We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Centric The Woodlands
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Pros: Good location. Right across the street from Cynthia Woods Pavilion. Plenty of good restaurants close by. Free parking. Good happy hour. Comfortable beds. Nice showers. Good breakfast. Great staff.

Cons: Pricey for the size of the room we stayed in.

Note: Apparently there are sensors on the stocked room liquors. All I did was pick up one bottle of bourbon to look at and a charge showed up on my bill for it. (It was removed after I called the front desk). Glad I didn't touch anything else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomT127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley3742, General Manager at Hyatt Centric The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for writing about your stay. We do run great advanced purchase prices and have specials that run on hyatt.com. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Woodlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I joined a few friends here after work one night for drinks and appetizers and had a great time.The bar and pool area are on the second floor. When the weather is accommodating I recommend you sit outside by the pool area where you can enjoy the sounds and views of market street. Currently any drink on the menu with the word "Diamond" in front of it was a value for $6 and wine is $5.00. The Vodka Raspberry Martini as well as the Cosmo Martini was excellent. At the front desk as you come in ask for an appetizer coupon. This will give you a complimentary appetizer to enjoy with your delicious martini. Check what night you may wish to go as I understand they offer music on Wednesday. The service staff was very friendly and accommodating. One of my friends ordered a drink she did not care for, having already experienced the great martini's; they were more than happy to get her a drink she preferred. Our group will definitely add this to a repeat happy hour stop!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Corinne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley3742, General Manager at Hyatt Centric The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again for drinks very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for the weekend. We are from Iowa and I had to book a hotel for the weekend for a wedding. We had a great stay at the hyatt. The employees were pleasant and helpful. The food was amazing. The bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.
I don't know why people complain about the price. Don't they know the price before they book?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichimomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley3742, General Manager at Hyatt Centric The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Woodlands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Another excellent stay. This hotel used to be Avia and was bought out by Hyatt a couple of years ago. We stayed here recently because we were attending a concert right across the street at Cynthia Woods Pavilion.

The hotel is set right in the heart of Market street in the Woodlands, with easy acces to many, many shops, restaurants and the Woodlands Mall. Both times we've stayed here we've felt like we were out of town on vacation.

The pool is really cool, kind of like an infinity pool with a large hot tub at the center of it.

The inside bar is a nice place to hang out and have a drink in the evening.

The breakfast brunch is wonderful. We purchased the room with the breakfast included and it was wonderful. Big huge omlete station and lots of other delicious items to choose from. One of the best hotel breakfasts you can hope to find.

The service at this hotel is excellent. They really set the bar high for other hotels.

Everything about this hotel is modern, chic and elegant. We love staying here.

It's a bit more expensive than your average brand but it's more than worth it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley3742, General Manager at Hyatt Centric The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

If you ever consider going to a concert or just for shopping you are up for a treat.A walking distance from the Woodlands Cynthia Michel Pavilion you can just valet, go enjoy drinks great service, awesome rooms ,good shows and shopping.We did exactly that and we enjoyed every moment of it.Try it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IoaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley3742, General Manager at Hyatt Centric The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We recently stayed here (Lux King Suite 5th floor)with a 3 year old and 9 year old. The area is very nice with lots of upscale shopping and restaurants in walking distance. The room was very clean as well as the all common spaces. The staff was very professional. The "wood" décor and doormen were a nice extra. The downfalls- when the band cranked up each night, our floor was vibrating and I could hear the words to every song as if it were next to me. This kept the kids up. I wish we would have been informed of this upon check-in. The bed was not very plush. For this type of room, we expected a little more comfort from the bed. We will stay here again, without the kids. Also, We moved all of the snacks to the back counter, so the kids wouldn't open them, but they had sensors on them, and we were charged.--not a big deal, they took it off of the bill.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 114AmyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley3742, General Manager at Hyatt Centric The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you very much for writing about our hotel. Our apologies about the band, our front office should have informed you especially since you were traveling with children and at least offered a room on the other side of the hotel. We value our guests feedback and will certainly consider this in the future. We are happy to hear that we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Pros:
This is a relatively new and very nice Hyatt property. I've stayed in a lot of hotels and I would put this in the top quartile - definitely a 4 star place. Most everything is new and clean and very well appointed.

There is a breakfast buffet ($20/person) that is excellent. Room service is very good too. Lots of dining options right out the front door.

Excellent staff and service all the way around.

Reasonably good/fast valet service

Cons:
This is a smaller hotel in the heart of "Market Street" which is a very nice restraint/shop area in the Woodlands. The problem is that 1/2 the rooms in the hotel face the large HEB (grocery store) on the back side and not the quaint "Market Street" setting, so if you lose the room lottery, you're view is pretty lame.

Hotel décor is "Modern" and the lighting in the bathrooms is beyond bad. The vanity barely had enough light for me to shave with, much less for my wife to do makeup. They have tried to work around this with a plug in lighted makeup mirror, but It is not much better and looks out of place. ADD SOME DECENT VANITY LIGHTS!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a Market Street view - the other view stinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K311yC00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley3742, General Manager at Hyatt Centric The Woodlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you very much for writing about your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and Market Street. We are working on a solution for the bathroom lighting that we hope to have in place very soon.
We hope to see you on your next trip to the Woodlands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
0.5 mi away
The Westin at The Woodlands
The Westin at The Woodlands
#8 of 18 in The Woodlands
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Houston The Woodlands/Market Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric The Woodlands

Address: 9595 Six Pines Dr, Suite 1100, The Woodlands, TX 77380-1531 (Formerly Hyatt Market Street, The Woodlands)
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in The Woodlands
#2 Luxury Hotel in The Woodlands
#4 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
#4 Family Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range: £153 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric The Woodlands 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just North of Houston, nestled among towering trees at the heart of a bustling shopping district, stands Hyatt Centric The Woodlands. Sophisticated, yet welcoming, this charming property acts as a centerpiece for the area's celebrated Market Street. Step out its front doors and into the town center to discover countless eateries and boutiques, as well as The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion. Grab an iced latté and stroll through the neighborhood park, check out the stores, or grab a drink at the hotel's Market Street Bar (a local favorite). Between the shopping, the cocktails, the nearby walking trails and that famous Texan hospitality, you'll have plenty to see and explore. Just be sure to catch some sleep before setting out to do it all over again in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Centric The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing