We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in The Woodlands
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I loved my one night stay in Candlewood Suites, The Woodlands Tx. I definitely got great value for my money. The bedroom was beautiful with good ambience. The staff were top notch in making my stay as comfortable as possible. I got an early check-in (8am) which I am truly grateful for after a long transatlantic flight.

The hotel is about 7 minutes drive from The Woodlands Mall.

I didn't use the gym but checked it out and it has all the necessary equipment. I will definitely use the hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidinFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    22
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
14
4
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Poor Value/Service: I stayed this past week/weekend at the Candlewood Suites, The Woodlands. When I booked my reservation I was confirmed with my companies corporate rate. When I arrived for check-in I was informed by the lady at the front desk that since there was a special event going on that weekend (Ironman), company rates were not honored. When I questioned the employee's comment, the Manager (Richard S. ?) swooped into the conversation and stated that special events are typically not honored. I have never had this issue in the past at other Intercontinental properties.

The driver of the poor value comes from what I was charged per night ($209.00) and what I received, (small room, broken dishwasher, thin walls, and loud air conditioning window unit). Honestly I received better value while staying at a hotel in a 3rd world country. I have stayed at Holiday Inn with nicer standard rooms than the "suite" I was assigned. The room was worth $70-80 at most.

The driver for the poor service is how the manager handled the situation. Instead of making an exception for one customer who travels frequently to the area and who's employer has many employees staying in the area (consultants), he insisted on the higher rate which was not known when I first booked.

So why did I stay at the Candlewood and not go to the Hilton property down the street? I called the IC Ambassador Support line and was informed that the rate would be adjusted during check-out. Ok, no problem. During check-out I informed the lady at the front desk of the company rate not being applied. She checked my profile and notified me that the manager left a note saying not to change the rate.

If that is how Candlewood does business, lesson learned. I will ask the 45 other consultants working down there to only go to the Hilton properties. After all, when I called Hilton down the street, they said they would honor my company's rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa_W55667, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding concerning your rate. As most hotels, we have the special event exclusion in our corporate rate contracts. Your stay fell into the Ironman Triathalon race which is the largest event in the area and all hotels were sold out. We actually help open rooms for our wonderful priority club guest such as yourself but we were not able to honor corporate rates at this time. At any other time this would not be an issue. Again I apologize and hope that you will give us another opportunity to earn your business. We truely love our guests.

Melissa Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here for one night in Decemeber 2011. The rate was fantastic for a Friday night (I think it was in the $70-80 range) and for an in-suite room. The hotel is situated back about 1/4 mile from I-45 - so the noise level is slightly less than those right on the highway.

Overall - great place to stay! We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prouddaddy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed with my partner at the Candlewood Suits the woodlands for over a month. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived untill the day we left. The staff were neither intrusive or not attentive but just relaxed, friendly and happy to help at all times. We had to leave at short notice and I was very sad to leave here. Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor is best as the lift is a little slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyLoughran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I stay at Candlewood Suites whenever I can. This property is great. Friendly staff, easy to find, and several restaurants nearby. I would recommend this location to anyone staying in The Woodlands area of Houston.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyyDcmbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great overall value, but no breakfast available. I have stayed a few nights every week for the last few months.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddy083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
278 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel was new, clean, very nicely decorated, and conveniently located right off the interstate. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We were in Houston for a sporting event for our daughter and it was delayed due to rain. We requested a late check-out and appreciated being allowed to stay a little later than noon. The warm hospitality was impressive. The rooms were quiet as walls are not paper-thin as in some hotel chains. The only negative was that there was no hotel sign posted at the road. The road was marked with a street sign, but there was not hotel sign visible and we had to make the loop around the interstate to circle back. Can't blame the hotel though. It was worth the extra driving once we got there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starbunker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these The Woodlands hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Houston / The Woodlands
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston The Woodlands
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton The Woodlands at Hughes Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston The Woodlands
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Woodlands
Best Western Plus The Woodlands
#16 of 18 in The Woodlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston/The Woodlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands

Property: Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands
Address: 17525 St Lukes Way, The Woodlands, TX 77384-8035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > The Woodlands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in The Woodlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located amongst the natural landscaping of the beautiful Woodlands community, Candlewood Suites (The Woodlands) is only 18 miles north of Bush Intercontinental Airport. Direct access to I-45 offers easy travel to the major nearby corporate offices of Anadarko, Hewitt, Chevron/Phillips, Tetra, CBI, and Baker Hughes. We also have very easy transit to the new ExxonMobil facility coming to The Woodlands area. Our location in The Woodlands is nearby many upscale shopping areas such as The Woodlands Mall, the boutiques of Market Street, and Old Town Spring as well as many family friendly entertainment areas like Spashtown and The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavillion. Whether you are visiting for pleasure at the Texas Renaissance Festival, or participating in a sporting event at the Natatorium swimming complex, our leisure and corporate travelers are sure to enjoy the comforts of home at our Candlewood Suites. At our hotel, we put the amenities where they count- in your room. Our guests can enjoy our suites with fully equipped kitchens and relax in a recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing their suites executive desk and high speed internet access. The exercise facility, outdoor pool and covered gazebo with grill and sitting area offer an exciting alternative to a busy day of travel and work. The free guest laundry and "Cupboard" convenience store are also unique amenities of Candlewood Suites. "Consider Us Home" during your extended stay in The Woodlands, Texas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston, The Woodlands Hotel The Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing