We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cru - A Wine Bar

Cru - A Wine Bar
Ranked #46 of 210 Restaurants in The Woodlands
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
437 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Superb ambience, excellent service, great pizza and of course a very rewarding wine selection. I sat at the bar and the barman, Chadillac, was absolutely great. I arrived solo and left with 3 new friends after a satisfying meal and a great wine tasting....quite easy to become a regular.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We met a couple for wine and catching up as we had not seen one another in 8 years. They do a somewhat unique wine offering called "flights". Wines of a similar variety were served in 2 oz cups in groups of 3. In addition to the really nice wines we had several very tasty appetizers. The crab cake and fig bruschetta were good. They stone fired pizzas are just the right size to share with the appetizers and were nicely done. We were able to visit for a couple hours and no one rushed us at all. The weather on the patio was perfect and it was a great place to spend the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaL230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We met friends here and had a wonderful meal on the patio. The wine tasting flights are a unique idea and a great way to try new wines. We ordered several appetizers and they all were wonderful. Their pizzas were also very flavorful. All in all it was a very nice experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALincoln53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My new local!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great pizza and cheese boards. Thursday is half prize on any bottle of champagne and ties in nicely with the band playing on the lawn.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicke07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great wine variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Cru has a wide variety of wine and great wine flights. They have a wide variety of delicious food on their menu. I had the charcuterie board which went well with my wine flight. I sat at the bar and the bartenders were friendly and knowledgable about wine. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cru - A Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cru - A Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing