TOO HIGH for this quality hotel.

However, the hotel has a humidity problem. You have to keep the rooms very cold to dehumidify and then when you take a hot shower the room gets very damp and the floor gets slippery.

Also, there is not enough parking for a hotel this size. The lot is laid out weird and there just aren't enough spaces when full.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank South4Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eraschle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Texas City. We appreciate your comment about the cleanliness of the property. Thank you! As for parking spaces, although we have the number of spaces required by law, occasionally there might be shortage, specially on summer weekends. On days of such high demand, as a consequence of how the travel industry functions nowadays, we will always pay a premium price at any location we go. Being in the coastal area, where humidity is extremely high in the summer time, combined with cool rooms and warm showers, a lot of condensation is produced additionally. We hope you will come back and see us again at another time. Meanwhile we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is great, and my husband and I have stayed here twice now when we come to visit Galveston. Diana at the front desk is a dream, she is SO nice! I love how all of the staff always said hello to us no matter what time of the day it was. The breakfast buffet is delicious, the beds are super comfortable, and the place is clean, clean clean! During the week you can have the pool pretty much to yourself, which we loved. There is a Walmart across the highway that is really convenient if you forget any toiletries or need to pick up snacks, beer, etc. It only took us about 20 minutes to get into Galveston too, which I much prefer then spending a ton of $$$ to stay on the seawall, or anywhere in town for that matter. We will always come back to this hotel every year when we visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misdameanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eraschle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and thank you for mentioning our friendly associates. A stable work environment with enthusiastic staff members goes a long way. And when we meet happy guests like you, it is a real joy to work in a hotel. Thank you for coming to see us. Please come back again when your travel plans bring you to this corner of the world!

Meanwhile, all the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for the last 8 years and go on a lot of cruises but this last time I was very displeased and won't stay there again the beds are full size. I'm a priorty club member with no priority the one in webber is much better queen size beds and a lower cost as well as near a lot of shops and restaruants go to the one in webber tx. not texas city

Room Tip: go to the one in webber tx.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear brian c,

Thank you for writing a review of our property. Your loyalty to our hotel is highly appreciated, but it seems that your last stay was a let down. We are very sorry the beds were not to your liking. As a valued IHG Rewards member, your feedback is very important to us as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what areas may benefit from additional attention.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have a suite, for a great price/value. The bed was wonderful, comfy, soft but firm enough to subtend my husband heavy weight without me bouncing every time he turned. The pillow were like little clouds of softness, we asked for 2 more and they were delivered in no time. The room was spacious, spotless clean. The staff were nice and police.
Great experience, I wish I have the same bed and bedding at home !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grich82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very clean exterior & interior. Beautiful modern room, Direct TV, and great mattress! Staff was very helpful & polite. Well lit parking & close to food. Clean pool area, and nice breakfast buffet in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schertz, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Comfortable and clean hotel. Approximately 10 minutes to Galveston. Shopping and dining nearby. Nice Saltwater pool but no hot tub. Double safety latches on pool gate made it difficult for adults to enter and exit. Large shower stall, but no tub, which was fine for us. Fridge and microwave in room was convenient. Very disappointed in the wireless internet, which was so weak that we could only use it intermittently in the breakfast room or near the front desk. Seems the hotel needs a stronger wireless router. Otherwise, the hotel was a good choice and costed only half of what we would have paid had we stayed on Galveston Island.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Texas City hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Texas City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Texas City
Candlewood Suites Texas City
#7 of 12 in Texas City
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 12 in Texas City
279 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Galveston Bay Refineries
0.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
WoodSpring Suites Texas City
#6 of 12 in Texas City
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City
Address: 2440 Gulf Fwy, Texas City, TX 77591-2830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Texas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Texas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel in Texas City, TX Welcomes You Experience a heart-warming, Texas-style welcome when you stay at the Texas City Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. Our new, 100% smoke free property is located next to Interstate 45 and between the bustling cities of Houston and Galveston. Families enjoy lodging at our Texas City hotel because it is only a 15-minute drive to the Texas Gulf Coast. Our hotel's location provides easy access to nearby attractions, including the NASA Space Center Houston, National Museum of Arts & Science in Houston, Schlitterbahn Water Park in Galveston and the Gulf Greyhound Park in La Marque, TX. Nearby attractions also include the Bayou Wildlife Park, Port of Texas City and the Kemah Boardwalk. Our guests appreciate the personalized service and the premium accommodations that our hotel in Texas City provides. Besides being only a short drive from Houston and Galveston, our hotel is also near major industrial companies like BP, Duke Energy and Dow Chemical Company. Our business amenities include audio/visual equipment, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center. Our hotel in Texas City, TX is the ideal place to stay while on a vacation or on a business trip. We offer an extensive, free American breakfast buffet, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book your Texas City hotel room today! Hotel outdoor pool closed due to renovation until further notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Texas City
Holiday Inn Texas City
Texas City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Texas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing